01/25 PASHA AMPS 76 +2 59 +3 61 +4 65 +5 72 +7 86 PMPS 101 +2 94 +5 79

I'M not sure either, lol. Because I'm not used to seeing low numbers like this. Because I started using human meter just this morning for the first time. And because I have to step out for a while.
I'm thinking I should perhaps feed him some more LC BUT he ate very well this morning so I don't think he'll want to eat again just now.
Maybe stay home and monitor? I'm not sure.
 
I'M not sure either, lol. Because I'm not used to seeing low numbers like this. Because I started using human meter just this morning for the first time. And because I have to step out for a while.
I'm thinking I should perhaps feed him some more LC BUT he ate very well this morning so I don't think he'll want to eat again just now.
Maybe stay home and monitor? I'm not sure.
We generally save 911 for medical emergencies.

How soon before you have to leave and how long will you be gone?
 
I fed him LC laced with a tiny bit of gravy. Timer on for 30 min. I won't leave before I know he's going up. The thing is I have a crazy busy day today. I am trying to find someone who can monitor him during my absence.
I don t have an automatic feeder. It won't work anyway, I have two cats. Unless I put a sensor collar on him and the other cat cannot eat it.
 
Can you get another test? It would be good to see where he is before you fed or at least before the LC w/ gravy hits his system.
 
Ok Ill test now but it's been already about 25 minutes since he ate, so almost time to test anyway.
But next time I'll panic less and feed simple LC and wait for 30 min instead of adding the HC.
 
Nice to meet you Ayda & Pasha, I saw your SS and you changed to a human glucometer today?? I'm not an expert, but I read that they can have a small result difference between petones, could it be posible that the human one is getting slight lower numbers that Pasha was used to? @Angela & Cleo

wishing for good numbers throughout the day
 
Nice to meet you Ayda & Pasha, I saw your SS and you changed to a human glucometer today?? I'm not an expert, but I read that they can have a small result difference between petones, could it be posible that the human one is getting slight lower numbers that Pasha was used to? @Angela & Cleo

wishing for good numbers throughout the day
Yes, exactly! I'm not used to seeing these low numbers. But, by the same token, he's close to be lime green (hypo) and I have a very busy day today, I will be gone for long periods of time. That's why I'm a bit nervous.
Very nice to meet you too Andrea :)
 
Although Im using a caliper two syringes give me different doses of insulin. this morning I tested two syringes and squirted out both and one gave more insulin than the other. I really don't understand how they can be different considering I'm using a caliper.
 
When do you need to leave?
I have a yoga class right now, so I won't go. I'll skip it, no big deal. but afterwards I have a memorial service as well as an out of town drive and a dinner invite in the evening. You see, I'll be gone a lot BUT my dear neighbour is going to test him and feed him if need be. I'm grateful to have nice neighbours.
 
since he is still very low 61 I would probably give more food and test in 20 min if he keeps raising would go out but came back as soon I could or send someone to watch him at his +7 that could be his nadirs

Feel you with your plans part I'm struggling with schedules too
 
With calipers you ignore the lines on the syringe so the doses should be identical.

When do you heed to leave for the service?
 
With calipers you ignore the lines on the syringe so the doses should be identical.

When do you heed to leave for the service?
Mass is on in 15 min, I will miss that one too. that's all right, my cat is my priority. I won't leave him alone until I know he's going up
Testing in 30
Thanks for understanding. It's one of those days lol
 
Our cats’s timing stinks! My first preshot was when I needed to get to the hospital as my mom was taken there. :bighug:

Next time if you have things you really need to do skip the shot. Sorry you see missing mass.
 
Our cats’s timing stinks! My first preshot was when I needed to get to the hospital as my mom was taken there. :bighug:

Next time if you have things you really need to do skip the shot. Sorry you see missing mass.
Yes, I'm new to this. I'm trying to ready my cat but I'm not 100% there yet. I don't feel confident when it comes to taking decisions about shooting (skipping, lowering or increasing dose)
 
Try lc. Test in 30. Nice surf.
it's his lunch time actually but he doesn't want to eat, he's full. I'll test him in 1 hr (50 min left on timer)
Changed all my plans. No yoga, no memorial, no out of town driving.
Just have to run an errand and have a dinner invite in the evening, that's all.
We are good now.
Thanks so much everyone for coming to our aid. Much appreciated.
Have a wonderful day wherever in the world you are.
 
What a wonderful cycle for Pasha today! See how nicely Lantus works when you give it at lower numbers? I know it's hard. You see them go from 20 (360) to 10 (180) and you think "Oh no! If I give it when he's at 10, he's going to drop to ZERO!! :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:

It doesn't work that way! Lantus is a fantastic insulin for nice, steady numbers. Pasha is doing so great. You're not seeing the big bounces that we usually see on newly diagnosed cats so I suspect that you caught his diabetes early before his body had a chance to get used to being in high numbers, so when he's back down in normal numbers like we want, his liver isn't panicking thinking "Oh NO! Emergency! Emergency!! Send in the hormones! We need to get these numbers back up to the 18's where we've gotten used to!!"

Of course, since you are new to all this, it's important that until you really understand Pasha's reactions to insulin and food, and if you choose to shoot those low Pre-shots, that you're able to test enough until you know he's going to be safe. Sometimes that means canceling plans, or if you need to keep certain commitments, you may want to skip the dose. The depot will give some coverage even if you skip one dose and he'll get back on track in a few more cycles.

