01/18 J.D. PMPS 413

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
HI PMPS (TOR)
474 +2.25
360 +3.25
267 +6
253 +9

I was thinking maybe I should give him the Bupe every 8 hours for this 3 day weekend while I'm home, and I gave it to him at 9:00pm last night, so my tired brain was trying to figure out the hours and 5:00am would have been the next dose, but alas, I over slept. He just got some Bupe at 7:00am.

He was hungry and ate a little hungrily at +6 and at +9 (while I was barely awake). I just held up a dish of left over food to him and he ate it. I don't know if he wasn't hungry last night when I got home from work because he ate so much during the day (I am only guessing), or not. So, I did not syringe any MaxCal last night.

He did seem to be feeling pretty good at +6 (when he had another solid poo!) and +9, and more sluggish this morning. Maybe because the Bupe wore off.

This morning he ate a few bites of FF Kitten Turkey & Giblets. I have to go try to get him to eat some more, now.


Question (From Last Night):
Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Dyana,

This quote is from Marje's condo "Dosing with Calipers", Sept. 25, 2012:

There were several Terumo syringes in the box where the zero line matched up perfectly with the needle side of the plunger when the plunger was gently pushed in. I measured how many mm are in 1u and 0.5u on the Terumo. Anyone can use this info if you are going to switch to Terumos and use a caliper to dose because I checked almost 1/3 of the Terumo syringes in the box I had. There are 1.52mm in 1u and .76mm in 0.5u; which is PERFECT!! (.76 x 2 = 1.52). So if you are using the Terumos, and you get five drops to .5u, then divide .76 by 5 to arrive at 0.15 mm/drop. (Likewise, there would be 10 drops in 1u; 1.52mm/10 = 0.15mm/drop).

I think this is the info. you are looking for. Hope so! The difference in diameter of the Relion vs. the Terumo syringe cannot really be measured with calipers because you have to take into account the thickness of the plastic body of the syringe.

Don't forget to measure with the calipers from the plastic disc, not from the zero line. Often the zero line is not accurate (it should line up with the plastic disc, but often does not). With the calipers it doesn't matter where the lines are. just use the plastic disc as your "zero line".

Take what I have to say with a grain of salt, as I woke up with a start and late for J.D.'s shot, and had to quickly measure insulin on a new kind of syringe. It took about 10 minutes to get the dose somewhat right :? and by the end of those 10 minutes my eyes weren't focusing so good because of the constant holding the syringe up to the light (60 watt lamp).
How do you see the little teeny area that would be the top of the syringe on these Terumo syringes? On the ReliOns there is a round flat piece of plastic (a disk) at the top and I would measure to that.
I have a big ole lighted magnifying glass, but that takes one hand to hold, and I need my two hands to dial in the dose, and one hand to hold up the calipers, that's more hands than I have. How do you guys do it?.. Ugg!
Also, I guess my 1.20mm is closer to 0.75 units, then, if 1.52mm is 1.00 unit?
When I take my calipers and open them to 1.52mm, and hold it up against the middle of the Terumo syringe it looks close but not quite 1.5 units. Maybe it's just my old eyes and the lighting and lack of ~O) Maybe I should stick with the ReliOns :-|


I know consistantacy is what matters.
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. AMPS 340

Hi Dyana,
If you look at the picture of the Terumo syringe that Jane posted in your yesterday's condo you will see that the caliper is positioned on the plastic disc (on that particular syringe the disk is a little above the zero line). This is the disc that you use for your measurement.
When you draw out your insulin, draw out a little more than your dose. Flick the side of the syringe to get any bubbles up to the top and consolidated into one bubble. Flick again if need be to center the bubble under the base of the needle. Then with a quick and deft "pull and push" expel the bubble. Now you are ready to measure the dose. I use a camping headlamp for all of this to leave my hands free. (available at any camping/outdoor store, such as Campmor in NJ.)http://www.campmor.com/outdoor/gear/Product___57093
Hold the caliper, which you have already prepared by setting it for your desired dose, up to the syringe to see approximately how much of the excess insulin you have to twist out. Put down the caliper and twist. Pick up the caliper and measure again. Repeat until you have the dose correct.
I don't have an eyesight problem and can see small things fine up close, but I have read here that some people wear several pairs of drugstore reading glasses at the same time. This might work for you.
All of this sounds complicated and time-consuming, but it is really quite efficient.
Good luck. I hope J.D. Will be feeling better today.
Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. AMPS 340

