01/29 Vyktor AMPS 306 blue surf PMPS 149 dosecrease +2 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Thought I'd missed my opportunity for an increase last night and that we'd be bouncing for a couple of days. Didn't get eyes on him in time to make the call and I'm not confident enough to increase without advice yet (having nearly done so once before when I shouldn't have) - this time difference sux!

I was quite surprised to see blue at +3 this morning but when I look back through his ss he has done something similar (blues for a cycle, bounce for a cycle and back to blues for a second cycle) on 01/24 - 01/25 then he bounced for 4 cycles. So perhaps I do have another opportunity to go for an increase tonight.

I think I'm supposed to do a curve on the cycle I increase though and that could be a bit nasty for this zombie since it's back to work tomorrow. I'm wondering (assuming I get permission for the increase) if a mini curve is sufficient or if I need to get more of the mid-cycle numbers than that?

Perhaps I am off base anyway and he is still settling in to this dose. He did actually have some 'normal cat' (is there any such thing!) numbers yesterday.

Celi - so far so good on the furniture, all he has done is sleep on it. I'm definitely not showing him yesterday's picture though - I don't want him getting any ideas!

Recap:
AMPS 304
+3 250
+6 194
+8 137
+10 110
+11 121
PMPS 112
+2 158
+7 299

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62224
 
Re: 01/29 Vyktor AMPS 306 +3 191 DOSE ADVICE

:lol: :lol: :lol:

images
 
Re: 01/29 Vyktor AMPS 306 +3 191 DOSE ADVICE

That is a big drop for Vyktor today, I hope he slows down and surfs. How is he feeling with all these blues?
 
Re: 01/29 Vyktor AMPS 306 +3 191 DOSE ADVICE

If Vyktor doesn't shoot up by your PMPS, you can increase. I think whenever you catch a pre-shot that isn't a bounce, go ahead and increase. You're right -- the time difference makes the communcation a bit more challenging. On the other hand, you're picking up on Vyktor's patterns.

As far as a curve, it's by no means imperative that you do a curve when you increase. In fact, in many cases, you don't see a change the cycle that you increase the dose because the shed hasn't caught up. Especially since you work, it may be a more reasonable goal to try to get spot checks when you can with an eye toward filling in the blanks on Vyktor's SS a bit at a time.
 
Re: 01/29 Vyktor AMPS 306 +3 191 DOSE ADVICE

Hi Serryn & Vyktor,
Good advice from Sienne, who always gives great advice. Good luck with the dose increase. Have a fine day (it is daytime, right?).

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 01/29 Vyktor AMPS 306 +3 191 +6 130 ANOTHER DOSE QU

Yes daytime here, hoping someone with dosing advice is still up.

The only thing I still feel a bit unsure about is if there is a PMPS level that would be too low to go for the increase, e.g. if he's under 100, 150, 200. I'm getting that the dose changes are based on nadir only within the forum but I'm not 100% that a low PS wouldn't make a difference to the timing of an increase.

I do like to dot all my i's and cross all my t's :?
 
Re: 01/29 Vyktor AMPS 306 +3 191 +6 130 ANOTHER DOSE QU

I wouldn't increase if Vyktor was in the low blues or below. With mid-blues or higher, I'd increase. There's no "rule" involved. I think it's a matter of what you're comfortable with.

As far as filling in times, my point was more that it's not mandatory to get a curve.
 
Re: 01/29 Vyktor AMPS 306 +3 191 DOSE ADVICE

Serryn, what is the lowest you have comfortably shot before? 100, 150, 200 are all totally shootable (depending on your previous experience and comfort level) as long as kitty is not dropping at shot time - and you are able to monitor, have HC, test strips, etc. etc.

I understand your quandary... my PMPS is after most of LL has gone to bed, just because of my schedule. Make sure you have the low numbers sticky printed out and accessible in case of a 'surprise' number!
 
Re: 01/29 Vyktor AMPS 306 +3 191 +6 130 ANOTHER DOSE QU

Hope Vyktor gives you a great PMPS tonight but if he doesn't, good luck on the dosecrease. I'm hoping he'll decide to start coming down and really like this dose.

Have a great evening!
 
Re: 01/29 Vyktor AMPS 306 +3 191 +6 130 ANOTHER DOSE QU

Melissa - I shot a full dose last night at 112 but wasn't game to increase then without advice. Based on Siennes advice now that was probably a good call. If he's sitting a little bit above that tonight I'll do the increase. Anything below that I will shoot his regular dose - unless by some miraculous occurence he's under 70 or something. Then I will have a heart attack and do a BCS I am sure!!!


Thank you Sienne, I am so paranoid about whether there is anything I should be doing differently or better!!
 
Re: 01/29 Vyktor AMPS 306 +3 191 +6 130 +9 103

So so close to earning that green smilie!

WCR is excellent too he has been smoochy with me all afternoon like I haven't had for so long I can't remember. I kept thinking his food bowl was empty and he was asking for more but no he's just being gorgeous, although now that I think about it, it isn't his favourite food that's in the bowl and he hasn't eaten any of it for quite a while, hmmmmmmmm
 
Re: 01/29 Vyktor AMPS 306 blue surf PMPS 149 dosecrease

Sienne and Gabby said:
I wouldn't increase if Vyktor was in the low blues or below. With mid-blues or higher, I'd increase. There's no "rule" involved. I think it's a matter of what you're comfortable with.

Well 149 is about as close to mid-blues as you can get so we have increased from 2.25 to 2.50 tonight. I assume at some point I will stop feeling nervous over dosecreases! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 01/29 Vyktor AMPS 306 blue surf PMPS 149 dosecrease +2 3

So, after what you shared with me in pm's...
I went online and found this...
HOW COOL, SERRYN!!

Thank you for sharing this giggle with me!!! :-D :-D
Absolutely LOVE it- totally charming!

[youtube]j-admRGFVNM[/youtube]
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top