01/22 J.D. PMPS (at +11.5) 501

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Dental Day
Thank you for all the well wishes and vines yesterday :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: It meant a lot to me to know that I had a support staff behind me.

Last Night
HI PMPS (at +24)
86 +5.5
69 +6.5
61 +7.5
200 +10

I quit hearing alarms :roll: after +7.5 and woke up thinking my stupid cell phone had failed..at +10.
His dose of bupe was supposed to be at +9 (3:30am) and I missed it. At +10.5, I offered some food and he was eating some of it :) but I then took it away because it was so late in the cycle (I guess I should have let him eat, since it had been so long since he had eaten ohmygod_smile ). Then, I gave him his bupe, fell back to sleep, and missed the alarm to get up for AMPS. He was 408 then at +12.5, so I gave him his shot and some Ondansetron and Pepcid, and tried to get him to eat, but he refused. I am supposed to restart the antibiotics, but it says in big bold red letters GIVE WITH FOOD He was again pacing around the house, and trading going from his water fountain to the litter box, and around and around and around the apartment.
At about +1.25 I got him to eat a few bites of MC FF Medleys and a little bit of baby food, and gave him the Clindamycin.

At +1.75, he was finally settled down some, and was hanging out on the back of the couch. I offered him some food
and he ate 1/4 can LC FF YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I just caught him almost going down the stairs into the basement :roll: and quickly shut the door (I don't know how it opened).

He was just at his water fountain and I heard him sneeze, and then saw him walking sideways and all wobbily from the water fountain, hopped into his litter box and peed. And, now he's walking all fine again.

The next milestone for me was to call my boss and get the rest of the week off, and he was very nice about it and said that he will not hate me forever and ever :cool: I did tell him that I will go through my email and re-assign any work there, so I have to get J.D.'s other meds in him, and get through some work emails. A btb sure would be nice, though.

I'll be back later.
 
Re: 01/22 J.D. AMPS 408

Hi guys .. and yay for eating J.D.!! That was very nice of your boss to give you some more time off .. sounds like you are taking excellent care of your little guy, no surprise there .. I hope he just continues to improve each hour for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 01/22 J.D. AMPS 408

Morning Dyana ~O) ~O) ~O)

So far so good, ohmygod_smile what a day you & JD had yesterday.. Very glad to hear you'll be home to be with him :-D
Quite a maze of meds you have to figure out, all with a kitty with an undoubtedly tender mouth :sad:
Great that he's starting to show interest in food. I always feel sorry for kitties having dentals; vet stress, pain, weird meds, etc.
But I also think dentals may be harder on the beans ;-)

Have a great day home with JD, prayers for his continued recuperation :YMHUG:
 
Re: 01/22 J.D. AMPS 408

Sending more recovery vines to J.D. He's making progress! :-D I hope you can get in a few naps today too.
Liz
 
Re: 01/22 J.D. AMPS 408

Hi Dyana. Wanted to send a "feel better" wish to J.D. Hope he continues to get back to normal.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 01/22 J.D. AMPS 408

You must have needed the rest, Dyana....not only was it a stressful day for JD, it was a stressful day for you too! When our fur kids are going through pain, we go through it too!

Nice to see that JD ate some! I know that made you happy! Poor boy's mouth may still be a little tender.
I hope JD is on a fast road to recovery and you can get to enjoy some of that time off!!
 
Re: 01/22 J.D. AMPS 408

Morning JD and Dyana
Glad things are going better. You poor thing you were so tired! So glad you were able to get the rest of the week off!! I hope JD continues to improve. Sending good appy vines and healing vines to his poor mouth! have a great day Dyana
 
Re: 01/22 J.D. AMPS 408

One thing Dyana did not mention is that the dentist who took care of JD is one of the top dentists in the country. He has over 25 years in the field and has written all types of books and protocols on various procedures - http://www.rbvh.net/bio.php?James-Anthony-112

He is fairly new to this practice, he came in as a favor to the resident dentist Dr. Scott - who took care of my girls. He was there when my Buster needed a root canal and guided the process to make it as pain free as possible.

This place is not cheap, by any means, but like Dyana experienced, I love the attention and care from the staff there. And I know it's hard when we put our loved ones in someone else's care, but I can honestly say, when my girls are with the dentist, I don't worry. I know they are in good hands!

If anyone else needs a dental.....may we recommend :)

Happy to see JD doing better today.
 
Re: 01/22 J.D. AMPS 408

So glad J.D. is feeling a little better - great news that he ate today! That was nice of your boss to give you the time off. I hope after getting thru those work emails that you can find the time for a nap Dyana.
 
Re: 01/22 J.D. AMPS 408, +4.5 213, +6 171

Hillary & Maui said:
One thing Dyana did not mention is that the dentist who took care of JD is one of the top dentists in the country. He has over 25 years in the field and has written all types of books and protocols on various procedures - http://www.rbvh.net/bio.php?James-Anthony-112

He is fairly new to this practice, he came in as a favor to the resident dentist Dr. Scott - who took care of my girls. He was there when my Buster needed a root canal and guided the process to make it as pain free as possible.