Good job on the poops JD. Keep it coming!
Dyana I have near perfect eyesight but used DHs reading glasses when drawing doses. Also one of those makeup magnifying mirrors with the light. Helped enormously.
When I started using calipers MY 1U wasn't what it should have been but it was what Twice's body thought 1U was so I set the calipers to that and adjusted acxordingly when I had to reduce the dose.
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. AMPS 340

Good Morning Dyana ~O)

That magnifying lamp Cleo/Jane linked to looks awesome!

In the mean time you could probably "Mac Gyver" something using what you have on hand, to stabilize the magnifying glass, acting like another pair of hands. . .
Maybe grab a stack of books, place them on a counter and shove the magnifying glass in between a couple of the upper books.
Have some more ~O) and look around your home.. I'll bet you can rig something up.

As far as bupe, IMHO if it makes him feel better - bring it on :cool:
 

Attachments

  • Better Living through Chemistry.jpg
    Better Living through Chemistry.jpg
    54.6 KB · Views: 462
Re: 01/18 J.D. AMPS 340, +5 67, +5.5 44, +6 34

It's time for a +6.25 test. I put MC on a plate and he moved it around. I put the opened can down, and he ate some out of that.
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. AMPS 340, +5 67, +5.5 44, +6 34

Much better, J.D., but can you come off the lagoon bottom? :roll: :mrgreen: Yay for a nice poo! :-D :-D

We use the magnifying lamp that Jane linked + these optivisors + the kitchen lights + another bright light.
Liz
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. AMPS 340, +5 67, +5.5 44, +6 34

Dyana said:
It's time for a +6.25 test. I put MC on a plate and he moved it around. I put the opened can down, and he ate some out of that.
hi dyana. when kitty's in the 30s, it's ok to use a little karo rubbed on gums to give JD's numbers a little bump while you try to get him to eat. using karo will give you that little safety margin we often need when kitty's appetite is off.
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. AMPS 340, +5 67, +5.5 44, +6 34, +6.25 45

Anne & Zener said:
We use the magnifying lamp that Jane linked + these optivisors + the kitchen lights + another bright light.
Liz
Oh my. Are those worn like glasses?
I used to have good eyesight. I started wearing dollar store reading glasses to measure doses years ago, and now I have to wear them to read. I use 1.5 for everyday, and 2.00 for measuring doses now. I have 25 watt, 40 watt, and a few 60 watt bulbs in the house. I have a harder time at work trying to find the right light to measure J.D.'s dose. At my parent's house it's even harder because they don't have lamps they had overhead florescents so have to hold the syringe litterally up over my head to see the dose.

I just gave J.D. some more MC on the plate. Again, he ate a bite or two, and doesn't seem to like the consistancy of the food.

I'll test again at +6.75.
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. AMPS 340, +5 67, +5.5 44, +6 34, +6.25 45

cool. 45. going in the right direction!
depending on how you feel about his appetite, you could even give him a little karo here to bump him up a little more.
the karo just buys you time to get food in him when you can't count on him eating willingly.
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. AMPS 340, +5 67, +5.5 44, +6 34, +6.25 45

Thanks Jill. He did eat a bunch of LC from +5 through +6, when I switched to MC.
I'll try some LC with a drop of karo.

He ate a little this morning. A little less than 1/4 can of FF, and then at +1 a little less than 1/8 can.
We went btb and woke up at +5. Since then I would say he has eaten over 1/4 can of LC.
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. AMPS 340, +5 67, +5.5 44, +6 34, +6.25 45

awesome! maybe he's just getting full! lol!
you're there. you know JD. you know how to keep him out of trouble...
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. AMPS 340, +5 67, +5.5 44, +6 34, +6.25 45

And, I'm glad I have a 3 day weekend to figure out these new syringes.
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. AMPS 340, +5 67, +5.5 44, +6 34, +6.25 45

Well JD, you know we love those greens...but surf safely please!!!

