01/21 TIFIL PMPS 261, +2 332, +3 415 :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
Good morning ll,
It's morning here :)
Tıfıl had a huge bounce again yesterday, she went up to 300's again :roll:
Is the dose to much, I mean these bounces appear because of low numbers, I can't catch that under 50 number but maybe it happens, and that's why she bounces up. Or whatever happens she bounces high. Maybe I should try to reduce to 2.5 and see what happens, what do you think?
 
Re: 01/21 TIFIL AMPS 274 Is the dose too much?

Hi Isil, it will be a few hours before most are back on the board, I'm just off to bed. It takes a while for cats to stop bouncing. Some just seem to be built w/ springs on their paws. Tifil doesn't seem to be going too low on this dose and you are doing a great job of testing, I don't think you are missing any reallylow numbers. Her body just needs time to adjust to normal numbers. We just have to wait them out. :YMSIGH:

Ni Ni
 
Re: 01/21 TIFIL AMPS 274 Is the dose too much?

Thank you Ann,
I hope she will clear out the bounces as soon as possible. Today I will try to catch her at her litterbox for ketone test...
Have a good night with beautiful dreams....
 
Re: 01/21 TIFIL AMPS 274, +324 Is the dose too much?

Please stick with the protocol. Your cat has just recovered from DKA. You do not want to prematurely reduce insulin because you "think" numbers may have been lower. Because there's a bounce, it does not mean the cat is getting too much insulin. One factor that may be contributing to some of the numbers is that you've moved shot times over 4 hours later in the last 10 days. I want to encourage you to be patient.
 
Re: 01/21 TIFIL AMPS 274, +324 Is the dose too much?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Please stick with the protocol. Your cat has just recovered from DKA. You do not want to prematurely reduce insulin because you "think" numbers may have been lower. Because there's a bounce, it does not mean the cat is getting too much insulin. One factor that may be contributing to some of the numbers is that you've moved shot times over 4 hours later in the last 10 days. I want to encourage you to be patient.

ditto to what sienne said above. when following the TR protocol, we do not check for rebound when the dose has been increased in a systematic and methodical manner. tifil will tell you when she needs a dose reduction. please be patient. you don't want to risk another DKA episode...
 
Re: 01/21 TIFIL AMPS 274, +324 Is the dose too much?

good morning isil!

wahoo! you're finally seeing some great numbers again - way to go! i looked at tifil's ss too - and i counted - the last 3 days you've checked her about 10 times a day. if she were getting under 50, you would be seeing it.

you probably shouldn't have reduced her dose the morning of the 18th because a 53 isn't under 50! there's a saying in English, "a miss is as good as a mile" meaning if it didn't hit it, it doesn't count.

for now, all is well, you're finally seeing better numbers. this dose is perfect! if you hold steady on the dose and on the times of the shots you'll see that bouncing decrease and tifil will flatten out her numbers. this is all great! dancing_cat :YMHUG:
 
Re: 01/21 TIFIL AMPS 274, +324 Is the dose too much?

merhaba isil,

Just a bounce,, it will clear. As the others have said, be patient.

Reducing insulin on a cat that has a history of DKA is risky. You must be absolutely sure, no guessing.
 
Re: 01/21 TIFIL AMPS 274, +324 Is the dose too much?

Ok I won't do anything :smile:
She came down :smile:
By the way, she is eating too much and she started to wake me up again :(
 
Re: 01/21 TIFIL PMPS 261

Glad to see her come down.

You know we have that travelling pair of patience pants and I can send them over to Turkey :-D

It is tough to see those bounces but it's wonderful to hear Tifil is eating. I'm glad that you will hold her steady on her dose, be consistent, and let her earn her reductions.

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 01/21 TIFIL PMPS 261

Having a big appetite goes along with unregulated diabetes, Işıl. When Mookie is very very hungry I feed him as much as he wants to eat, but still in small amounts each time so that he doesn't have an upset tummy and vomit. Mookie is usually more hungry when his numbers are higher than when his numbers are lower.

Be patient, Işıl'cik, Tıfıl is doing well and bouncing is normal.
 
Re: 01/21 TIFIL PMPS 261

Hello Randa,
I missed you, very happy to see you :smile:
Tıfıl usually is very hungry when her numbers are high too, but she is now very hungry when her numbers are low...
By the way I tested for ketones, thanks good there is no sign of them :)
 
Isil: It's hard to say when they do this rise early on but I wonder....you said she was eating a lot more. I am thinking perhaps the extra eating is causing her BG to rise...like a food spike we see at +1? I could be way off but just a thought.
 
Since Tifil is eating more now, it could be helpful to note in her SS when she's eating - that may help track whether or not the food is affecting her numbers. You can just put an asterik in the column where she has food, and note what type and how much. By doing this, you may start seeing a trend and can adjust her feedings accordingly.

Still, though, after all she's been through, it is great to hear she's eating with such enthusiasm, and it's wonderful that she testing negative for ketones today!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top