01/22 Mao amps 449 +7 68

Status
Not open for further replies.
Julie, nadirs can be anywhere from +4 to +8...or even later. The "average" is around +6, but ECID and that's why testing is so important. To try to find out where Mao "usually" goes the lowest...but just because it's at +6 today, doesn't mean it won't be at +9 tomorrow...or +3

My concern is that's a big drop from 449 to 68, so I'd bet Mao DID go lower, and may have even gone below 50 which would have been an automatic reduction, but since we don't know for sure, it's hard to say. I wouldn't be at all surprised if you get a big bounce tonight or tomorrow though!

I haven't had time to go back through all your posts, but I have to think it might have been better to go up to 1.25 instead of the .5 increase from 1 unit to 1.5 on 1/17. We almost always only do increases in .25 increments

Hopefully you'll get a nice PMPS though! We'll just have to wait and see!
 
Hi there Julie :cool:
:mrgreen:
Great to see Green again! Making sure Mao gets enough insulin to keep ketones away is important.

You've got a lot going on with Mao. Wouldn't you know the day you are not able to test as often as you usually do you get a green!
don't worry about the possibility that you missed one nadir.
 
Chris/China said:
I haven't had time to go back through all your posts, but I have to think it might have been better to go up to 1.25 instead of the .5 increase from 1 unit to 1.5 on 1/17. We almost always only do increases in .25 increments

Not necessarily the case. From the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Mao's nadirs were consistently above 300 when Julie increased by 0.5u.
 
Julie

I just got a chance to look at your response to my post yesterday. I agree with MJ that 200 mls/every other day is too much especially with a creat of 3.3. I have no idea why vets prescribe fluids like that. I could understand if you have a very fractious cat but that's still a lot of fluid at one time and it's better to provide consistent support than overwhelm the system. I think 75-100 mls/day for now would be fine. There are 5 tsps to a ml so 100 mls is 20 tsp or 5 tbsp as you stated.

I wasn't very clear on the B vitamins. Sorry about that.

These are the Methyl B12 capsules and this is the Jarrows B Right. Here the are #3 gel caps. It was kind of labor intensive, but I'd open a b12 cap and pour half into the #3 gel cap and then fill it the rest of the way with the B Right. I'd repeat with the remainder of the b12 cap and then give him one cap twice a day in a pill pocket. In almost four years, his HCT never got below 25% which is pretty amazing for a CKD cat.

As the video on giving fluids states, I got my LRS bags by the case at Walgreens. I got my lines and 21g needles at thrivingpets.com.

I was lucky because Gus was not diabetic so I only had to focus on low P foods although I also gave him a binder. I would try the lower P foods first for a month and then get her P rechecked and see if it has come down. Here is another list of LC, lower P foods but note the Merricks Cowboy Cookout shown on this list is no longer made and the new CC is very high in carbs and P.

Please let me know if I can help you.
 
Sorry, my mistake; it's 100mls every other day. Marje, I had your video by my side, and successfully gave Mao the first fluid at home.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top