01/18 bailey uk. advice on bouncing etc

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127015

this is going to sound like a crazy question with bailey being so high ALL the time but this happened at the start when he was on lantus and we kept raising his dose until I started to reduce due to vets advice on food intake. then he kept coming down the dosing scale with really good numbers,(bounces in between obviously) nothings changed here food wise so I was wondering could he be on too much insulin and not show any signs of low.almost like his pancreas is working overtime to clear the insulin (does that make sense) it just seems strange he got a 121 on 4 units of lev and before we switched on 198 on 5.25.

im just terrified were going to high.he just seems miserable now and again and im scared were going back to what he was.

is there any chance at all hes on too much! crazy as it seems!
 
One of the nice things about this protocol is that if you have followed it for dosing advice, not increased in too large of increments (1u or larger), if you've given adequate time in between dose increases and can see the nadirs that a dose is giving Bailey, you don't really have to worry about him being overdosed.

when a cat comes in overdosed, one of the "looks" of the spreadsheet is that there is an overall high look without much movement in terms of a curve. The cat's body is putting out a constant stream of counter-regulatory hormones and stored sugars to sustain the cat's life. Bailey is having curves - but they only get down to 300AT. His blood sugar is moving 100-150pts in each cycle - it's just not going into normal numbers. Keep your sights on the 68-160AT range as the goal.

Before you switched him to Lev, it was taking 5.25u to get him into one spot of blue on 9/23. He's now had 3ish weeks of almost completely higher numbers, and when cats are in higher numbers they develop Glucose Toxicity. My guess is that Bailey's body has gotten used to 350-500AT as being his normal range now, and you're going to have to give more insulin to overcome that.

i suspect he's miserable because his blood sugar is so high and he feels crappy with it, and he's hungry because all his nutrients (glucose) are floating about in his blood stream and can't get into his cells. so he's starving.

I'd keep increasing his dose every 6 cycles until he's having regular nadirs (a majority of them) in the 68-160ish range, then slow down the increases to fine tune it. I just think he's had a set-back and you're going to have to plow ahead to overcome it.
 
thanks Julie that's SO informative.what I needed to hear for abit of reassurance before I increase today at am.
im making sure he doesn't starve as he eats when he wants.little and often. at the mo hes going through nearly 2 chicken breast a day with feline complete on but I don't care of the cost.id rather starve myself ;-)

il increase again today and see how we go! thanks again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top