Re: 11/12/11 Clyde pmps 350
Richie & Clyde said:
There was one morning were is #'s were normal, so no shot was given...My question is should I up his dose another .25?
Remember to gauge the dose according to nadir (mid-cycle #), not pre-shot #s. Have you done a curve and gotten any during-cycle #s yet?
Now that is not to say that if you think Clyde's preshot # is too low to shoot you should shoot anyway, because I wouldn't. A lot depends on whether or not you will be there to watch over him and get spot cks, feed if he drops too low, etc. Many times I have skipped one of Tawny's shots and Tinkerbell's too b4 she was OTJ b/c I had to leave and be gone 10-12 hrs.
Also remember that if he gives you a "normal" number, that could be the insulin "regulating" him.
As far as your question about upping his dose, how long has he been on his current dose? The rule of thumb I learned around here is that always go thru no less than 6 cycles with a new dose before changing it.
Also there is the rebound factor (RBC). Sometimes if a cat is not used to lower #s and starts dipping into lower #s than his body is used to his body "fights back" with a bounce, what we call rebound. RBC usually clears in about 24 hrs but of course it can be a vicious circle for a while til his body gets used to the lower #s and realizes it is not cause for panic.
This is the first time we have visited one of your condos so others may have already clued you in to all of the above, and I'm sure you'll get more input, but I was up checking on Tawny (she just got out of the hospital with DKA, etc., she is kind of going backwards since she came home yesterday) and saw you were online and stopped by to check on you.
Oh, and your ? about being away Thanksgiving night...There are times when we have to skip shots. It just is. I have done it many times, if I have to leave and it's too early to shoot, usually. It is not the best way to do things but sometimes we just gotta do what we gotta do.
Desi, et al