01/19 - Ti-Mousse - AMPS: 378 - +6 : 202 - PMPS : 686

Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

Member Since 2018
Previous condo 01/18
Changing color :) ALMOST IN THE BLUES - that's the lowest ever!! And at PMPS: it's the HIGHEST :woot: maybe Wonkiness; poor little sweety going through this UP and DOWN. Hopefully it'll be better and more stable tomorrow...

With the new dosage, I find it hard to set it exactly because of the plunger; it doesn't slide smoothly. I'm using BD ultra fine syringes and move the plunger back and forth couple of times before drawing insulin from the vial. It's not easy to stop at 2.75 when the plunger doesn't cooperate!

Going through the STICKIES, I saw a video from Marje explaining how to dose with digital calipers, so I bought one yesterday. I'm sure it'll be easier when I get the hang of it and at least, I'll have consistent dosages!
 
Last edited:
It took me a while to get used to the calipers, but they really help with the dosing.
 
Good to hear T-Mousse is playing! That's the most important thing, How he feels :D

Give a few days to see if this new dose is going to get him into better Bg :):bighug:
Great weekend.png
 
Can you TRY to get some tests in +5 & +8 ? The Information is important. Lantus insulin often drops the lowest at night. Think of the spreadsheet as a puzzle. Try to fill in the spaces little by little.:)
 
Woohoo, almost blue! :)

I second the suggestion to mix up the timing of the mid cycle tests, if you are home and able to do so. Kitties can be random as to their low points. And if it was me, I’d want to see if he was going to hit that blue after all.

For the syringes, I found it easier to twist the plunger instead of pushing it, better control of the speed.
 
Woohoo, almost blue! :)

I second the suggestion to mix up the timing of the mid cycle tests, if you are home and able to do so. Kitties can be random as to their low points. And if it was me, I’d want to see if he was going to hit that blue after all.

For the syringes, I found it easier to twist the plunger instead of pushing it, better control of the speed.

Interesting for the syringes, I'll try twisting. And for testing for the AM cycle, starting tomorrow I'll try +4 and +8; for the PM cycle, I'll stick for the +3 right now until I'm able to change his schedule.

For his dental treatment, I was waiting for the vet to call me back after my message of Tuesday morning; she finally left me a message Friday afternoon saying: she wasn't sure if I got the training to use the glucometer, if I did she would like me to do a curve to see if Ti-Mousse needs a change in dosage; otherwise, to call the clinic to get trained on how to use the glucometer!!! Second thing, she will not do any dental cleaning and extractions unless his diabetes is well regulated and under special conditions only!

How can she believe I’m giving insulin twice a day since December without doing any testing…. It scares me just thinking I could have left myTi-Mousse going into surgery with her!!

Now I have to find a good vet (unfortunately it’s not written on their forehead) and where I live now there isn’t that many clinics and she is the co-owner of two on them. So let’s go shopping!
 
Can you TRY to get some tests in +5 & +8 ? The Information is important. Lantus insulin often drops the lowest at night. Think of the spreadsheet as a puzzle. Try to fill in the spaces little by little.:)
OK for testing for the AM cycle, starting tomorrow I'll try +4 and +8; for the PM cycle, I'll stick for the +3 right now until I'm able to change his schedule. When I do a puzzle now, I always think of you and my question is : when do you sleep? how can you manage all that testing? for me, just because of a +3 in the PM cycle, (used to go to bed early) I'm falling asleep in the afternoon wherever I am :facepalm: , quite embarrassing :)!!
 
OK for testing for the AM cycle, starting tomorrow I'll try +4 and +8; for the PM cycle, I'll stick for the +3 right now until I'm able to change his schedule. When I do a puzzle now, I always think of you and my question is : when do you sleep? how can you manage all that testing? for me, just because of a +3 in the PM cycle, (used to go to bed early) I'm falling asleep in the afternoon wherever I am :facepalm: , quite embarrassing :)!!
You just do the best you can. I took care of all of Lou's testing and insulin doses for nearly the first year after his diagnosis. I work 4 10-hour days a week, so I used my 3 days off to get extra tests in. I would just change things up as needed: +3s and +5s, then +4s and +6s, always a before bed test (which was usually at +3). I would set alarms for middle-of-the-night tests as needed. Eventually you get to know how your kitty handles their insulin and you can plan accordingly. Ever since we switched to a depot insulin (we started with Basaglar, now on Levemir), I had my husband learn how to test (Lou never let him previously). We have opposite schedules so it's easier to test more frequently. Ti-Mousse is soo close to a blue, so I hope he surprises you today. Hang in there! You may not feel like it, but you are doing awesome! Remember that! :bighug::bighug:
 
I used calipers with the BD's, and used 1.5mm as my measure of the one unit. I used the little arms of the calipers, used for measuring the insides of things for measuring, so I could fit inside the ring on the outside of bottom of the syringe.
 