Dyana, hope JD has a nice long safe surf for you. Have a great day!!
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. +5.5 44, +6 34, +6.25 45 , +7 52

I have a lit magnifying glass that works great. I draw Gracie's dose on the counter in the kitchen and I also have bright under the counter lights. What I discovered, thanks to Rhiannon, that makes my dosing so much easier is a light from below.

I bought this Light Tracer Box and it is WONDERFUL! Now I have light from above and below and it makes it a snap to see the line on the Terumos.

I'm not sure how you are measuring that you would get 1.52 mm = almost 1.5u on the Terumos. I measured a ton of them to get that measurement. BUT the thing is, we all measure differently. I imagine that everyone will have to fine tune their dose some.

Up up JD. And eat!!
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. +5.5 44, +6 34, +6.25 45, +7 52, +7.5 56

He got the 1 drop of Karo on LC at +6.5, so it's been an hour now. I gave him another 1/8 can of FF Kitten and he wanted more so I gave him another 1/8 can.

Marje, I always hold up the syringe to the light, so I can see the syringe through the lamp (I'm not sure if I'm making sense). Like at my parents house and at work where they only have ceiling florescents, I have to actually hold the syringe way up (far sighted) over my head at arms length to see the dose with the light behind it.
My kitchen has a ceiling light and the counter light is in the range of the over hood thing and is a very low wattage.
The light I use is next to my computer and is one of those floor reading lamps on a pole, but the maximum wattage I can put in it is 40, or else it melts the plastic shade. I have heard that you can hold them up to the computer screen.

I don't know why I am getting a different mm measurement than you are. I tried twice last night, and I zeroed my calipers to make sure.
I just tried again, and the 1.20mm that I have loaded on my calipers are showing just a tad over 1 unit when measured in the middle of the syringe.
It's consistancy that matters, so whatever.

The hard part for me is when using these new syringes, when I hold the syringe up to the light the top of the barrel of the syringe is not where the plunger stops. There is about a quarter unit of space between the top of the syringe barrel and the top of the plunger. I was hoping all the zero lines were right where they are supposed to be and I could measure from that :? That's what I did last night.
Because when I push the plunger all the way up, it stops right before the beginning of that 1/4 unit of space from what looks to me to be the top of the barrel space.

If I can't figure it out, I'll just go back to the ReliOns. With the ReliOns, I used the flat disk thing at the top of the syringe to measure down from.
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. +5.5 44, +6 34, +6.25 45, +7 52, +7.5 56, +8

Dyana,
I'm having the same issue with those syringes and so far I don't like them. The discs are ALL above the zero line as opposed to my Monojects which sit perfectly at zero. Why is it so difficult for Terumo to figure this out I wonder? I also find it really difficult to draw just a very small amount of insulin in...there is a lack of control and I don't find it to be a very comfortable draw again as opposed to Monoject. I really want to like them because if they're more accurate that's important, but the darned things are driving me crazy ohmygod_smile and I just can't seem to justify spending money on lamps and visors; etc just to use a syringe I probably won't end up sticking with :-|

I'm glad JD is doing a bit better today :razz:
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. +5.5 44, +6 34, +6.25 45, +7 52, +7.5 56, +8

try stacking your reading glasses and wearing both at the same time. yes, it looks incredibly stupid. but it's amazing how clear it makes the markings!

i hand quilt and one friend has been doing that for years. i used to kinda snicker at her & give her a hard time about it, :shock: but now when no one is looking, i can sometimes be seen by the kitties wearing 2 pair at a time if i'm doing some really fine work. :lol:

life has a way of doing that to you! :-D

glad JD came up and is having a great surf today.
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. +5.5 44, +6 34, +6.25 45, +7 52, +7.5 56, +8

He's Up....He's down.....he just don't know what the heck to do!!!!! Glad he's on his way up....glad he did a poo....glad he is eating...maybe not much, but at least he is eating.

