01-19-20 Salem PMPS 136

Tina and Salem

Member Since 2019

G
ood Morning ! I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend !
Salems back on board again doing more greens again . I just hope after 3-4 days he does just as good hopefully he won’t go down too low . I’m hoping to keep him above 70-80 I feel safe at those numbers like I said before . I keep reading 80-120 are good numbers . I even read 120-300 is a stable diabetic cat . I dnt know??... above 200 isn’t good for me . before we got salem started on insulin with food alone to control his BGs he was in the 200s everyday then he ended up DKA before we got him on the insulin . So those numbers are not safe everyday .
Thanks for the suggestions on getting rid of the fleas. They are almost gone . Just a flea or two that’s enough to get them started again though . I dnt see them in my carpet . You use to could see them jump on me but not anymore. . My oldest brother has only one cat . He lives in a two story cap cod takes a lot pride in keeping it up . He came to me one day asking me , you got three cats do you get fleas on the cats when they dnt go outside ? He said he paid a man to spray he’s home for $50 a floor but then the man said its a process cause the fleas stages . He told Ronald I have to come back again to finish up . I have to come two more times to completely get rid of them ? He thought the man was just out to make money off of him . I said no Ronald it is hard to get rid of fleas it is a process cause of the stages of fleas and their eggs to get rid of them he’s correct . He said I’m so embarrass I said it’s not a cleanliness thing Ronald it just happens if you have pets when you fed your dogs or just go outside your bringing them in the house they are all in the yard too that’s where it starts . If you just got a yard they start there .
They survive on our pets blood though . Looks like I Got an active cycle this morning ! Lets hope we stay steady ,,, flat all day until we go up in the evening .
Have a great day hope your kitties surf safely !


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-18-20-salem-pmps-116.224456/#post-2511773
 
Last edited:
I’m hoping I found salems sweet spot ! I’m hoping I’m looking at this right ! He’s looking really great the last two days ! I hope this is it ! I hope we dnt bounce or find the sharks ! If so oh well we are learning ! Salems looking great feeling great ! I’m praying everyone does great today ! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::):):)
Let me Thank everyone so much once again for teaching me and supporting us ! I couldn’t have done this without y’all !!! Wishing you all many great things to come ! I’m blessed to have you all !! I have made alot of caring good people here ! Many new friends !
 
I have run across some people’s spreadsheet that have two different doses in each 12/12 cycle . I have also read about different insulin dosing on other websites ? Can anyone here explain that kind of dosing? I’m seeing Salems patterns as looking as though he needs a different dose in his pmps than he does in his amps . Does anyone have knowledge about this kind of dosing that you can explain to me how this works and why ?
Here’s a page I have been reading this morning on different kinds of multiple dosings in the same 12/12 cycle
https://www.straighthealthcare.com/insulin-dosing.html#goals
 
Nice surfing today. I'm glad you're getting rid of the fleas. With Lantus you need to have a consistent dose in the AM and PM because of the depot. If you change doses, you will constantly be draining the depot and filling it back up and won't really know how he is doing on a dose. With other insulin you may be able to do that, but not with Lantus. I don't have time to read the article right now.
 
With the dosing methods we use here, it’s important to shoot the same dose AM and PM. Yes there are other boards with other dosing methods, which we do not use here. We find changing the dose upsets the depot, making it harder to figure out how to change the dose. The article you linked is for humans, cats have different metabolisms. I also don’t see why you would want to dose Salem differently in the day vs. night. Nadirs are similar in both cycles.

As for ideal range of numbers, pancreatic healing happens in green. Depends if your goal is just regulation, or whether you’d eventually like to shoot for remission, but 50-100 are generally safe. The higher range of numbers you read may be either on a pet meter, or for people who do not home test. In that case, you need to keep the cat in higher numbers for safety.
 
now I’m back to 1.50 units because he’s BGs we’re going up ?
You might have increased a little quickly back to 1.5 units. If kitty is seeing green on a dose, typically we will hold a little longer, like 10 cycles. You saw some nadirs in the low 70's on the 1.25 units, so I would have held that dose a little longer. From the Dosing methods stick note
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
 
Oh well I made another oops again I guess I just learn from it . Thanks everyone . Tomorrow will be another day to start all over again . We live and we learn sorry Salem ..I’m just glad it wasn’t anything that hurt him or made him sick .
 
Back
Top