I used calipers with the BD's, and used 1.5mm as my measure of the one unit. I used the little arms of the calipers, used for measuring the insides of things for measuring, so I could fit inside the ring on the outside of bottom of the syringe.
OK, that's what I'm using 1.5mm. For the arms, I tried the big ones but couldn't fit with my syringe type, so I thaught the small arms were not there for nothing... ; still looking how to use them...:( I'll find out. hopefully :)
 
she wasn't sure if I got the training to use the glucometer, if I did she would like me to do a curve to see if Ti-Mousse needs a change in dosage; otherwise, to call the clinic to get trained on how to use the glucometer!!!

What in tarnation?!?!?!?

What's to be trained in using a glucometer? If the glucometer gives you a number after touching blood you're doing it right. It's the interpreting of it that might need some learning but no need to go in for "training".

Second thing, she will not do any dental cleaning and extractions unless his diabetes is well regulated and under special conditions only!

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

That may as well be never if his teeth aren't fixed.

I might be a just a little worked up after reading your vet's response. I want so badly to somehow teleport you and Ti-Mousse to where I live and get you his dental done TOMORROW! Okay, maybe Tuesday because on Sundays we don't do surgeries and Monday is all booked up. :p

Good luck on finding a new vet!!! If you have to travel further to find one, I'd say it's worth it.
 
Calipers are great. You are doing very well, Lyane. Looks like a bounce tonight from that 202. To be expected.
Good luck in finding a better vet.
Hey! how's little Gus ???
As for the vet, that's a problem ... but to each one, there's a solution!! My Ti-Mousse is always so high (pmps 686; +3 : 585) after low numbers; I think I might wait a little while before increasing to the next dose for his system to get more use to this.. I don't know; I'll see what the experts say ! Is little Gus sleeping with you ??
 
What in tarnation?!?!?!?

What's to be trained in using a glucometer? If the glucometer gives you a number after touching blood you're doing it right. It's the interpreting of it that might need some learning but no need to go in for "training".



:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

That may as well be never if his teeth aren't fixed.

I might be a just a little worked up after reading your vet's response. I want so badly to somehow teleport you and Ti-Mousse to where I live and get you his dental done TOMORROW! Okay, maybe Tuesday because on Sundays we don't do surgeries and Monday is all booked up. :p

Good luck on finding a new vet!!! If you have to travel further to find one, I'd say it's worth it.
I was really pissed off and I'm still is; I wish she had told me all this in November when she DX Ti-Mousse and Caninsulin was the only option; I didn't know better at that time but searched a lot; I gave her all the documentation about Romp&Rand protocol and Lantus studies and told her I intended to go that way; I thought she would take advantage of this and be more open to a new way of treating diabetes. I was wrong. I looked for help and found this forum and because all of you, Ti-Mousse would not be where he is right now, aiming for remission, he's far from it, but we'll get there :)
 
I think I might wait a little while before increasing to the next dose for his system to get more use to this.
The goal should be regulation which means mostly green numbers. Only there will Ti-Mousse’s body get a chance to recover. Six cycles at a dose is enough to fill the depot and tell you what a dose can do, provided you are testing enough like you do. I suspect he will need another 0.25 increase in another day. Letting him get used to slightly lower high numbers is not the way to do it. Just follow the Tight Regulation Protocol.
 
The goal should be regulation which means mostly green numbers. Only there will Ti-Mousse’s body get a chance to recover. Six cycles at a dose is enough to fill the depot and tell you what a dose can do, provided you are testing enough like you do. I suspect he will need another 0.25 increase in another day. Letting him get used to slightly lower high numbers is not the way to do it. Just follow the Tight Regulation Protocol.
Thank you for putting me back on track!
 
I was really pissed off and I'm still is; I wish she had told me all this in November when she DX Ti-Mousse and Caninsulin was the only option; I didn't know better at that time but searched a lot; I gave her all the documentation about Romp&Rand protocol and Lantus studies and told her I intended to go that way; I thought she would take advantage of this and be more open to a new way of treating diabetes. I was wrong. I looked for help and found this forum and because all of you, Ti-Mousse would not be where he is right now, aiming for remission, he's far from it, but we'll get there :)

Olive's previous vet was like that. Vetsulin or N insulin. Before I knew about FDMB I had already had Smokey a year. No testing, up to 5 units. Well one night landed me here. Vet new nothing about lantus, it was human insulin so would not use it.

I had to get lantus off market and the peeps here helped me understand it. Next time I saw vet I showed him the ss and results don't lie. He tested Smokey with his meter, I tested we compared and sent sample to lab to verify both meters. He was shocked on all fronts. Now it's his preferred insulin to script. I had to show him how to use the pen, how to store it etc. He was willing to learn. I wish he would with Olive regarding the levemir and caber,
 
Olive's previous vet was like that. Vetsulin or N insulin. Before I knew about FDMB I had already had Smokey a year. No testing, up to 5 units. Well one night landed me here. Vet new nothing about lantus, it was human insulin so would not use it.

I had to get lantus off market and the peeps here helped me understand it. Next time I saw vet I showed him the ss and results don't lie. He tested Smokey with his meter, I tested we compared and sent sample to lab to verify both meters. He was shocked on all fronts. Now it's his preferred insulin to script. I had to show him how to use the pen, how to store it etc. He was willing to learn. I wish he would with Olive regarding the levemir and caber,
Finding a good vet is not easy !
 
Back
Top