Can't say anything about the new syringes and the calipers tho...sorry.
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. +7 52, +7.5 56, +8 61, +9 97

J.D. and I took a nap. I lay the 2 foot by 2 foot throw pillow on it's side and put J.D. self heating thermopad on top and he is supposed to lay on that. I am supposed to get 1/4 of the pillow for my head and J.D. is supposed to get 3/4 of the pillow.
Normally, J.D. crawls across my head and lays his belly fur across my face and eventually settles down by laying along my shoulder and sometimes partway along my chest. Today, he did as he was supposed and layed above my head, but he has a bit of gas and his butt was next to my nose. I could only stand it for a 30 minute nap and had to get up :) I do love him, but..

J.D. had a good rest. He got his 2nd dose of Bupe at +8.5 and was feeling a little wasted. He is up now. At +10.5, I found him chomping down in a left over bowl of food, and I can't stop him from eating just because of time, right now, as I need him to eat, so I let him. He is wandering around the living room. To the food bowl, to the litter box, up on the couch, down off the couch, and around and around. He's back up on the couch now, and I'll pick the food bowl up as it is now +11.

I hope he isn't HI at PMPS. fingers crossed
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. +7 52, +7.5 56, +8 61, +9 97

Really nice job on keeping J.D. safe today. Tommy joined him for a spell but not quite as low. I'm also glad to hear that he is eating... at least some :smile:
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. +7 52, +7.5 56, +8 61, +9 97

Oh my gosh, you just made me :lol: on the nap with J.D.s butt :shock: I'm glad he is eating and had a nice green day, and poo! :-D ...sorry it's him eating at the wrong time of the day :roll: Hope the rest of your Caturday goes good, paws crossed on the PMPS number!
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. +7 52, +7.5 56, +8 61, +9 97

J.D. so very glad to see you are feeling so much better! A little easier on the low #s might be in order for Momma's sanity tho, doncha think? That's not to say that you're not doing great tho buddy cuz you are...we all know Dyana will take stellar care of you no matter where those #s are!

Good job Dyana, I only have one thing to say: I cracked up over why you had to end your nap early...I probably would have locked the cat outside and kept on napping! :lol:
 
Re: 01/18 J.D. +7 52, +7.5 56, +8 61, +9 97

Desi, you would not have done that!

Thanks for the visit :)
 
J.D. is acting pretty good, although he is all drugged up. I think if you add up all the bits and pieces of food he ate today that he ate his normal amount (three to four 1/4 cans of FF) through the cycle.
I gave him his PM shot a little early. I will figure out a new dose amount, tomorrow.

He ate most of 1/4 can of FF Kitten at PMPS, and got his meds. I wanted to add some Ultimate Flora Critical Care, but have always had a hard time getting the 1/3 capsule into him. I've tried pill pockets and it seems to expand once out of the capsule and more than fills up pill pockets. So, since J.D. still had a couple of bites left in his bowl, I added the probiotic with some water and swirled it around, and then topped it all off with bits of steak. He ate some of it at +1, and just finished the rest.

He is now washing his face, which means it was good :)
 
Wow Dyana, what a day :mrgreen: ......well, up to pmps :roll:

This has nothing to do with lighting the syringes, but I used the headlamp that Ella suggested, and it was amazing, for testing and seeing the little blood drop, in the dark. I could test Checkers, without waking him. :smile:
 
You know I bought one at Christmas and returned it. It was one of those things on the clearance table at WalMart.
I thought I would give it to someone for a present. It was camaflage color if I remember right. Oh well.
So, I guess you feel like a miner when you wear it?
 
I'm glad J.D. had a good nap. Unfortunately, it was not a pleasant sort of "aromatherapy" experience for you.

I'm glad he's feeling better.
 
I'm with you....consistency. It doesn't really matter what I get in a unit or what my unit measures. It only matters that yours is the same from dose to dose but you already recognized that. :-D

Glad he's better and I hope you get some rest!
 
Wow...what a day for J.D. I'm glad he's feeling and eating better!! Good luck with figuring out the syringes, too...have a great night, Dyana!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top