01/21 J.D. Dental PMPS HI, +5.5 86, +6.5 69

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental **Update 3** then bedtime

We have a chart with Zener and Tillie meds. It really helps to keep track. And makes it easier when we see the progress. :-D More vines for J.D. Hugs to you, Dyana.
Liz
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental **Update 3** then bedtime

Sending lots of heal fast vines to J.D. The cats do learn to eat without teeth. The shelter I worked at we had a cat who had to have all her teeth removed at once, she learned to eat just fine. Have a good sleep Dyana.
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental **Update 3** then bedtime

Dyana:

Anesthesia can cause some cats to have a paradoxical reaction. Instead of being sedated as they come out the the anesthetic, they get agitated. This can happen with bupe, as well. Just give J.D. time to work the drugs out of his system. Sometimes a dimly lit room and quiet will help.
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental **Update 3** then bedtime

Dyana

Sorry to be so late but Sienne did track me down about the bupe. I don't remember how much JD weighs.

I have two concentrations of dupe. The .3mg/ml is a lower dose more for maintenance and I can give Gus (who weighs 9.5 lbs) anywhere from 0.1 - 0.25 mls every 8 hours. The more concentrated version which is for more acute pain is 1g/ml and I can give him 0.1 ml every three hours.

How much does JD weigh now? Sorry I forget but I believe it is more than Gus. Also...did they tell you the concentration of the bupe?

Sending him eating vines!!!
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental **Update 3** then bedtime

wow that's a lot of teeth pulled! Poor JD! Glad you got some bupe for the poor boy. His numbers sound good too! You are doing something right!!!

Get some sleep...hopefully JD will take a nice snooze too.
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental **Update 3** then bedtime

Hi Dyana,
Glad your home and JD got through OK. I just go home and saw your thread. They gave Boots .2 every 12
hrs., if that helps..she didn't have extractions, just that mass and they had to do stitches. She is 12 lb
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental **Update 3** then bedtime

((((Dyana and JD)))))

I"m so glad it's over and they found something that helps to likely explain J.D.'s fluctuations.
Paws crossed that his cycles will really improve after he recovers! :-D

Shadow had many teeth pulled 3 months before dx , including all her canines and she came home and could not sleep... She paced
and paced and couldn't find a good place to be... kept adjusting her position on the floor and just stared wildly.
I think the pain med really agitated her and overstimulated her... so the vet quickly adjusted it down so she would actually rest and sleep.
It's hard going as you do it but then it passes quickly.... it just doesn't feel quick in the moment it's occurring.

Speedy Healing Vines for J.D. so that it passes quickly!

So good to hear he's doing alright! Many comforting scritches for the brave patient! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental **Update 3** then bedtime

I'm so glad that you guys are back home .. J.D. will be ok .. mocha had 8 teeth extracted at her dental too, including both canines and she is just fine .. other then her tongue occasionally falling out :-D goodnight guys!
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental **Update 3** then bedtime

Swore I already posted this..it's probably on someones condo. :-/ Boot's was given .2mg's every 8-12 hrs
as needed. if that helps. She didn't any extractions, but she did have that mass removed and stitches.
She is 12lb. and that amount seems to be enough.
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental **Update 3** then bedtime

Sorry for the Late post! I am so glad J.D is ok & he did so well during his dental!!
Wow 8 teeth is a lot, but sounds like you went to a great place & they did a great job--
Just give the bupe at needed times & he will be fine..Both Moonie & Copper had many extractions, twice each, and both did very well..
Glad he is Well & it is over! I know how relieved you are--
SO Sending Healing Green dental Vines to dear J.D. and hope your toofies feel great really soon!
Hugs & Love from us!!!
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental **Update 3** then bedtime

Glad that the dental went smooth! Dont worry Dyana, Rosy got all her teeth removed & she's eating like a pig!
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental PMPS HI, +5.5 86

He's licking just a lick or two of HC gravy.
He doesn't want regular food yet.
And, I woke up, and he's still wandering around the house. :?
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental PMPS HI, +5.5 86

He's probably disoriented from the anesthesia. Wow on the drop...could be the anesthesia after effects. Hope you both get some rest. More eating vines.
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental PMPS HI, +5.5 86

Marje and Gracie said:
Dyana

Sorry to be so late but Sienne did track me down about the bupe. I don't remember how much JD weighs.

I have two concentrations of dupe. The .3mg/ml is a lower dose more for maintenance and I can give Gus (who weighs 9.5 lbs) anywhere from 0.1 - 0.25 mls every 8 hours. The more concentrated version which is for more acute pain is 1g/ml and I can give him 0.1 ml every three hours.

How much does JD weigh now? Sorry I forget but I believe it is more than Gus. Also...did they tell you the concentration of the bupe?

Sending him eating vines!!!
He's 12.5 pounds or so.
Both on the estimate and on the Discharge Paperwork it says the same thing Buprenex (Buprenorphine) 0.3mg/ml /ml
I don't know why the have the ml twice?
On the discharge papers is added "Give pre-filled syringe (0.37mls) sublingually three times a day as needed for pain."

Does the mg/ml /ml mean anything to you?
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental PMPS HI, +5.5 86

I think it is either a typo because bupe is compounded. There is .3mg of the narcotic in one ml of the suspension.

