01/29 Whiskers 232 +3 117 +4 130 +6 153 +9 203 +11 275

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 01/29 Whiskers 232

I got ahold of the owner of Woody's pet food deli. There raw foods contain Raw Ground Meat/Bones/Organs (We get Rabbit, Chicken and Turkey), you can purchase raw food with added supplement mix (Wild . Artic Salmon Oil, Organic Safflower Oil, Organic Sunflower Oil, Organic Alfalfa Powder, Organic Kelp, Organic Dulse Flakes, Organic Psyllium Husk, Organic Turmeric Powder, Vitamin-Mineral Mix w/ Tuarine). I was originally purchasing only the raw food. The last time I went to the store I purchased the raw chicken with supplements. The owner suggested if you have a pet with health issued you could add additional supplements, he recommended the missing link supplement. He also recommends rotating different Omage 3 supplements, cod, salmon, fish, sardine. He also uses digestive enzymes and animal essentails probiotics with his own pets (they have health issues). He rotates meats as well (which we do by feeding Rabbit, chicken, and turkey). He is a big believer in rotating because you get different nutrients from different foods.

So I will ask the IM vet about adding missing link supplement to the raw food, to see if it will help with Whiskers electolyte imbalance. I'm not that keen on making my own raw food cause I just don't think I have the time. I would rather add to the raw foods from Woody's if that will work.

Does anyone have experiance or information about using the missing link supplement? The owner of Woody's pet food deli says a lot of holistic vets are recommending it's use.

Also do not add potassium chloride as we are currently doing, without consulting you vet. This could cause serious health issues if used without guidance
 
Re: 01/29 Whiskers 232 +3 117 ? about missing link supplemen

Hi Celi,

Thanks, we are still learning too. :lol: I guess it's a process.

Whiskers +3 is one of her lowest numbers on lantus.
 
Re: 01/29 Whiskers 232 +2 117 ? about missing link supplemen

:thumbup how exciting.. patience pays off ;-)
Love these #s lately.. good thing you had planned on a curve.. because this is going to be a very active cycle with a drop like that at +2! I will be watching Whisker's activity!
I dunno about the missing link supplement - I feed Baby Raw Rabbit & Chicken because I belive in rotating too - I get from Nature's Variety so I don't have to add any supplements.
 
Re: 01/29 Whiskers 232 +2 117 ? about missing link supplemen

Nicole & Baby said:
good thing you had planned on a curve.. because this is going to be a very active cycle with a drop like that at +2! I will be watching Whisker's activity!

I agree! Im sure you have seen this before, but its a good reminder. I used to have it posted next to Latte's testing spot:

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.

+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).

+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Any chance you are up to getting a +3? Glad youre seeing some action.

Wonder if urinalysis will be back by Monday? Hows the urination outside the box?
 
Re: 01/29 Whiskers 232 +3 117 +4 130? missing link supplemen

Oops,

Made a mistake I did a +3 (not +2), I changee my subject line to show correction. I just did a +4 and she's gone up a little :?:

Thanks Carolyn I'll post that at our test spot. Although with the increase at +4 she's already different than the norm :?:

Hi Nicole, We also use nature's variety on occasion, the store it is sold at is only a mile away. Where as Woodys it about 10 miles away. I like nature variety as well. In fact I gotta get more pet food today or tomorrow.

Have a wonderful day :mrgreen:
 
Re: 01/29 Whiskers 232 +3 117 +4 130? missing link supplemen

It's ok.. the #s fluctuate.. sometimes the #s go up versus down due to food, etc. plus their lil bodies are alive & levels just fluctuate ;-)
I suspect she may go down again but time will tell.. either way.. the surfing like she is right now is awesome cat_pet_icon

**if you do pick up some Natures Variety here is a Coupon
 
Re: 01/29 Whiskers 232 +2 117 ? about missing link supplemen

I don't know anything about missing link supplement. I have been using a pre-mix that contains all of the necessary nutrients that need to be added to raw food. This is the website for the Feline Futures (or whatever they are calling themselves. these days and this is the link for where to order from. Basically, you add water to the pre-mix and then add the liquid to the raw food. This product is what Dr. Lisa based her recipe on.

There may be other pre-mix products around but this is the one I had been using and didn't have any problems.

Prior to making my own, I was using Feline's Pride. I really didn't like Nature's Variety. The product looked freezer burned and there were big chunks of bone. The Feline's Pride is made with organic meat and it was well ground. I found it to be a better option although it was pricey with shipping.

Re. Whisker's numbers: Remember, there's as much as 20% variance with any number. The difference between 117 and 130 is negligible.
 
Re: 01/29 Whiskers 232 +3 117 +4 130? missing link supplemen

Given Whisker's health issues, you may also want to consider a nutritional consult with Dr. Lisa. I will say, it wasn't cheap (though, Wille's was particularly complex, given the no-poultry restriction, her having to learn the nutritional info about ground venison, etc.). Our recipe includes a very specific (inexpensive) mutlivitamin, calcium carbonate, taurine, lite salt (potassium chloride), and fish oil. We add these to ground venison, cooked beef liver, melted butter and water. I can't really give amounts as they are tailored specifically to Willie, and Dr. Lisa asked me not to, as the same recipe could easily be not good for a kitty with different health issues. We also use Frisky Felines supplement (link is in my signature) which has flax seeds, several probiotics and other goodness.

I know that Feline Instincts and Feline Futures are similar, as there is some history (not all good!) between the owners. Dr. Lisa did say that she was very concerned that the Feline Instincts was not providing Willie a balanced diet.

While the consult with Dr. Lisa was costly, it has already more than paid for itself in terms of extensive knowledge and advice I've received from her that saved me from some unnecessary tests/procedures, and will continue to save me money as the total costs of supplements for her recipe are far cheaper than the Feline Instincts supplement I was previously using.

Just one more option to consider!
 
Re: 01/29 Whiskers 232 +3 117 +4 130? missing link supplemen

I once purchased Missing Link for Bear Man on the recommendation of my IM vet. I was kind of surprised to read on the ingredient list that it contained both molasses and garlic. I don't know if they are present in amounts that might would affect BG (molasses) or be harmful (garlic) , but I told my regular vet (who had ordered it in for me) that I wasn't comfortable feeding it, and she sort of agreed and took it back opened.

Here is what I found just now for the ingredient list:

Ingredients . . .
Flaxseed, Rice Bran, Primary Dried Yeast, Cane Molasses, Freeze Dried Beef Liver, Sunflower Seed, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Dried Carrot, Ground Beef Bone*, Dried Fish Solubles, Freeze Dried Oyster, Ground Barley Grass, Dried Kelp, Zinc Monomethionine, Lecithin, Chromium Yeast, Selenium Yeast, Niacin (Vitamin B3), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Garlic, Taurine, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Thiamine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B1), Folic Acid, and Vitamin B12 Supplement.


http://www.missinglinkproducts.com/arti ... ineFormula
 
Re: 01/29 Whiskers 232 +3 117 +4 130 +6 153? missing link su

NICE surfing there Whiskers!!!! :thumbup

Linda- GREAT information for Cheryl.
 
Good evening,

Whiskers had some nice yellow and blue numbers today.

Hi Carolyn, Nicole, Christie, Linda and Sienne,

I'm going to check into the supplements recomended today. Thank you.

Have a good night :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top