Re: 01/22 Vyktor AMPS 344 blue surf PMPS 254
Nice day for Vyktor today but I think we're due a dose increase if not tomorrow morning then in the next couple of days.
I have taken my possible fur shots for the last two nights off the chart because I'm pretty confident that what happened was exactly as Ella suggested, i.e. it was the excess insulin I had expelled from the syringe that had dripped down the outside of the needle that got on his fur. Drawing up and expelling the excess insulin tonight I can see how it happened and I've only just started doing it like that (I was injecting back into the vial as per the instructions given by the vet and the chemist

) so it's not suprising that I haven't had this issue before. I'm now doing as Ella suggested and wiping the needle before injecting so I will know if I feel wet it is a genuine fur shot.
So that makes tomorrow morning 5 days since my BCS and on each of the days since, Vyktor's PSs have been above 200 (lowest was 216) and in 3 of the 9 cycles so far (tonight will be the tenth cycle) his nadir has been below 200. I'm thinking that there's a fair chance we'll get a nadir below 200 again tonight but then probably a bounce following soon after.
So do I go for the increase tomorrow morning if his PS is still above 200, to try and get in before the bounce (assuming it doesn't hit tonight), or leave it for another couple of days. Protocol says increase in 5-7 days if nadir is less than 200 but peak is more than 200. I assume if his PS happens to be below 200 I don't increase the dose on that cycle.
The other issue to consider is that I will be back at work tomorrow. I know the faster you get them regulated the better and I am really keen to do that (as those of you that have sent me off to put the patience pants on can attest to!) but I'm a bit nervous about increasing while I'm at work. I do dash home for a +6 and if I found him low I would absolutely stay instead of going back to work - but is that enough to make it safe or am I better off waiting until the 26th (3 days later for me so 8 days since my BCS) when we have a public holiday? Of course we might be in the middle of a bounce then but if we were we would probably be okay to increase by the weekend following, which would make it 10 days since my BCS.
Thanking you in advance for your advice.