01/21 Old Timer's Caturday Report ~ ALEX

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jill & Alex (GA)

Member Since 2009
good morning, LL! :-D

things have been busy in Alex's world since i last checked in. we changed meters and alex ruptured an anal sac. neither of which has been much fun. :?
along with switching from the freestyle lite meter with the "new" strips came increases in dose and the anal sac issue required numerous trips to the vet... not something Alex enjoys!

on the upside, our vet introduced us to laser therapy. i found this absolutely fascinating! laser therapy uses energy to take away pain, kill bacteria, and heal by promoting new cell growth. Alex is healing nicely from the laser therapy and daily hydro therapy (a fancy name for getting her butt rinsed with a warm spray of water until the arms of the bean are scratched enough to cause profuse bleeding). oh, and growling is required for this process to be most effective! :roll:

numbers have been wonky the last couple of weeks with all this going on, but should be under control soon.


on the bean front...
DH continues to do very, very well. he's passed recent tests with flying colors! things are finally getting back to "normal"... whatever that is. i think i've forgotten. :lol:

have a great weekend everyone!
 
Morning Jill and Alex!

Meter switching - what fun! Sorry about the anal sac issue... that one hits home: Elsa here, my civvie, has had impacted ones, and ongoing issue with her. So far, no rupture, no surgery for sac removal. I hope Alex continues to recover well. Love the hydro therapy. :shock: and omg - somehow I can envision the scene. None of mine would be too thrilled with that either. Wow on the laser therapy - sounds fascinating!

I am glad that DH continues to improve, and that things are back to normal. All good news!

Happy Caturday!
 
So sorry about the sac issue...we went through it last December with our civvie, Zen...definitely not a good time! I'm glad she's healing nicely, DH continues to improve, and things are back to normal!
 
What a totally Goood all round report!! So glad Alex is better & Thrilled that DH is doing so well!!
We all miss you but we know you are helping your loves & that is what we all would do!
Sending Hugs & Love from us & continued Healing vines to both DH & Alex--
What a hi tech cat you are Alex!! Laser treatments!! WOW!!-Be good to your bean, it's for your own good!! :mrgreen:
 
What a totally Goood all round report!! So glad Alex is better & Thrilled that DH is doing so well!!
We all miss you but we know you are helping your loves & that is what we all would do!
Sending Hugs & Love from us & continued Healing vines to both DH & Alex--
What a hi tech cat you are Alex!! Laser treatments!! WOW!!-Be good to your bean, it's for your own good!! :mrgreen:
 
The anal sac rupture sounds incredibly painful for poor Alex. :sad: I know how painful the meter switch can be for the bean. :?

On the other hand I am very happy to hear of your DH's progress. I'm glad normal is setting in again! :-D
 
Hi Jill

Nice to have a report on all the family. So glad to hear about your DH. Wonderful news.

Sorry to hear about poor Alex. OUCHIE on the anal sac. I've heard about the laser treatments. Wonderful stuff.
 
Oh, poor Alex! And poor scratched bean! :lol:

Good to hear from you Jill, glad DH is doing well! Great news! My vet has just started offering laser therapy too, we are considering it for our drooler who has joint issues.
 
Hi Jill,
We are so glad that Mike is doing so well. Great news! And it sounds like poor Alex (and poor you) have been through a rough patch, but that healing is going on. Interesting about the lazer therapy.
After the latest big discussion on the FreeStyleLite (butterfly strips) we decided to follow your example and switch back to the Relion Micro. I thought it would make a difference in Rusty's numbers, but it appears not to have--at least not an appreciable difference. Thank you for undertaking those meter comparisons!

Continuing to send good, positive thoughts to you all.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
I'd say overall that is a pretty good report!! I'm sorry that Alex had the ruptured anal sac....painful I am sure but I'm enthralled with the laser therapy. How great is that?

Hope you have lots of neosporin with pain relief for those scratches :shock: :lol: :lol:

And it's wonderful to hear that Mike is doing so well.

I have to admit that we in LL have a totally different definition of the word "normal" than most :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have a wonderful weekend.
 
Yay! An update on Mike! I've been watching and wondering what was going on but afraid to ask. Thank GOD he's okay and doing better. That's wonderful.

Poor Alex. OMG. The butt spraying treatment sounds difficult!!!! Geez. Poor Alex and poor you. I hope it gets better soon so she can stop growling and scratching you.... :roll:
 
Thanks for being there this morning Jill, you and Marje caught me just in time - phew!

Great information in your profile too, I'm going to print up a copy of the Kitty CPR info to have at home and review regularly.
 
Ouch, Alex! oooohh, that sounds painful :sad:

sounds like things are going well overall...so great to hear about Mike :-D

It's amazing that you mention the kitty bath here today, because I JUST GOT A VIDEO OF ME BATHING A CAT!!

Serendipity, eh? So take a look at my method...hope this is helpful...

Funny_-_wash.gif-.gif
 
what a wonderful report, jill! well, not so much on the anal sac rupture *yikes* but glad that mike & your life are getting back to normal.

cat_pet_icon scritches to the little girl!
 
thanks to everyone for stopping by!

it looks like we've reached the right dose since switching meters:

amps 113 (2.5u) 4th cycle
+6.5 73
+10.25 74
pmps 53 (2.5u) 5th cycle
+6.5 83

not a bad day! we could live with this. :mrgreen:

ni-ni LL!
 
Sorry to be so late to see your condo. poor Alex on the renal sac and poor you on the treatment. Those numbers are looking really nice now.

Vines to Alex and continued vines to DH too, glad to hear he is doing so much better. :-D
 
Hello Jill! It's been such a long time since I said hello...

I'm sorry to see that your little Alex had to go through this but happy to see it's getting better!

On my part, life had been hard on me in some aspects for the last couple of years and it's still is but things will settle down one day and I can see that coming! :)

I'll need to refresh my knowledge (or in fact re-learn) about insulin and cat diabetes as it seems my friend will finally start insulin for her cat shortly. She might not start with Lantus though. We'll see! As she doesn't really speak English, I might be back on the board if she really starts!

So back to you, hope that things continue to improve for your furry friend and the bean!

Take care,

Nathalie
 
Hi Jill hope Alex feels better soon from the anal sac rupture sending more healing vines for everyone :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon

I have to add happy you switched meters
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top