01/27 Casper AMPS 201 0.75U +3 LO, +4 87, +5 139, +6 123, PMPS 653

Thank you all! Pls kindly keep Casper in your prayers!

Unfortunately, we have to leave him here tonight, on oxygen, up to 36 hours. X-ray shows he has some strange gas type of blockage pushing his organs to one side:
Xray #1 and X-ray #2. They don't know what it is, but hoping doing the IV could help to flush out? Aside from that, antibiotics and anti-inflammatory medicine will be given too since his WBC is still high.
His BG was 263 at 11PM. Again, they did wanted to give him 1U again I can't believe it) luckily we told them he had his shot and the reduced dose is approved by his doctor.

I really don't understand what I did wrong, now my baby has to suffer.
 
Last edited:
You didn't do anything wrong:bighug::bighug::bighug:. Just the opposite. I've been following your condos and you've been so dedicated to doing absolutely everything you can to care for Casper's many needs. And to your question earlier, this is not about missing taking the reduction the other day. FWIW, I've missed reducing butters when I should have (embarrassed to say I did it more than one time):bighug:. You can see it on my spreadsheet around July:oops:.
Please don't blame yourself. Sending strength to you, healing to Casper, and prayers for you both:bighug:.
 
On the contrary you have been doing all you can to find out what is wrong with Casper. You have gone above and beyond. He recovered from the low bg and didn’t have symptoms from that. The vets don’t seem to be able to diagnose his problem. I hope they have now. Prayers are sent your way. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
he vets don’t seem to be able to diagnose his problem. I hope they have now.
Went drop off his insulin this morning at 8, asked for his update. There is none. Saying I wouldn't get anything until the vet does his round. I hope they do, last night they sound just clueless like myself, they don't know what it is, just hoping the treatment will work.
 
They didn't notice any heart or lung issues last night but only pointed out the gas. His kidney values are actually looking a lot better. I called again at 10, after being put on hold for 20 mins, I was told that the technician who works with Casper is current with another patient and the vet is in surgery. The lady who answered the phone knows nothing about Casper so she cannot provide me anything. Told me simply wait for a callback.
 
Last edited:
Update: just got off the phone with the technician. So, after another vet on duty, he diagnosed those "gas" is some sort of "foreign bodies". Constipation maybe?
They are switching another type of med to flush that out, and retake his x-rays later this afternoon to check on the effectiveness of this treatment. His breathing is improving, when tech took him out of the oxygen chamber, he is breathing a lot better on his own than last night, still with some efforts, but he doesn't need to open his mouth anymore and the breathing is not so rapid. For the safe side, they are still going to leave him in the oxygen chamber until X-ray and other treatments showing it's safe to take him out. I supposed to get another update later evening, I emphasized Casper's conditions and the tech confirms the doctor very well understands his status and will do their best. I really hope they mean it.
 
Back
Top