01/22 Vyktor AMPS 344 blue surf PMPS 254 +1 299 Inc. when?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
And the roller coaster continues - I was just lamenting Vyktor's 3rd pee for the morning when he came back inside and started batting at one of my tops (I am not much of a housekeeper and tend to have a horizontal wardrobe, i.e. clothes lying around on the floor). It has string ties so I started dangling and swishing one at him, and he went for it! Then we had a bit of slap at the finger poking through the newspaper. All up maybe only a minute but we can finally tick the P for play :-D

Recap:
AMPS: 292
+2 311
+4 266
+6 284
+8 281
+11 329
PMPS 358
+6 331

Thanks to Marje and Jill for their timely dose advice this morning and to Ella (the fur shot queen!) for her suggestions.

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61655
 
Re: 01/22 Vyktor AMPS 344 +3 229

Vyktor, you are wild today! It's nice to see Vyktor come down to some better numbers. I hope Zener is right behind him. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 01/22 Vyktor AMPS 344 +3 229

A minute of play is a minute of play - add one "P" to the list. You go, Vyktor!!!
 
Re: 01/22 Vyktor AMPS 344 +3 229 +6 137

'atta boy, Vyktor, on that +6!

A horizontal wardrobe. That's very funny, Serryn :lol:
 
Re: 01/22 Vyktor AMPS 344 blue surf PMPS 254

Nice day for Vyktor today but I think we're due a dose increase if not tomorrow morning then in the next couple of days.

I have taken my possible fur shots for the last two nights off the chart because I'm pretty confident that what happened was exactly as Ella suggested, i.e. it was the excess insulin I had expelled from the syringe that had dripped down the outside of the needle that got on his fur. Drawing up and expelling the excess insulin tonight I can see how it happened and I've only just started doing it like that (I was injecting back into the vial as per the instructions given by the vet and the chemist :oops: ) so it's not suprising that I haven't had this issue before. I'm now doing as Ella suggested and wiping the needle before injecting so I will know if I feel wet it is a genuine fur shot.

So that makes tomorrow morning 5 days since my BCS and on each of the days since, Vyktor's PSs have been above 200 (lowest was 216) and in 3 of the 9 cycles so far (tonight will be the tenth cycle) his nadir has been below 200. I'm thinking that there's a fair chance we'll get a nadir below 200 again tonight but then probably a bounce following soon after.

So do I go for the increase tomorrow morning if his PS is still above 200, to try and get in before the bounce (assuming it doesn't hit tonight), or leave it for another couple of days. Protocol says increase in 5-7 days if nadir is less than 200 but peak is more than 200. I assume if his PS happens to be below 200 I don't increase the dose on that cycle.

The other issue to consider is that I will be back at work tomorrow. I know the faster you get them regulated the better and I am really keen to do that (as those of you that have sent me off to put the patience pants on can attest to!) but I'm a bit nervous about increasing while I'm at work. I do dash home for a +6 and if I found him low I would absolutely stay instead of going back to work - but is that enough to make it safe or am I better off waiting until the 26th (3 days later for me so 8 days since my BCS) when we have a public holiday? Of course we might be in the middle of a bounce then but if we were we would probably be okay to increase by the weekend following, which would make it 10 days since my BCS.

Thanking you in advance for your advice.
 
Re: 01/22 Vyktor AMPS 344 blue surf PMPS 254 +1 299 Inc. whe

It looks like Vyktor decided to bounce after those lovely blues. If his bounce lasts like it did the last time, you're probably looking at 48 hours or more for the bounce to clear. If that's the case, you'll be able to comfortably increase when it's your holiday.

Also, just to clarify -- the nadir and peak are the same thing. I know, in principle, you would think they're the opposite. The nadir is the lowest point in the cycle. The peak refers to when insulin is reaching it's peak of activity -- which is when the numbers are the lowest. With that in mind, you really don't factor in what the pre-shot numbers are when you are adjusting dose when using Lantus.
 
Re: 01/22 Vyktor AMPS 344 blue surf PMPS 254 +1 299 Inc. whe

Yay Vyktor!!!! Blue is good!!!!

Hope you are having a lovely evening, Serryn and that Vyktor might see some more blue tonight.

Thanks for visiting us last night while I was playing bunko. Bunko is a dice game....very fast moving and lots of fun. We have a group that meets monthly to play....we have dinner, drinks, dessert, etc. It's very fun. I dropped out of the monthly play because it varies on nights and sometimes I need to be with Gracie but I sub when they need a person to fill in. Lots of fun!!!
 
Re: 01/22 Vyktor AMPS 344 blue surf PMPS 254 +1 299 Inc. whe

glad you figured out what was happening with the syringes, serryn. there's a lot to keep track of, isn't there?! hope you've had a good day - thanks for looking in on punkin yesterday!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top