01/22/20 Apple PMPS 269 +3 59 - VERY low number, good or bad?

Caren & Apple

Member Since 2019
Previous post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...amps-77-6-417-9-428-help.224613/#post-2513336

Apple is acting normal, he just ate so his appetite isn't going, but this very low number is worrying. The insulin shouldn't have kicked in by now, so we don't know what could've caused this. We tested him twice to make sure, first number was 58 and second was 61 so I took the average for the spreadsheet. We just gave him his normal food with a small spoonful of gravy. We'll continue testing throughout the night.

-Avery
 
Looks like Apple is breaking a bounce and the insulin on onset could be giving extra momentum to push numbers lower. It's still a safe number and I'm so glad you tested twice.

Did you try to offer more food anyway? How much did he end up eating and what kind of food? (I'd add those in your notes so people don't ask again :D)

I would test in another hour.

Another thing I might suggest is to give a bit of higher carb food since it is quite early in the cycle. Just to slow the dive. Make good notes and see how the higher carb food affects Apple. MC would be a good choice. No need for the HC yet.
 
Looks like Apple is breaking a bounce and the insulin on onset could be giving extra momentum to push numbers lower. It's still a safe number and I'm so glad you tested twice.

Did you try to offer more food anyway? How much did he end up eating and what kind of food? (I'd add those in your notes so people don't ask again :D)

I would test in another hour.

Another thing I might suggest is to give a bit of higher carb food since it is quite early in the cycle. Just to slow the dive. Make good notes and see how the higher carb food affects Apple. MC would be a good choice. No need for the HC yet.

We did offer more food, he ate about 3 oz of Friskies pate with a spoonful of Fancy Feast seafood feast in gravy. We added the higher carb gravy to slow the dive as you said.
Could you tell us what MC and HC means? We're still relatively new to this and not familiar with the lingo, lol.

-Avery
 
No problem!

LC = low carb. Anything under 10% carb content = LC
MC = moderate carb. 11-18% carb content
HC = high carb. Which is your gravy foods that are over 18%.

Of course, each cat responds differently to different carb contents. Some cats will get a boost with 7% carbs.

Most of the FF and Friskies pates are under 4%, I believe.

You can find the carb contents of foods here: https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

This might also be an interesting read for you on how to manipulate the curve with food: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990
 
Hi Avery
I agree with Crista......59 is a safe number but you will need to keep testing during this cycle as cats who are coming down off a bounce can do it fast and drop low. So good catch!
 
Avery, I wouldn't wait for a +4, I would test again now, I suspect with a drop like that, and only LC food on board, he's under 50 by now.
Bit too late, sorry... We tested again just now - an hour after the last test, he's 54 now. We gave him more of the Fancy Feast grills, apparently it has 12% carbs so it's in the MC zone. He's a bit more tired now but not enough to be worrying. He's still eating as well.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) Could you hop on and take a look?

-Avery
 
You will need to keep testing to ensure that the number does not drop again as you are only at +4 and the nadir ( lowest point in the cycle) may be 2 or 3 or more hours away yet.
I would test again in 30 mins and post result.
 
Tested again...now in the light greens with 49. He's eating, we mixed honey into his food this time because he's not being very receptive to the gravy. Hopefully he'll be back in the dark greens at 12...

-Avery
 
I’m glad you gave honey. Test again in 30 Mins.
Apple has earned a reduction in dose with that 49 down to 2 units starting at the next insulin injection.
 
He's 57 now, the honey helped a bit. He doesn't want to eat anything now, which is understandable, but we put some honey on some treats and he ate them.
Testing again in another 30 mins.

-Avery
I’m glad you gave honey. Test again in 30 Mins.
Apple has earned a reduction in dose with that 49 down to 2 units starting at the next insulin injection.
Just tested again, he's up to 82, so I think we're on the other side finally! Once again thank you so much and we'll be reducing that dose tomorrow.
 
I would get one more test in to see he is staying up.
Tested him just now +9, he's at 73. Gave more food and a tablespoon on FF pate/w gravy just in case.
I would get one more test in to see he is staying up.
So sorry I missed your post. I just tested him again at+9 he's at 73. He's eating Friskie's pate with a tablespoon of FF gravy mix just in case. Will test again in 30 mins. and see how this is going. Right now he jumped on my desk to chase my cursor, he hasn't done this since he was a kitten..has to be a good sign.
Apple 30 mins. 101. Add a little stress on his part, ear wasn't bleeding, but we got a #.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top