01/25 Mumf AMPS 270; +6 299; +8 299, PMPS 279

So I talked to the vet today, she looked at my spreadsheet and came up with another strategy for me which I will be trying. Since I weighed Mumf today and realized that he’s gained weight, we decided that I will hold the dose for the rest of the week and reduce his food intake. I am afraid that ever since he had that hypo scare in December, I have been unconsciously giving him more food and that’s obvious not good for BG.

So I need to check myself and instead of increasing insulin right away (whwas going to tomorrow), start first by dialing back his food and going back to where we were four weeks ago. I assume we’re going to entry the dose anyway, but I want to try this first.

My foot is not getting any better so chances are I’ll be home much longer and can and probably will still jump on that tight regulation train lol. Will be posting daily anyway, I like this accountability

 
:bighug:Hi Jana, do you weight Mumf’s portions? We started giving Chico an exact amount of food per day and still do now even if he is off insulin as a way of controlling his weight. To me it doesn’t seem a huge increase of 0.2 kg between october and now, additionally it depends if it was before food, after food or after pooping and so on. We are trying to weight Chico before his PMBG every time so that it is a more “comparable” value. I actually have read an article from dr. Lisa that is discouraging managing weight in an unregulated diabetic cat in the same time, i’ll give you the link but as well an extract from it:

“If your cat is overweight, please see Feline Obesity but you need to understand that it is beyond the scope of a webpage to explain how to implement a safe weight loss program at the same time that you are dealing with an unregulated or newly diagnosed diabetic cat. This can be a tricky situation since an unregulated diabetic cat is starving internally – at the cellular level – and restricting calories, in some cases, can be very dangerous. ”

Chico was overweight as well, what we did was to set up a “recommended” food amount per day and correct it based on the weight he was at, gradually he lost weight by being on a much better diet.

Sorry to give you contradicting information from your veterinary :blackeye::blackeye: i just thought it was important to share this. Good luck no matter what you decide to do :bighug:
 
Thank you so much for this! I’m going to read up on that right away. I do a accept that I have been feeding him too much and I don’t weigh his portions but I need to start doing that. I know that my anxiety has gotten the better of me and I’ve been very lenient regarding his food for (unreasonable!) fear of a hypo. He has been eating too much, especially in the AM. I’m usually at work for the better part of the day so that has definitely changed- and now I’m here sitting on my behind all day and feed him too much.

But! This is something I will try for a week because the vet has advised it and I accept the blame :P but if it doesn’t work I’m going straight back to tight regulation.

:bighug:Hi Jana, do you weight Mumf’s portions? We started giving Chico an exact amount of food per day and still do now even if he is off insulin as a way of controlling his weight. To me it doesn’t seem a huge increase of 0.2 kg between october and now, additionally it depends if it was before food, after food or after pooping and so on. We are trying to weight Chico before his PMBG every time so that it is a more “comparable” value. I actually have read an article from dr. Lisa that is discouraging managing weight in an unregulated diabetic cat in the same time, i’ll give you the link but as well an extract from it:

“If your cat is overweight, please see Feline Obesity but you need to understand that it is beyond the scope of a webpage to explain how to implement a safe weight loss program at the same time that you are dealing with an unregulated or newly diagnosed diabetic cat. This can be a tricky situation since an unregulated diabetic cat is starving internally – at the cellular level – and restricting calories, in some cases, can be very dangerous. ”

Chico was overweight as well, what we did was to set up a “recommended” food amount per day and correct it based on the weight he was at, gradually he lost weight by being on a much better diet.

Sorry to give you contradicting information from your veterinary :blackeye::blackeye: i just thought it was important to share this. Good luck no matter what you decide to do :bighug:
 
Back
Top