01/27 Cleo PMPS=463 +1=487 +2=511/432 PMPS=241 +2=369 +4.5=241 +6=257 +8=158 +10=190 +12=153

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Hi everyone,
this morning Cleo was still high and at +2 I get 511. I retested in a while (with a strip from another pack) and it was 432!:confused:
However, I've gone to work a little sad and worried for this values, but this evening when I tested bg was 241:)!!!
Today I changed some things in the routine: I gave her 2.5% carbs food at amps, +2 and +8 and gave 7% carbs at +4 and +6. Another thing I changed today is shot place. I shot a little bit lower in the scruff.

I have a question on feeding. Could you give me advice on feeding rate? How often should I feed Cleo? This is something I still do not understand.

I really would like to say thank you for the constant help you give me and for the patience you have in reading my very bad English.:bighug:

Have a good day!

Delia
 
Yeah for yellow! :):):) Looks like she's breaking a bounce, may be an interesting evening.

For feeding, it's generally best to feed in the first half of the cycle, when the insulin is strongest. If you feed after nadir when the insulin is fading, it can cause numbers to go higher into preshot. I've seen people describe the image of a car coasting along. Giving carbs late in the cycle is like tapping on the brakes and causing the car to stop sooner than you want to. So, you might want to do away with the +8 feeding if you can and move that food to +6 or before.

What carbs to feed and when really is about experimenting what works for your cat. For people who have cats that drop fast and early, then they'll feed a little higher carbs or more often early in the cycle. I don't think Cleo does that, so you can spread it out a bit more. Some people just give 4 meals a day. Try something for a couple of weeks, see what impact it has on her blood sugar, then try something else. It can take a while to see the impact of food changes.

By the way, your English is great! Have a great evening Delia.
 
Thank you Wendy. Do you think that the +8 feeding can be useful to avoid that Cleo goes too low in the morning when I'm at work? I usually come back from work just in time for pm shot. I've noticed that she often goes low in the latter part of the cicle.
 
Kitties often go lower later in the cycle if they are breaking a bounce. When Cleo has gone into lower greens, it's been earlier in the cycle.
 
yeah, we hate seeing black numbers. those are discouraging.

I think i'd give this dose a little longer, especially since you're gone to work during the day. With that 241 tonight, you can see that this dose is getting her at least into the 200's. If you don't see some greens by the weekend, I'd go ahead and increase again then.

Your English is great, Delia!
 
All the night was blue:
PMPS=463
+1=487
+2=511/432
PMPS=241
+2=369
+4.5=241
+6=257
+8=158
+10=190
+12=153

Now I have to deal the blue preshot. I prefer not to stalling to much.
What should I do?
 
How long until you have to leave for work? I'd try stalling 1/2 hour, without feeding, and test again.
 
Yes, you can give her a lower dose for today if you want. She is starting up, so that is good. There may still be some action in today's cycle from the depot, so make sure she had food to eat from the autofeeder today.
 
OK, thank you Wendy. I will set the autofeeder at +2 +3 +5 +6. Do you think it is OK?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top