01/19 J.D. PMPS 393, +3 360 need vines please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

My plan was to get up at 11:00pm to give J.D. Bupe, since he had his last dose yesterday at 3:00pm, but I did not wake up to my alarm until 1:30am, and by then I figured (in my sleepy mind) that it was too late. He was eating a little then.
My plan was to give it at 3:00pm, 11:00pm, and 7:00am.
So, since I messed up, I waited until this morning.

At 6:00am, I told him it was shot time, and he got up a few minutes after I did. I offered him some food and he would not eat. I gave him his Bupe and Cerenia (which he hasn't had since Thursday). New plan for Bupe is 6:00am, 2:00pm, and 10:00pm (10:00pm is easier for me to stay awake until).
After his shot he went back into the bed room.
I mixed 1/3 capsule of Ultimate Flora into some FF Turkey & Giblets Kitten, and went back into the bedroom. He had given me a perfect normal sized solid poo on my bedroom carpet.

He will eat Ginger's cat treats just fine. I am just waiting for him to eat cat food.

I lowered his dose by .10mm this morning and am calling it s1.00. I don't know if that reduction is enough.

Today, and tomorrow, I have all day to get him to eat. If this was Tuesday and I had to go to work, I would be totally nervous about leaving him.

Come on J.D. eat, so we can go btb.
 
Re: 01/19 J.D. AMPS 434

Morning Dyana,

Sending appy vines for J.D. Come on sweet boy, eat your fuds, they are yummy!
Enjoy the btb, if J.D. allows it. Glad you have some time off to take care of your boy :smile:
 
Re: 01/19 J.D. AMPS 434

I hope the new bupe schedule works out and J.D. will start eating good for you. Yay for the perfect poo. Sorry it was on the carpet.
 
Re: 01/19 J.D. AMPS 434

J.D. is not feeling well. Maybe I gave him air instead of Bupe this morning. His next dose is not due for another half hour. He ate 1/3 jar of baby food with some probiotic at around +2.5 and another 1/3 jar at +5. He shared a slice of roast beef with Ginger. I just syringed a little MaxCal.

Please send feel better vines to J.D.

Thanks.
 
Re: 01/19 J.D. AMPS 434, +2.75 417, +5 281, +6.25 274

J.D. seems to be feeling better now. Now, I have to wonder if it's because the bupe is wearing off and he was acting out of it because of the bupe. It's so hard to tell.
 
Re: 01/19 J.D. AMPS 434, +2.75 417, +5 281, +6.25 274

I'm glad he's feeling better, but continuing to send along prayers!
 
Re: 01/19 J.D. AMPS 434, +2.75 417, +5 281, +6.25 274

Thanks Amy. He still needs them.
I hope he eats better tonight.
 
Re: 01/19 J.D. PMPS 393

He ate practically all of his 1st Dinner (1/4 can) of FF Chunky Turkey. I then tried to add some Ultimate Flora and get him to eat some more but he would have nothing to do with it.
He ate about 1/8 can of Great Choice Beef in a fresh bowl at +0.75. Okay, I guess maybe he licked up all the juice from it.
 
Re: 01/19 J.D. PMPS 393

I'm continuing to send appy and feel better vines for J.D. :YMHUG: Sorry about the poo location, but at least it was normal.

I like seeing JD start a couple floors down today too.
 
Re: 01/19 J.D. PMPS 393

Thank you very much.
I ended up giving him some ondansetron and cypro and he ate most of his 2nd Dinner.

I really kind of wanted to see him eat on his own without the meds and to save them for when I have to go to work and leave him.

Do you agree with how much I lowered his dose from 1.20mm to 1.10mm? It's not much. When I go to work, if he isn't eating, I'll be freaking.

My boss said something about one day getting access from home to the computer systems at work, so we can work from home if we need to. I can't wait.

I am off to go visit my elderly neighbor.
 
J.D. just pooed a pretty much formed but wet and very stinky poo.
I then syringed some more MaxCal with some Ultimate Flora in it.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to get this probiotic in him? He ate his 1st Dinner, and his 2nd I added the Ultimate Flora and he would not eat it.

I just wish he would feel better and eat and get over this pancreatitis flare. I just gave him his 3rd dose of Bupe for the day. I can give him Flagyl that will help with the diarrhea. I just want him to feel better.
Your support and vines are needed..please.
 
Sending more vines...

ETA - I know Sienne has mentioned other probiotics - pearls, maybe??? At least I'm pretty sure it was Sienne. It sounds like J.D. might not like this version of FortiFlora, so maybe another would be better.
 
Thanks Amy.
FortiFlora doesn't help him when he has a flare of pancreatitis. I am giving or trying to give him the Ultimate Flora Critical Care. He has been really gasey.
When I give him Flagyl, it tends to stop him up for days, but it works.
 
would it work if you put it in a capsule and poked it down his throat? i think you can buy empty capsules at a pharmacy. we have a compounding pharmacy here in town that sells them.

wish i had some great advice for you, but it sounds like you are doing everything possible for the little guy. continuing to send our best wishes and thoughts for mr JD to feel better and eat up! he's so lucky to have you!

do you give him fluids?

:YMHUG:
 
(((Dyana & J.D.)))
Sending tons of feel better and eating vines to J.D.
Please eat, J.D....

Like Julie mentioned, I use gel capsules to pill bitter meds when she's not eating.
I think any compounding pharmacy sells them, and they're really cheap, and you don't have to buy 100 of them like when you buy online.
I just asked for the smallest ones, and then I chop the end of the inside capsule to make them even smaller.

Lucy always feels better after sub-q fluids when she's having a pancreatitis flare.
I know that cats with heart conditions shouldn't get too much fluids, and I'm not sure what other conditions there are that you need to be cautious about giving sub-q fluids.
But if your vet agrees and you are not giving fluids, I think it might help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top