01/18 Vyktor PMPS 216 +1 382 +3 473 mega bounce

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
I have some technology issues at home, my honey bunny Meg (a.k.a. you naughty girl) got behind the computer for all of 2 seconds and nipped through both the mouse and keyboard cords - think I really must get a laptop!

So a very quick update this morning as computer use at work is monitored. I can't access Google docs at all from here (blocked site) and being that I am in Perth, which is like a big country town, I'm not going to be able to replace mouse and keyboard until tomorrow night (morning for you guys) when we have late night shopping.

+ 7 last night was 302 but am pleased to report with his recent blue surfs the seven day average has come down from 17 point something to 15 point something - I can feel that dental coming on!

Celi, loved the frill necked kitty from the other day but unless you're in the mood for a bit more :shock: :shock: :shock: suggest you don't use the search term honey bunny today :lol: :lol: :lol:

Many thanks to Peter, Dyana, Sienne and Beth for the reassurance I needed last night and an extra thanks to Beth for link to e.g. lantus first month spreadsheet. I knew that existed and I had been meaning to track it down again to have a look so it was most convenient that you provided me with the link. Will have some questions about last nights situation later and what is means for us going forward but for now better log off and log on to a business site for a while to push FDMB down the list on my internet usage report!

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61284
 
Re: 01/18 Vyktor AMPS 317 +6 139

Technology problem solved since I came home for the lunch time test to be pleasantly surprised by a BG even lower than this time yesterday (thought he'd be bouncing) I snuck up to the shops and grabbed new mouse and keyboard between waiting to get a +7. Today I will also make sure I get a +10 and +11. Lucky I work on flexi time!

So it looks like I may be heading for a similar situation as last night tonight. I am hoping someone out there in LL is having trouble sleeping tonight (sorry for you, great for me!) and can help with advice before shot time (5 hours to go).

I can't prove it without anything between yesterdays +7 and PMPS but looks like he was still heading down at shot time. Are there any issues with shooting a decreasing number if we are still in blue territory? What if we have made it to green territory?

If he is still blue at PMPS should I shoot the full dose based on last nights action or would it be wiser to reduce a little like yesterday? What if he is green? My understanding is that I should shoot something unless he is under 50, or is it okay to shoot the full dose even if he is under 50 if I know, based on the +10 and +11 that the BG is rising? I note that I won't be able to take his food away until +10.

Is there anything else I do not seem to be considering?

This is so exciting, a bit terrifying but so exciting!!!
 
Re: 01/18 Vyktor AMPS 317 +6 139 +7 121 DOSE QU

Hi Serryn....I'm still up :-D Let me check out his SS and his condo from yesterday and I'll brb.
 
Re: 01/18 Vyktor AMPS 317 +6 139 +7 121 DOSE QU

If he is still blue at PMPS should I shoot the full dose based on last nights action or would it be wiser to reduce a little like yesterday? What if he is green? My understanding is that I should shoot something unless he is under 50, or is it okay to shoot the full dose even if he is under 50 if I know, based on the +10 and +11 that the BG is rising? I note that I won't be able to take his food away until +10.

If his PMPS is still 5 hours away, then I'd post a +11 if he continues to come down as some of the East Coast people should be up and on to help you. If they aren't, if you get a number similar to last night and it is not a dropping number, you can shoot the full dose. It takes time to drain the shed and the BCS is probably not going to immediately affect that cycle. You want to be absolutely certain you get a +1 and +2.

If you get a few more tests tonight, you'll be able to tell if he's dropping steadily OR if he had a nadir, came up a bit, and then took a second dip. If he takes a second dip, you are safe to shoot as described above.

