01/19 bailey uk. amps 297 +9 79 can someone shed light on his ss!

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-yoghurt-given-alphatrak.131466/#post-1352049

what a great day for bailey today but hes all over the place! is this normal/usual for a kitty to go from 9.5u to 4.75u in such a short period of time and still be all over the place like this. I daren't higher his dose with working and him getting these lows. il bet ur bottom dollar it wont be long before im dropping dose again. I don't ever expect him to go into remisiion cos of all the ridiculous highs and him being out of control but why is he coming down that dosing scale like this?
 
Perhaps you have broken through some glucose toxicity or insulin resistance?

Are you on Lantus or Levemir? It isn't in your signature.

If Lantus, perhaps there is a duration issue and Levemir would be less bouncy. Maybe. It the moon is aligned right. ...
 
Wow, Anna, that is amazing! I have no answers for you, but I'm sure some of the smarter people will be along soon to help. Is there anything else that has changed in his life since he was at those high doses?

Oops, there's BJM, one of the best. I'll just say congrats on the progress and keep doing what you're doing!
 
"Normal" isn't a word we use much around here......LOL

Since kitties refuse to read the manual on how this is supposed to work, about all we can do is watch the numbers and do what they tell us!

Great that Bailey's doing so much better on so much less insulin :)

I remember she tried Levemir....Bailey reverted back to hiding and acting like he felt really crummy so she went back to Lantus
 
yes he was poorly like really poorly. not eating hiding under the radiator not wanting to know on lev so we switched back.....and now look. weve just got a 79 at +9. hes just all over the place. I guess its good. hes feeling good, good numbers, eating fine, poopying,weeing fine. NOTHING has changed in our lives at all here so ive no idea whats going on.lol just a 'normal' day here ;-)
 
Last edited:
There are certainly kitties that come down the dose ladder and are still bouncy. Dragging out my notoriously inaccurate crystal ball, though, I want to think strategically. If Bailey keeps getting dose reductions and we don't try to help the cycle flatten out, getting to the point where your kitty is ready for an OTJ trial could be complicated. I'm thinking that we may want to try a technique or two to help things along.

First, I would try to not allow Bailey to get dose reductions. You're already good at trying to figure out if Bailey is aiming for a reduction and you will test when you're sensing drops in numbers. I'd suggest testing in 30 min. vs an hour if you think he's heading in that direction. If numbers are dropping, intervene with HC to prevent the dose reduction. The idea is to start seeing more normal range numbers and fewer spikes at pre-shot.

Alternatively, there is a strategy that is used on the German Lantus forum. Cats there do not get a dose reduction unless they meet one of the following conditions:

  • numbers drop below 40;
  • the cat is in normal numbers (but mostly green) for a week;
  • the numbers drop into the 40 - 50 range three times.
The idea is that the cat is spending more time in number ranges that help the pancreas to heal.

Let us know what you think.
 
oh that's really good to know. do you honestly think though he could or there be a potential for him to go OTJ. like I cant even imagine that happening but its all abit odd isn't it. I and he doesn't bother about testing so if im home I could easily do every 30 mins. my huge concern is I work shifts and im back full time on wed and sometimes out of the house for 8 hours s id be terrified of hi going so low while im out! this sugardance is tough isn't it! im doing my very best for my boy and have been at this for nearly 2 years but weve NEVER been on this lower dose EVER!
 
I work full time, as well. I'm only suggesting to test more often if you think Bailey is angling for a decrease. You don't need to test that frequently on a regular basis.

Will Bailey eat when you're not around? A timed feeder can help to keep you from worrying overly much when you're not home. If you can't track one down, you can make "catsickles." You mix enough water with canned food to make it soupy and then freeze the food in an ice cube tray or anything that will allow you to make portions. You can leave several out for when you're at work.

I don't know if OTJ is possible (hence my notoriously inaccurate crystal ball). I use the same techniques with Gabby even though the chance of her going into remission after 5 years are slim to none. What it has allowed me to do is to get a very bouncy, dive prone cat into much flatter numbers that are largely below renal threshold.
 
oh well you've done great! :-D im lucky, my boys a grazer,always has been but he doesn't eat much while im out. 90% of the time I get home at lunch so its 4 hours away, 1 hour home then 4 hours away so gives me chance to sort fresh food out and I make sure hes eaten. this is all unbelievable really. a year ago I honestly thought he was dying but not anymore my little mischievious rascal ;-)
 
It'd be a tough schedule, but I'm wondering it TID shooting would help smooth his curves out a bit. If its a no go for your schedule, don't worry about it. It'd be an experiment.
 
ooo eck! the same dose that hes on every 8 hours??how does that work then? with him going low at the end of the cycle.would he be ok? sorry so many questions. bet you wished youd never mentioned it.ha
 
You would take the total daily dose from the current 2 shots and divide the amount by 3, giving 1/3 at each shot.
 
I think i'd try Sienne's suggestion of holding up his nadirs for a while - even doing that for a few days can make a difference in some cats.

Looking great, Anna!
 
As Chris said, there isn't much in the way of "normal" around here. As an extreme case, Cobb - who tested positive for IAA, was at 31U of Lantus at the beginning of August last year. He switched to Levemir at and today is at 5.0U. Cobb's IAA is a type of insulin resistance and it's breaking big time.

I really like Sienne's idea of trying to see if you can keep Bailey in better numbers longer to try to train the pancreas/liver that green is OK. Neko's spreadsheet for the first year looked a lot like Bailey's, very colourful. :rolleyes: What I found really helped was to try to get her surfing the green as long as possible, instead of a quick dip into green and back up again. You may have to play with food a little bit. When you first seem him getting into green on the AlphaTrak, around below 135 ish, then give him a little bit of low carb food to see if you can encourage surfing. Maybe there's a medium carb food that will get him up just a little bit when he's getting into the 70's and 80's, without getting him up too high, that will keep him from dropping below 68.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top