01/3 KHAN Amps 441, +6/188- did talk to vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperthecat1969

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33376

Wow I just typed in a long message and pushed submit and the entire message disappeared.. weird.. that has happened a few other times last week.

Frustrated with Khan's numbers. Maybe it is where I'm injecting- isn't impactful anymore? I inject between the should blades. It has become harder & harder to tent him. He doesn't have much body fat on him- last office visit he had not lost wt. Maybe it is time to have blood work done to rule out infection?

I know he tries hard to get to Pepper's dry Hills food. I"ve seen Khan sitting in the kitchen by the dish! I've seen Khan biting the inside of his back legs las tnight when the number was 427. Neuropathy- must be painful.

I'm feeding Fancy Feast Savory Salmon and Fancy feast live & chicken Classic..triple checked it. Also offered Merricks Turducken lst night.. he loved it.

could use some support to make sure I take the next right steps.
 
Re: 01/3 KHAN Amps 441- could use some support for next step

Khan's not ready yet for a dose increase. You need to hold the dose for 2 - 3 days. You need at least one more cycle before increasing.

I want to encourage you to have Khan's vet run labs. Blood work, maybe a cytosentesis and C & S (to rule out UTI), and make sure he doesn't need a dental are good ways to know whether these numbers are related to an infection or inflammation. Because you have a good idea of what BG levels are, you may be catching something early.
 
Re: 01/3 KHAN Amps 441- could use some support for next step

uggghhh.. I've made an impatient choice then. I increased to 1.5.. I MUST hold myself back even though I'm frustrated..more worried about his neuropathy. His behavior is good.. comes out, runs around, jumps.. Now what do I do with the dose? darn it.. I'm mad at myself for not consulting on here. I was really busy & frustrated- not with anyone here - just tried to not focus so much on it.. I was home all the time so I knew Khan would be fine. today I go home at lunch to check on him. He is isolated in his room. Food is out as well.

I plan on talking to the vet today. I'll send him an email on what you said. thanks.
 
Re: 01/3 KHAN Amps 441- could use some support for next step

OK So you increased the dose & Sienne told you to hold this dose 2-3 days for maximum effectiveness..

My Moonie also has neuropathy, it's what spurred us to take her to the vet, and discovered that she had FD-- Moonie walks on her hocks most of the time, and sometimes, on her toes on hard surfaces--She has greatly improved & is able to jump on her favorite couch, chair, & into her cat napper & on the bed--
Are you giving your cat Methylcobalamin, (Methyl B12) which is easily metabolized by the body & excreted in the urine? It is harmless.
It has done wonders for cats here---Your vet probably doesnt know about it, but we here do--

Also, BG regulation also Helps greatly with the neuropathy--Do whatever you can to make your cat more comfy-I made steps so Moonie could get up on the bed,
I made a cat bed for her, and many peeps here use the heated cat beds--Yes the neuropathy is uncomfy for the cat--Not really painful, but can be--
Hope you get a better number for Khan today--You are doing well and I'm sure Khan will get better.
 
Re: 01/3 KHAN Amps 441- could use some support for next step

I just increased it yesterday from 1.25 to 1.5. I thought she had said to hold to 1.25 for a day or two then move it. Impatience that is what I had.. no disrespect meant to to anyone here.. just me being impatient- bottom line worried about the neuropathy with the steady high numbers.

Yes to all your questions: on the B12 -same stuff you listed- given 2x/day full tablet each time, Have 3 heated beds, have a ramp to get up on my bed. several litter boxes that are the type Dr. Lisa recommends on catinfo.org along with a low sided open box. well all the boxes are open. He is on his hocks yet lately moving around more, even running, more frisky.. but biting at the insides of his legs, scratching his ears. Checked his ketones= negative.
 
Re: 01/3 KHAN Amps 441- could use some support for next step

He bit me this morning when I didn't get up. I only sat up and grabbed the tester and while pulling items out of the small box he bit my finger and pulled.. probably impatient- hungry..use to being fed at 630am and this was closer to 7am. maybe his teeth are bothering him???
 
Re: 01/3 KHAN Amps 441- could use some support for next step

Jenee, I agree with Sienne, a vet visit is a good idea. His numbers are high, and if you are sure it's not for any other reason, it could be an infection/inflammation that hasn't shown up symptomatically yet. If he is scratching his ears, he could have an ear infection. The biting/scratching could be allergy related, I would also talk to the vet about that.

I'm confused about the dose. I looked at the SS and it shows that you shot 1.5u for the last 3 cycles, including this morning. Is that right? Never mind, I see that you clarified.

I also wondered about the meter you are using...I thought you said that you bought a Relion? Is it the Ultima? There is a recall on the test strips because they may give false low readings, so you should check if yours are affected if you use an Ultima. There's a link on Health...look for the 911 icon, Abbott test strip recall. The reason I ask is the cycle with the 25 you got a few days ago...those numbers looked a little suspicious to me.
 
Re: 01/3 KHAN Amps 441- could use some support for next step

I have to admit part of my frustration is coming from inability to have the control to know everything -or to beable to fix it lol. Deep down I'm really upset about having to say goodbye to my wisp- she has breastcancer.. and I'm trying to not let it bother me but it is..I think If I would of had a better vet back then . IF IF IF... and then when I see Khan's numbers and he is walking on his hocks/biting his legs I think .no oh no.. impatient.. I was impatient.
 
