Re: 01/20 Gentle AMPS 206
I'm permanently sleep deprived so I completely understand the caution late at night. It also sounds like you're juggling a LOT and you're right, it can be and often is physically, and certainly emotionally, daunting.
I think it's helpful to differentiate between low numbers and a symptomatic hypo. I don't know if you followed Baby's condo her first day here when her bean accidentally shot 5u vs. 0.5u. Even with a serious OD, Baby was not symptomatic. (There was a fair amount of HC and dextrose/syrup being fed, though.) My point is that you can manage the lower numbers with food, just as you're doing. My concern is that it looks like Gentle may be telling you that less insulin is needed. If you cut the cycle short with MC or HC food, you won't give him the opportunity to reach those numbers and you won't be decreasing his dose, as a result.
If you have a chance, follow Putty/Miriam's condo for a while. Putty has been diabetic for over a year so would need to earn decreases with numbers below 40. Miriam is a pro at managing Putty's numbers plus, because Putty went OTJ early and fell off the wagon, she really makes Putty earn decreases plus drops her doses in very small increments. Her approach with Putty may be a good model for you with Gentle given some of your concerns.
For me, I let Gabby's numbers dictate where we go. I don't have a goal or a set number of cycles in mind at any particular dose. I was driving myself nutty and getting hugely disappointed when I was feeling pressed to see Gabby's numbers come down or if I had to increase her dose when a reduction didn't hold. I'm letting her take the lead in this dance. It makes me feel much better! I've also become comfortable in dealing with the lower numbers. I think it's a matter of going through that a few times and realizing just how well the high octane food works.