I truly think Pasha has an excellent chance at remission. (anti-jinx)
 
Maybe find another way of highlighting or differentiating that area. I'm playing with the graph to come up with something but so far to no avail. It would be fantastic if we could find a way to do it.

Yah, I thought of all sorts of cool ideas with it before that would be useful. The main one I want is on each data point/test, to show how much carb % of a snack I gave and also the AMPS/PMPS meals so it shows me trying to raise the BG or feeding the curve.
 
Yah, I thought of all sorts of cool ideas with it before that would be useful. The main one I want is on each data point/test, to show how much carb % of a snack I gave and also the AMPS/PMPS meals so it shows me trying to raise the BG or feeding the curve.
That would be so sophisticated Jason, LOL! Let's keep trying more cool stuff :)
For instance, Can we make the grid lines of that are a different colour (between 50-121)?
I just LOVE my graph, I have one every day.
 
Although Im using a caliper two syringes give me different doses of insulin. this morning I tested two syringes and squirted out both and one gave more insulin than the other. I really don't understand how they can be different considering I'm using a caliper.
There are many potential causes. The most obvious: are the syringes from the same lot? If not the barrels may not be the same diameter (which changes the radius). For that matter, who knows what the spec/tolerance is for the syringe manufacturer.

calipers hold only the height of the cylinder constant. Volume of a cylinder is V= pi x height x r squared. A small difference in r could matter.

—-forum math nerd
 
There are many potential causes. The most obvious: are the syringes from the same lot? If not the barrels may not be the same diameter (which changes the radius). For that matter, who knows what the spec/tolerance is for the syringe manufacturer.

calipers hold only the height of the cylinder constant. Volume of a cylinder is V= pi x height x r squared. A small difference in r could matter.

—-forum math nerd
To answer your question, yes, both syringes were from the same lot. Came from the same bag. In my understanding needles from the same manufacturer, which come out from the same exact bag should be identical. But who knows... Your math equation might be the answer ;)
 
Nothing manufactured is identical. Everything has acceptable tolerance

Per ISO 7886-13standards, the tolerance of all syringes when measuring less than 50% of nominal capacity (Vnominal) is ±[1.5% Vnominal + 2% Vexpelled] for syringes with a nominal capacity less than 5 mL and ±[1.5% Vnominal + 1% Vexpelled] for syringes more than 5 mL. Tolerances of ±5% or less are only required when the expelled volume is at least 50% of the nominal volume

using calipers eliminates variance of height (within tolerance of the caliper and tolerance of the length of plunger if that’s used setting caliper distance—I’ve seen two different methods). But it does not eliminate variance of the radius of the barrel which can vary within a bag (but is less likely to have as large a variance as between different lots and of course different plants of the same manufacturer, and every more variance between manufacturers.

edit: this will not be on the midterm
 
Nothing manufactured is identical. Everything has acceptable tolerance

Per ISO 7886-13standards, the tolerance of all syringes when measuring less than 50% of nominal capacity (Vnominal) is ±[1.5% Vnominal + 2% Vexpelled] for syringes with a nominal capacity less than 5 mL and ±[1.5% Vnominal + 1% Vexpelled] for syringes more than 5 mL. Tolerances of ±5% or less are only required when the expelled volume is at least 50% of the nominal volume

using calipers eliminates variance of height (within tolerance of the caliper and tolerance of the length of plunger if that’s used setting caliper distance—I’ve seen two different methods). But it does not eliminate variance of the radius of the barrel which can vary within a bag (but is less likely to have as large a variance as between different lots and of course different plants of the same manufacturer, and every more variance between manufacturers.

edit: this will not be on the midterm

ha ha ha, this is great :bookworm:
 
Nothing manufactured is identical. Everything has acceptable tolerance

Per ISO 7886-13standards, the tolerance of all syringes when measuring less than 50% of nominal capacity (Vnominal) is ±[1.5% Vnominal + 2% Vexpelled] for syringes with a nominal capacity less than 5 mL and ±[1.5% Vnominal + 1% Vexpelled] for syringes more than 5 mL. Tolerances of ±5% or less are only required when the expelled volume is at least 50% of the nominal volume

using calipers eliminates variance of height (within tolerance of the caliper and tolerance of the length of plunger if that’s used setting caliper distance—I’ve seen two different methods). But it does not eliminate variance of the radius of the barrel which can vary within a bag (but is less likely to have as large a variance as between different lots and of course different plants of the same manufacturer, and every more variance between manufacturers.

edit: this will not be on the midterm
Nothing manufactured is identical. Everything has acceptable tolerance

Per ISO 7886-13standards, the tolerance of all syringes when measuring less than 50% of nominal capacity (Vnominal) is ±[1.5% Vnominal + 2% Vexpelled] for syringes with a nominal capacity less than 5 mL and ±[1.5% Vnominal + 1% Vexpelled] for syringes more than 5 mL. Tolerances of ±5% or less are only required when the expelled volume is at least 50% of the nominal volume

using calipers eliminates variance of height (within tolerance of the caliper and tolerance of the length of plunger if that’s used setting caliper distance—I’ve seen two different methods). But it does not eliminate variance of the radius of the barrel which can vary within a bag (but is less likely to have as large a variance as between different lots and of course different plants of the same manufacturer, and every more variance between manufacturers.

edit: this will not be on the midterm
Thanks so much for this!
You must be a professor. Tell me I am right :)
 
50% of nominal capacity (Vnominal) is ±[1.5% Vnominal + 2% Vexpelled

wynonna-earp-nicole-haught.gif
 
Back
Top