Re: 01/3 KHAN Amps 441- could use some support for next step

It is the Relion micro from Walmart. Thanks for the heads up on the recall- I had already confirmed with the Abbott specialist the micro strips are not affected. so trip to the vet it is. uggh..
 
Re: 01/3 KHAN Amps 441- could use some support for next step

I don't count the 25 reading since I probably used an old strip.. number was low yesterday but I immediately restested and the number came back 206. I use to use a Target Up and Up meter.. strips are comparable as are the numbers.. I could pick up a few strips and see??
 
Re: 01/3 KHAN Amps 441- could use some support for next step

I am a bit at a loss-- I will rule out one thing at a time. Vet has been emailed. I'll call and find out if he is in today to review the email. He has access to Khan's spreadsheet and reviews it regularly.
 
Re: 01/3 KHAN Amps 441- could use some support for next step

I know it's tough with Wisp, Jenee...I'm sorry...how is she doing?

Great on the meter, just double checking. I'm glad you saw that already. :smile: I use the confirm, same strips as the micro and I think it's a very good meter. I don't know anything about the up and up.

I really think the vet visit is the way to go, please keep us updated. You really do have to go at it one thing at a time. I know the high numbers are hard to take, but you're testing for ketones (good job!) and he is feeling pretty good despite the numbers...so hang in there and see what the vet says.
 
Re: 01/3 KHAN Amps 441- could use some support for next step

She cried out friday night and was laying on the basement floor. I gave her vaseline ( ~ teaspoon front paw) to help move constipation- if that is the issue. Her hair is clumped back by her butt, back legs and chest. I clipped the clumps to the rt & left of her tail but she won't have me touching aroundher butt or back legs. Her nipple area does not look good. Try as I may to clean softly calmly.. she doens't look that great. she eats -I add water to increase hydration. She runs around, wants attn yet animals are good at covering up pain. Khan's mom-- humm.. I wonder if Khan knows she is really sick. He has been cuddlingwith her a lot in his room. maybe that is why his numbers are high? stress..
 
Re: 01/3 KHAN Amps 441- could use some support for next step

She has an appt tomorrow at 5pm along with her mom- grandma for bloodwork -thyroid/possibly BP check. Who knows maybe I can bring in Khan at the same time as well. I'm waiting to here from the vet. could help him be more comfortable. He is deathly afraid of the vet ever since the BG curves were done. I don't blame him.
 
Alrighty.. Khan officially is a little stinker.. trying everything he can to get to Pepper's dry food. He was isolated this morning and his number is looking pretty good. As soon as I cracked the door he was off directly to Pepper's food bowl. Even a few kibbles will make Khan's number go up fast. I'm starting to think he found a few kibbles around the food dish area and that is why his numbers are up.

My vet is great. He consulted with University of Madison- Wisconsin along with another vet he works with about Khan. At University I guess that DVM has a cat that runs 300-400s and all 5Ps doing great. Since Khans' last lab numbers were great and it wasn't too long ago and that we have not completely ruled out Khan eating Pep's food and that his number is 450 or below and his 5Ps are looking good we are going to wait on the urinalysis. The overall behavior of the cat- eating - 5Ps, ketones are negative..and how he is doing with his walking were discussed- all seem good.

The issue with pulling/biting at the insides of his back legs it could be :- long shot but it has been seen nerves are working /sort of waking up. I like to think it has everything to do with lowering the BG & B12 supplement & more activity- so not too worried the BG numbers are 300-400s but wants to see what happens in next few days. I was happy with that. I do feel better especially that Khan's +6 is 188.
 
I'm following along and wishing you a good vet visit tomorrow.

Maverick has bad arthritis in his hind end and HATES being touched there. He also won't groom at his back so we do keep him trimmed from 1/3rd up his back to his tail. Maybe they can shave this area if Khan behaves at the vet tomorrow? A lot quicker than scissors.

I have the memory of a goldfish though - any way you can get your other cat eating low carb canned food? Maverick I am sure got diabetes from eating a crazy carb kibble (Hills ID - 500 cals a cup too darnit). Took months to convert him to wet food and needed assist feeding to keep his weight up.
 
Khan doesn't have very much hair on his legs or belly or ears- allergys being the main issues I'm sure. Allergic to beef and currently trying to feed chicken (fancy feast liver & chicken).
I believe once the BG comes down I will need to look into benadryl or something to help him with his allergys so I can get him to gain wt. I've been slacking on keeping track of the amt he eats. I just feed him 1/2 can every time I check him.. during the week I'd say daily it amounts to 3 fancy feast cans.. weekend probably more.

As for the other cat - Pepper- he has crystals and the crystals are dissolving. had 2 scares that he was blocked- don't want to go there again. So he is on Hill's s/d adry and I'm offering the canned daily.. it is this dry that Khan wants.. it is slow going switching Pepper to canned but i believe in time he will convert to the canned. His urine check will be this week sometime. Then what to feed him??? ughh.. I don't really know. I know wet canned food but which kind? I will review catinfo.org again for tips on that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top