I think that dose is fine for him but on the middle to upper end of his range. I'd see how he does and if it doesn't make him groggy or really out of it, he should be fine with it. If it does, just decrease it. I wouldn't try and give it sublingually...just try to put it in a cheek pouch if you can get it there without it hurting. Just put in a little at a time.
 
Re: 01/21 J.D. Dental PMPS HI, +5.5 86

Marje and Gracie said:
I think it is either a typo because bupe is compounded. There is .3mg of the narcotic in one ml of the suspension.

I think that dose is fine for him but on the middle to upper end of his range. I'd see how he does and if it doesn't make him groggy or really out of it, he should be fine with it. If it does, just decrease it. I wouldn't try and give it sublingually...just try to put it in a cheek pouch if you can get it there without it hurting. Just put in a little at a time.
So it must be the lower maintenance level kind, then. My other "inj." buprenex (given for pancreatitis doesn't even say anything about mgs gs or mls.

Okay, by the end of the day (actually most of the day :lol: ) I was pretty tired and foggy headed from the stress, so tried to carry a note book and pen and take notes for each appointment. The last discharge appointmend had me confused as far as the bupe dosage. I asked them "How do I know if he's getting too much or too little?" and they kept trying to tell me that if he is eating he is getting enough, and if he is sleeping a lot/acting groggy/or not coming to me when called (not being responsive) he is not getting enough.
I don't understand this. I would think if he is groggy and out of it and not responsive that he is getting too much.
This is my confusion. Can you help to clear my foggy head on this?
 
I agree that if he is eating and acting normally, he's getting the right dose. If he's groggy, wobbly, and lethargic, I would think it's too much....that's how my cats act on the higher dose. If he's really quiet, not moving around (as opposed to lethargic) or not eating, then it could be too little because he's in pain.

I can tell a difference between when my cats are lethargic...and sleepy... because of too much pain med as opposed to just being quiet because they are in pain.

Doing ok with those dropping numbers?
 
He won't leave his water dish. He even lays down next to it. I think he loves it, more than me.
When I opened his carrier, he ran to his water fountain. I unplugged it, so he quits putting his whole head under the fountain spicket and getting his fur on his head all sopping wet.
 
Can you pick up his skin and see if it pops back into place? I wonder if the anesthesia dehydrated him...although it shouldn't have....they had him on IV fluids, right?
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I agree that if he is eating and acting normally, he's getting the right dose. If he's groggy, wobbly, and lethargic, I would think it's too much....that's how my cats act on the higher dose. If he's really quiet, not moving around (as opposed to lethargic) or not eating, then it could be too little because he's in pain.

I can tell a difference between when my cats are lethargic...and sleepy... because of too much pain med as opposed to just being quiet because they are in pain.

Doing ok with those dropping numbers?
Yeah, I'm okay with the dropping numbers. I guess the board's going to go down soon, anyways.

I guess he's still in pain then, since he's not eating and not sleeping.
I'm Praying for J.D. to eat a lot better, tomorrow.
He's supposed to get another dose of bupe at 3:30am (2 and 1/2 hours from now), so maybe that will help him. I don't think he's slept much yet.

Have a good night Marje. Thanks for helping.
 
I can't imagine...eight teeth removed! Poor JD but once he gets over this pain, he will feel so much better! I can't wait to see what his BG does when he's feeling better.

Hope you get some rest. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
I believe he had them before, during, and after. That's what I kept asking for, if his heart was okay, which it was.
I noticed his nose was real dry. I've never noticed that before.

His skin goes back down fine, although he was standing up, and pretty much slinks to the ground on his belly when I try to pinch the skin by his shoulder blades. I opened his mouth a little to try to feel his gums, but didn't want to hurt them.
They look wet and pink. I'm afraid to hurt his gums (I didn't say earlier, that there were lots of roots left in from the last dental he had in 2009, and the doctor this time chose to leave them there as the gums had healed over them), but the insides of his lips are moist. I think he's okay.

I'll see you in the morning.
 
Hi Dyana,
Boot's dose was also in the syringe and to be put under the tongue. I can really tell when Boot's needs a dose,
also one time I don't think I got it under the tongue enough. When she needs the pain med. she won't
eat and is much more to herself. She also complains when I move her the check her BS's. When she's
properly medicated she's little more tired but relaxed and not nervous. Her doses are smaller I think, than JD's, so I don't
know what too much of the drug looks like, except the first night when she came home. I kept her in her
crate the first two hours because I thought she was going to fall or do something stupid like try and go down the
stairs.
 
((Dyana)) ((JD)) just wanted to stop by and say hi and offer healing vines to JD! Wow 8 teeth! Hope all goes well tonight and you are able to get the week off. tAke care!
 
Thanks Shelly. J.D. just finally left his water non running fountain and jumped up on he couch and looks like he's nodding off a little. I think I'll still give him his dose at 3:30am (in a couple hours) and then see how it goes tomorrow.
I closed the door to the basement, so he won't go down the stairs, and I closed my bedroom door, so he won't jump up and down off my high bed, but I can't control the couch jumping.

Michelle, he had 8 teeth out his last dental too in 2009. He has 3 canines left, I think 2 little tiny incisors, and a molar or two or three. I hope my boss is in a good mood tomorrow morning :smile:
 
Stocking a pile of books to serve as steps for JD to access can help too. That's what I did for my old civvies.
Sending get better vines to JD!
 
Well between Boots and Hannah (my daughter) I'll be up and down tonight... so if the boards up and I'm
up, I'll check in.. since we are both dealing with our drugged diabetic kittys
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top