If he is steadily dropping, you have a couple choices. You can not feed, stall a bit and see if he comes up which is the safest thing to do. I would only shoot a dropping number above 100 if (a) it was a slow drop, (b) I knew my cat and knew exactly how to get him up quickly and (c) if I could monitor frequently starting with at least a +1. Otherwise, I'd not feed, I'd stall, and test every 20 mins until he comes up for you. Shooting a dropping number even for an experienced caregiver can be dangerous so I urge all caution by stalling. A dropping cat may continue dropping after the shot and can pick up speed.

You don't ever want to shoot a number under 50. If he's green, then it's your comfort level, k? Last night was the lowest number you've shot. Again, I'd post a +11 and see if anyone is on to help you. If not, you have three choices:

1. skip
2. don't feed, stall and test every 20 mins until he rises and then catch him on the rise and shoot the full dose; get a +1 and +2 to start
3. shoot a BCS; get a +1 and +2 to start

If you get a really low number in the 40s, you can try stalling, don't feed, but he might not come up enuff in the time that you have to stall and so you might be best to skip. It is ok to stall for 15-20 mins in the 40s without feeding to see if he'll come up but if he's still in the 40s on the second test, feed him and skip. Just get back on track at your regular time in the morning.

If you get a 70s-80s kind of number, then stall and see if he'll come up enuff for you to feel comfortable shooting. I am a believer in trying to get some insulin into kitty if it is safe to do so and you can monitor frequently if need be. If you feel any trepidation at all, don't try to be brave..it's best to skip and keep him safe; he'll recover. If you stall, you don't need to shoot a BCS as stalling serves as a dosecrease but you still have to stay vigilant.

In all of the scenarios above where you are going to shoot, you need to have plenty of strips and HC food/gravy and karo on hand. Refer to the sticky on Dealing with Low Preshots...it's linked in my signature block.

Ok..so I just dumped a bunch of info on you. Any questions before I hit the sack? Best scenario...post a +11 and someone will walk you through it.

ETA: If he keeps coming down into green tonight and you need help, post. Mike (my DH) is up with Gracie and he will keep checking in to see how you all are doing. He's VERY good with low numbers :-D
 
Re: 01/18 Vyktor AMPS 317 +6 139 +7 121 DOSE QU

Serryn, I will probably be up 2 more hours so I will check back and see how you are doing. I am not a dosing expert by any means, but Marje already gave you lots of good info. I can give you moral support though! :lol: So exciting to see Vyktor having some active cycles!
 
Re: 01/18 Vyktor AMPS 317 +6 139 +7 121 DOSE QU

no advice to add, just glad to see vyktor in such nice numbers!

we had a house bunny who especially liked the electric blanket cords . . . and to replace each one cost $48. i think Thunderbuns ate through 3 blanket cords, maybe 4. i was trying to keep my husband from knowing that she'd done that, but those things are hard to disguise! :lol: i hope your honey bunny will stop eating your computer cables! little squirt.
 
Re: 01/18 Vyktor AMPS 317 +6 139 +7 121 +10 137 +11 194

The old adage that if you are well prepared for a situation it won't happen holds true again. Vyktor rising so no problems shooting a full dose tonight.

Thanks for advice and support.
 
Re: 1/18 Vyktor AMPS 317 +6 139 +7 121 +10 137 +11 194 PMPS

I'm glad you got your computer fixed :smile:
That's a nice low yellow PMPS to begin Vyktor's night.
 
Bummer :roll: :roll: ......and you were so ready :-D ;-)

COme on down Vyktor!!!!! Have a great day Serryn...at least you got some rest.

PS Thank you for the post on our condo last night.....I saw it this morning...brought tears to my eyes. You are so very welcome. You are a very wonderful addition to our LL family. I know one day you will be
doing the same thing....you help alot of other new members now but your knowledge will grow and you'll pay it all forward. Just like we are trying to do.
trilove.gif
 
Hi guys .. Well maybe it didn't happen for you today, but next time you'll be ready .. just remember the advice marjorie gave you .. plus, you can always ask again .. I swear, I asked every question that could be asked, and asked it about 20 times or more :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top