01/18 Walter AMPS 155 PMPS 541

Good morning Zelda, Thank goodness he's eating! I wonder what's up with our sweet Walter? Have you felt along his spine to see if there's any reaction? Arthritis? How's his pooing and peeing?
 
Good morning Zelda, Thank goodness he's eating! I wonder what's up with our sweet Walter? Have you felt along his spine to see if there's any reaction? Arthritis? How's his pooing and peeing?
Decreased pooping and peeing (but he hadn’t eaten or had anything to drink so I guess that makes sense). Just did the spine touch— nothing. I don’t think arthritis would come on so dramatically but—who knows? Yes, very relieved about the eating—even if it’s supercharged HC!
 
Freckles and I are glad to see you are eating better Walter. Wondering if his hind legs are stiff or he's walking kind of hunched over and making his back legs look stiff? His strides usual length?
 
Since Walter got his shot 2 hrs later last night, are you working your way back to his regular shot times by 15mts per cycle (or by a half hour once per day) to get back to his regular shot time?
 
Freckles and I are glad to see you are eating better Walter. Wondering if his hind legs are stiff or he's walking kind of hunched over and making his back legs look stiff? His strides usual length?
Good question-he definitely has a hunched over look. Strides are shorter then usual—
 
I'm glad Walter's home. I, too was worried he may have thrown a clot or slipped a disc. I wonder about neuroskeletal involvement...pinched nerve etc.
Beautiful AMPS Mr. Walter! Please be on your best behavior for momma today. She(and us all) is very worried about you! Surf safely sweet one.
Have a good day!
Thanks— what’s a clot?
 
But tonight, I have to leave at 6:45 and won’t be back until 10– I guess I need to give it to him before I leave?
Tonight's shot should be at 8:30, working back 15mts at a time, if you shoot at 6:45, there will be an overlap of today's shot and tonight's shot so it would act like an increase. I think we need to get some more experienced people to weigh in on this. I'm thinking a reduced shot for tonight, but not sure by how much. How is Walter feeling now?

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@Sue and Luci
@carfurby
 
Tonight's shot should be at 8:30, working back 15mts at a time, if you shoot at 6:45, there will be an overlap of today's shot and tonight's shot so it would act like an increase. I think we need to get some more experienced people to weigh in on this. I'm thinking a reduced shot for tonight, but not sure by how much. How is Walter feeling now?

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@Sue and Luci
@carfurby
He’s alert but clearly is not comfortable ( seems creaky). I think he might have pain when he walks.
 
I doubt this is a clot. A blood clot can be very dangerous since is can move around and block an artery.

Are you getting Walter in to see your regular vet? Did they do any X-rays at the ER? I'm wondering if Walter may have fallen and sprained something.
Waiting fir the Regular vet to call back and schedule me. I agree about the x-ray —they didn’t do it at the ER.
 
Waiting fir the Regular vet to call back and schedule me. I agree about the x-ray —they didn’t do it at the ER.
Waiting fir the Regular vet to call back and schedule me. I agree about the x-ray —they didn’t do it at the ER.
Ugh—just saw that the vet doesn’t open until 10am and snow is predicted to begin at 11
Waiting fir the Regular vet to call back and schedule me. I agree about the x-ray —they didn’t do it at the ER.
He doesn’t want to walk—lies down when I put him on all fours.
 
Sending vines for Walter to feel and walk better. I hope you can get him to the vet today. How far away is the vet? Can you get there by subway if the streets are too bad for driving? When we left the city for home yesterday they were only predicting 1-3 inches of snow in NYC today.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Decreased pooping and peeing (but he hadn’t eaten or had anything to drink so I guess that makes sense). Just did the spine touch— nothing. I don’t think arthritis would come on so dramatically but—who knows? Yes, very relieved about the eating—even if it’s supercharged HC!


