01/18 Cleo AMPS=357 +2=508 +4=559 +7.5=431 +9=405 +11=316 PMPS=315 +9=242

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Previous
Hi all,
this has been an hard week, so I was not able to post every day.
Yesterday evening Cleo had blue values at preshot. I stalled 2 hours because there was a blackout and I didn't feel confortable in shooting at candlelight and without your support. After two hours I decided I had to shoot even if she had 120. I gave her the normal dose (1.5u). She was fine, but at +3 she had 457 :confused:. Maybe she was scared by the bustle that was out to solve the blackout? I'm pretty sure I've not given her a furshot.

The morning cycle was also a little strange:
amps: 228
+2: 333
+4: 366
+6: 383
+8: 352
+10: 272
+12: 155
+12:5 127
+13: 132
+13.5: 119
pmps: 120@+14
+1.5: 244
+3: 457
+4: 459
+6: 425
+8.5: 437
+10.5: 379


What do you think about these values? Why the grow up when the insulin starts to work? Too high dosage?
 
Last edited:
No, it's not a case of too much insulin. Her body reacted to getting into blue numbers last night. It's just an ordinary bounce. Here's a little more information on bouncing.

In fact, that dose looks pretty good for the moment. The first goal is to get everything under 200 or so to protect her kidneys. I can understand why you wouldn't want to shoot by candlelight! YIKES! or have to deal with low numbers if they occurred then. But it's fantastic that she's giving you a pmps in blue numbers - that's the path to getting her regulated. It's a good sign.

One thing to remember is that it takes a couple of hours for Lantus to onset (begin working). In that couple of hours the previous shot will be wearing off and her numbers will likely be rising anyway. The lowest you've shot so far without reducing the dose looks like a 167 on 12/26. You can look back and see that she didn't plummet afterwards, but in fact, bounced again. I'd encourage you to move your no-shoot-line downward now - perhaps to 125 or 130. What do you think about that? I think you're going to be pleasantly surprised at the response when you shoot her in lower numbers. But i do totally understand not wanting to do it when you're offline and with no electricity - i wouldn't have either! When everything is working, though, give it a try and let's see how she does!

Hope you're having a great day. It's good to see Cleo making progress!
 
Hi Julie, I totally agree with you in moving my no-shoot-line down, but I'm afraid that she goes low when I'm at work. Yesterday I shot at 120 to see how she would react, but I was disappointed to see that after two hours she was over 400.
You say this bouncing, but I don't understand why I've low values at PS and high values at nadir. Sorry, I can't understand. Better if I read with more attention what you have linked to me.
Hope you're having a great day. It's good to see Cleo making progress!
Thank you so much! I hope that you have too!:bighug: I'm so happy that Cleo is making progress!!!:cat:
 
Now she is going down (316). It seems that the values grow inversely to insulin action. Can a bounce last only for a cycle?
 
The more often she gets into normal numbers - or anything lower than what she's been in - the more her body will accept it as normal. At some point most cats stop bouncing entirely. Not all, but most.

In the beginning, cats often will bounce to more than 500 and hold it there for the full 3 days. As they keep getting used to normal numbers, their bounces might only go to 300 and last 2 days. Then the bounce might only go to 200 and last a day. Eventually there might be a bounce that's just 200 for an hour or two, and then right back into good numbers.

So yes, a bounce can last for only one cycle as things improve, or even just a couple of hours. The more time she spends in good numbers the more the bouncing will lessen. In most cats. (I have to say that because we have a few serious bouncers who never stopped bouncing - just depends on the cat.) They don't all read the manual. ;)
 
oh, and sometimes while they are still in a bounce the numbers will bobble around 400-500-400-300-400-250-350, for example, but they might still be in the bounce. The way you know the bounce has really cleared is that you should see #s somewhat like the ones that caused the bounce. In Cleo's case, I'd say you'll know the bounce has cleared when you're seeing blue numbers again. She could still be bobbling around high.

By the way, it literally took me 6 months to be able to spot a bounce. I didn't understand that part about the numbers wobbling/bobbling around high while they still are in the bounce.
 
I hope that Cleo has read the manual! :cat:
Now I've understood. Thank you again, Julie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top