This place is not cheap, by any means, but like Dyana experienced, I love the attention and care from the staff there. And I know it's hard when we put our loved ones in someone else's care, but I can honestly say, when my girls are with the dentist, I don't worry. I know they are in good hands!

If anyone else needs a dental.....may we recommend :)

Happy to see JD doing better today.
Thank you Hillary for your continued recommendations to go to Red Bank Veterinary Hospital in Tinton Falls.
I did feel quite honored to meet the Dr. James Anthony. I did only want the best for J.D., and I felt like I got it.
As far as I know, he lives in Canada and comes down once a month for a week, to work at the Tinton Falls Hospital.
The whole place is impressive and all the people working there, help to put your mind at ease. Thanks again, Hillary!
Tonight, they have a free lecture called "Taking The Fear Out Of Anesthesia", that I would love to go to, but it's just too long of a drive (and I'd have to leave before J.D.'s insulin shot). Hillary said she might go, though :)
I wonder if J.D. was not zonked on pain meds and recovering from his procedure, if he would be welcome to come the lecture :cool: too.
 
Re: 01/22 J.D. AMPS 408, +4.5 213, +6 171

Dyana said:
Tonight, they have a free lecture called "Taking The Fear Out Of Anesthesia", that I would love to go to, but it's just too long of a drive (and I'd have to leave before J.D.'s insulin shot).
I wonder if J.D. was not zonked on pain meds and recovering from his procedure, if he would be welcome to come the lecture :cool: too.

tee hee - maybe JD could offer to demo it too!
 
Re: 01/22 J.D. AMPS 408, +4.5 213, +6 171

what a nice boss! you'll be less worried about J.D. while home with him.
i sure wish Red Bank Veterinary Hospital was close to me! it sounds like a wonderful place and staffed with top notch professionals.

sending speedy recovery vines to J.D.!
 
That's nice your boss let you have the rest of the week off to be with J.D. Sending J.D. prayers for a quick recovery.
 
Hi Dyana,
So glad to read that J.D. did well with his dental and that he is adjusting to his "new mouth". Great that he ate! That vet hospital sounds wonderful. I've bookmarked it for future reference.

Have a good night, both you and J.D., and have a good week, too. It is good that you'll be able to take the week off from work to be with your boy (and to catch up on your sleep).

Ni ni!!

Ella & Rusty
 
I have to sometimes give him some HC to get him to eat, but he's eating pretty regularly for me.

He's still getting his 1/4 Ondansetron and 1/4 Pepcid twice a day.

And his new meds are:
Buprenex, .3ml three times a day, actually, I'm trying for every 10 hours instead of every 8 (for now)
Clindamycin, 2ML (liquid) twice a day
Two drops of CET Oral Hygiene Rinse on each side of his mouth, twice a day
Two drops of Maxi-Guard Oral Gel on each side of his mouth, twice a day
1 capsule of Elite 1-TDC Dual Act Soft Gel, rubbed on this gums, once a day
and of course, his insulin

I have not given him his 1 Denamarin per day or his 1 Azodyl per day, but may start those back up tomorrow.

He slept a bit more today, and I finally got a little nap.

Next buprenex dose is scheduled for 1:00am. Let's see if I hear the alarm, this time :roll:
 
Hi, Dyana! I've been thinking about you guys today. I'm glad you got the rest of the week off. It will definitely help your sweet J.D. as he recovers, plus your own recovery from the stress of it all!

Take care!
~Josie
 
Dyana,

I am so happy that JD ate for you!! He is one tough Tux! Red Bank is a excellent hospital! Thats where my family takes our pets even though its a bit of a drive. I am so happy to hear that JD is making a speedy recover
Hopefully you will be able to relax a bit in the next few days!

Hugs to JD.
 
Glad to hear J.D. is on the mend! I've also been to Red Bank (for the oncologist, Dr Fred), although it has been 10 years now. They have since moved and branched out...

I hope you guys get some rest tonight!
 
the Zener Daily News says that JD had EIGHT extractions yesterday! :shock: wowser, poor little guy! got rid of those bad teeth that were giving him trouble, hopefully.

cheering you guys on! hope JD comes down from those high numbers and is feeling better.
 
Thanks.

Ginger and I just got home from visiting with my elderly neighbor, and J.D. was eating up a storm when we walked in the door. Then he jumped off the couch to go to his water fountain for a drink, and almost fell, but that's just the drugs. I think he's doing pretty good.

Night night time for us. And again I am hoping to wake up for that bupe dose in 2.5 hours.. I don't know..
 
Dyana --

How about checking in with the vet? If J.D. is that unsteady on his feet, maybe he can use less bupe. Now that he's eating, it may help to lessen the effects or as the anesthesia wears off, there will be less of an interaction with the bupe. I'd just want to be sure that he's not getting too much of the narcotic and it's causing him to be unsteady.
 
What a difference a day makes and it sounds like JD is doing so much better today and tonight. I'm so glad.

I tend to agree with Sienne. I might back the dose of the bupe down but still give it tid.

Hope you all get some rest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top