01/30 Chaos +6 243, PMPS 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Chaos

Member Since 2010
Good morning, everyone! Happy Sunday!

I'll bet there are lots of Sunday morning coffee and pajama parties going on out there today! :-D

I received affectionate greetings from my little buddy first thing. He was waiting politely outside the bedroom door as usual. Except for yesterday's AMPS, he's still flat yellow and his BG was 243 this morning so I have decided to go with the tiny dosecrease to 0.75u. We'll see how the day goes, but I'm sure he'll be fine. He's so steady, no diving or big fluctuations, he's just in the wrong range. If I could get him to the flat blues and greens, I'd be doing the happy dance all the way up and down my street. The neighbors already realize that DH and I are insane so it won't make any difference. ;-)

WCR all P's present and there is one happy kitty with a full belly lounging on the other side of my laptop. He's been keeping close to his mama and normally sleeps where I can see him. His fur is getting SO soft since his transition to all wet LC food. I rubbed his belly yesterday and could have sworn I was petting a chinchilla!

I'll be staying close to home and keeping an eye on him while making spaghetti and meatballs from scratch. DH says I must be channeling an old Italian lady; it's one of his favorites. All that garlic may keep the human vampires at bay, but it will do nothing to save Chaos from Vampire Violet!! Muahahahaha!!!!!
 
Re: 01/30 Chaos AMPS 243

Good morning guys ... Hey, at least chaos is consistent, even if it is in the wrong range ... I hate the big drops and bounces ... mmm spaghetti ... one of my favorites! Good luck with the new dose and have a great day!
 
Re: 01/30 Chaos AMPS 243

good luck with the dosecrease!

I like flat yellow cats because one day they usually turn into flat blue cats, and then maybe flat green cats...
 
Re: 01/30 Chaos AMPS 243

Have a wonderful day cooking -- I bet your house is going to smell great with that yummy garlic smell. I could live on garlic if it didn't cause such breath problems! It is funny you mentioned Chaos' fur since you switched to canned. I haven't noticed it as much on Simon because his fur is a little thicker and denser, but my civvie, Cleo, is beginning to look so much better since the switch. Her fur is softer and shinier, too. I still can't get over the difference between feeding dry and a canned food only diet. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 01/30 Chaos AMPS 243

Morning! A sunny mellow yellow to start - nice! I too hope it leads to flat blues, and then flat greens. Things are looking up Chaos - nicely done!

yummmmmmmmmmm on the spaghetti and meatballs. Sounds really nice!

have a great day guys!
 
Re: 01/30 Chaos AMPS 243

When our kitties start to recover, the transition to wet food does make their fur more thick & silky, and that dandruff that many FD kitties have, goes away..Many regain lost weight and feel so much better--It is such a happy thing for us to see a kitty here regain strength, coat & good health--It's partly why we come on here every day--
So happy Chaos is doing so much better!
Enjoy your day of cooking Italian Momma :lol: :lol: --Yummy & Ella is making Pizza--Gee What can I make??
Have a beautiful Sunday!
 
Re: 01/30 Chaos AMPS 243, +3 235

Thanks, everybody! The worst part of cooking will be going to the grocery store; after that it's all fun and games!

Chaos has 235 at +3. Even if he's in the wrong range right now, the past couple weeks have been awesome for data gathering. I now know that when feeding and dosage are consistent, Chaos tends to hold steady within a certain range if you eliminate the highest reading (308) and the lowest reading (166). Everything else has stayed between 198 and 303, basically a difference of 100. So the goal here is to get the range he stays in to be between 150 and 50, or thereabouts, right?

I'm looking mostly at the data from about the 20th on, since I think it took about two weeks to clear all that kibble and the old 2.5u doses out of his system and get through the aftermath of the change. He acted just fine but I have no doubt there was some movin' and shakin' going on inside that kitty...big changes, you know? No big dives or bounces since then.

He does look beautiful and healthy. No dandruff since he was dx'd, and he's become just a little chubby. Another change I have noticed in the past few weeks is his eyes. He used to get these giant eye boogers and never seemed to be able to clean them off. He's so white that they were really obvious and ugly. He hated me cleaning them off, too. Since the change, he doesn't have the big eye goopies anymore. Either he's making less of them or he's just grooming better, I'm not sure, but it's a beautiful change to see. Those boogers drove me nuts!

Ella's making pizza, I think Devon is having lasagna...it's going to be a garlicky day! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 01/30 Chaos AMPS 243, +3 235, +6 243

I know, it will take a few cycles to see if 0.75u is a winner, same reason I gave 0.5u for twelve cycles before I increased. I'm learning to be patient and take things real slow. I'm hoping to see changes by Tuesday, that seems reasonable. :smile:
 
Re: 01/30 Chaos AMPS 243, +3 235, +6 243

Good Morning Violet and Chaos. Good luck on the new dose. Spaghetti and meatballs sounds so good. Maggie used to have a problem with dandruff, but ever since diabetes and transitioning to wet, she has no dandruff and a really nice coat. Enjoy your Sunday.
 
Re: 01/30 Chaos AMPS 243, +3 235, +6 243

Just so you have the protocol firmly implanted, should you need to increase:

Increasing the dose...

* Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
You only really need to hold your initial dose of Lantus for 5 - 7 days for the shed to build. After that, you can increase after at least 3 days.
 
Re: 01/30 Chaos AMPS 243, +3 235, +6 243

If he doesn't come down on 0.75u, I'm only going to hold him there for 3-4 days. I just tend to err on the side of caution, since I'm new at this part of it. I'm getting over the fear that a decision I make will hurt him and I'm gaining confidence.

Even DH, who just rubbed Chaos's belly, thinks he's softer now. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 01/30 Chaos AMPS 243, +3 235, +6 243

Sounds like an Italian Festival in Lantus Land today.

I noticed Curry's fur become less oily when she switched to canned. Glad Chaos is doing so well. You guys are doing so well.


Thanks for the compliment on the Curry's photos. The pic I took yesterday was w/my iphone and I could get a better angle....then of course I had to photsoshop it.

Have a great garlicky evening. :mrgreen:
 
A great garlicky evening indeed! My parmesan veal meatballs were butter-soft and the sauce was so good with the portobello mushrooms too. Nom-tastic with a very happy DH.

Chaos is clocking in at 232 this PM, steady boy that he is. I'm sure his +4 will show a similar number.
 
but it will do nothing to save Chaos from Vampire Violet!! Muahahahaha!!!!!

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Really behind on condo's today. Good luck with the dose increase. I'll be watching along to see how Chaos does.

I don't cook. I've never made anything from scratch :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top