My cats cervical / disc pain came on over the span of a day really- got worse overnight. I think cats in general don't read the rulebook on most things.
I hope Walter is his normal, happy self soon and whatever it is resolves. Sorry you two are having such a time right now.
:bighug:
 
Sending vines for Walter to feel and walk better. I hope you can get him to the vet today. How far away is the vet? Can you get there by subway if the streets are too bad for driving? When we left the city for home yesterday they were only predicting 1-3 inches of snow in NYC today.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Just got home from the vet— was hoping to return before the snow started but —too late. I don’t have a car so I take the subway— it’s about an hr but faster than a Lyft or Uber. The vet is mystified. He did a bunch of tests also an enema x-rays etc. etc. he did some basic bloodwork and some more extensive ones; the results from the latter will be ready next week. Meanwhile, Walter’s appetite is holding and he seems ok—except that he doesn’t want to walk and when he does, it’s painful to watch. :(
 
Just got home from the vet— was hoping to return before the snow started but —too late. I don’t have a car so I take the subway— it’s about an hr but faster than a Lyft or Uber. The vet is mystified. He did a bunch of tests also an enema x-rays etc. etc. he did some basic bloodwork and some more extensive ones; the results from the latter will be ready next week. Meanwhile, Walter’s appetite is holding and he seems ok—except that he doesn’t want to walk and when he does, it’s painful to watch. :(


Did he mention FCE or send the xrays out for interpretation by a specialist - or did he give you meds and suggest rest and a recheck?

Such a stressful Saturday for you guys. :bighug:
 
I hope they can figure out what is going on with Walter. I'm glad he is eating for you. I would not shoot 2 hours early tonight since you will be leaving. That's dangerous since it acts like an increase. If you think you'll have trouble getting back on track with your normal shot time by Monday when you have to go back to work, you can skip tonight and then shoot at your normal time tomorrow morning.
 
I hope they can figure out what is going on with Walter. I'm glad he is eating for you. I would not shoot 2 hours early tonight since you will be leaving. That's dangerous since it acts like an increase. If you think you'll have trouble getting back on track with your normal shot time by Monday when you have to go back to work, you can skip tonight and then shoot at your normal time tomorrow morning.
I’m off on Monday (MLK) so I’ll be home most of the day. So, I should skip tonight and go back to the original time tomorrow am?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-01-18 at 4.27.55 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-01-18 at 4.27.55 PM.png
    255.7 KB · Views: 118
No meds or mention of FCE or sending xrays out.
Yes—definitely stressful.


If they have digital xrays, they can usually send them out for a second option by a DVM who specializes in either Radiology or Internal medicine. It's Idexx Telemedicine Consult . If you are worried you could ask, but it depends on the type of radiographs they use , plus kitties don't always take purrfect pictures when they don't feel so good. I know if can be frustrating to feel like you did all the things and go no real answers.
 
Hi Zelda, how are you and Walter doing?
Well—doing ok. At least Walter is holding his head up which he hadn’t been doing last night. His back leg still seem to be hurting him and I’m wondering if I should get some Zobaline. The vet wasn’t confident that Walter has diabetic neuropathy— but when I watch him struggling to drink water because his haunches don’t seem to support him—I’m thinking that it is a possibility that it is dn. On another topic I think I might give Walter a small dose of insulin tonight depending on his numbers before I step out even though it’s before schedule. Just tested at 541
 
That's a bit better news. Did you see the video that Judy posted in your "Yesterday" thread? Every cat is different, this could be Walter's form of neuropathy. Leo was in really bad shape, regulation and Zobaline were a miracle fix for us.
 
Usually, neuropathy doesn't happen all of a sudden though. But it would certainly be worth trying Zobaline, it's a good B vitamin, Leo's still on it.
 
Usually, neuropathy doesn't happen all of a sudden though. But it would certainly be worth trying Zobaline, it's a good B vitamin, Leo's still on it.
His behavior had changed the past few weeks a little bit in that he was lying down more but I thought it was just age— maybe it was because his legs hurt? At any rate, I’ll order the Zobaline tonight.
 
Back
Top