01/18/12 ?? Clyde update ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Richie & Clyde

Member Since 2011
I folks, I need some help. Clyde's vet wants me to feed Clyde first[Wet Friskies classic Pate'] wait about an hour, test then shoot. This is not sitting well w/ me. Am I wrong? Dr wants food in his stomach before insulin.
 
Re: 11/12/11 Clyde pmps 350

I don't think we've visited you and Clyde before...

bumping your post up for better eyes.. :-D

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/12/11 Clyde pmps 350

Hi Richie,

I can't open Clyde's SS. Can you redo the link to it? If you click on the URL button at the top of the text box, and paste the code in between, that may fix it.
 
Re: 11/12/11 Clyde pmps 350

Richie & Clyde said:
There was one morning were is #'s were normal, so no shot was given...My question is should I up his dose another .25?

Remember to gauge the dose according to nadir (mid-cycle #), not pre-shot #s. Have you done a curve and gotten any during-cycle #s yet?

Now that is not to say that if you think Clyde's preshot # is too low to shoot you should shoot anyway, because I wouldn't. A lot depends on whether or not you will be there to watch over him and get spot cks, feed if he drops too low, etc. Many times I have skipped one of Tawny's shots and Tinkerbell's too b4 she was OTJ b/c I had to leave and be gone 10-12 hrs.

Also remember that if he gives you a "normal" number, that could be the insulin "regulating" him.

As far as your question about upping his dose, how long has he been on his current dose? The rule of thumb I learned around here is that always go thru no less than 6 cycles with a new dose before changing it.

Also there is the rebound factor (RBC). Sometimes if a cat is not used to lower #s and starts dipping into lower #s than his body is used to his body "fights back" with a bounce, what we call rebound. RBC usually clears in about 24 hrs but of course it can be a vicious circle for a while til his body gets used to the lower #s and realizes it is not cause for panic.

This is the first time we have visited one of your condos so others may have already clued you in to all of the above, and I'm sure you'll get more input, but I was up checking on Tawny (she just got out of the hospital with DKA, etc., she is kind of going backwards since she came home yesterday) and saw you were online and stopped by to check on you.

Oh, and your ? about being away Thanksgiving night...There are times when we have to skip shots. It just is. I have done it many times, if I have to leave and it's too early to shoot, usually. It is not the best way to do things but sometimes we just gotta do what we gotta do.

Desi, et al
 
Re: 11/12/11 Clyde pmps 350

richie, i am guessing you might have some serious bouncing going on. you really need more mid-cycle spot checks to decipher this. mmm, the ss is closed now, but about 4 days ago when you had a blue amps (i think it was 110) that you skipped, and then that evening it soared to 400+ - that was a bounce. now you've got these solid pre-shot numbers that are high, but we don't know if clyde is dipping low in between. that can happen fairly quickly - a cat can drop down and then pop back high. it doesn't have to be a really low number, just anything lower than he's used to. he's been solid in the 300's lately, so even hitting in the 200's might make him bounce.

one of the major differences between lantus and other insulins is that all lantus dosing is based upon the lowest number a cat gets to in a cycle. so we have to know where clyde is going to know about a dose being right or not. can you try to get a bunch of tests every 2-3 hours for a day or two so we can see if there's some serious dropping going on? right now we don't have enough info to tell, but the green and blue of a few days ago on the last dose would tell us that dose could take him lower. this increased dose might be too much.

look at tiki's condo today for an explanation of what a bounce is and how to handle it.
 
Re: 11/12/11 Clyde pmps 350

I have to agree with Julie. I'd encourage you to get spot checks as often as you can and you have to get pre-shot tests. There are no doubt points at mid cycle that Clyde is in lower numbers -- you've already seen some greens during the cycle. Until you have a clear idea what's going on at nadir, I casing the dose can be risky. You've already seen a 91 (and it may have been lower) at this dose..
 
Re: 11/12/11 Clyde pmps 350

the 91 was on the 3.25 dose and clyde is now at 3.5u. this 3.5u might be too much - even though you're seeing higher numbers, if he got to 91 on 3.25 he could get to it again. or lower, as sienne says. you may have missed the right dose on the way up the dosing scale.

as counter-intuitive as it is, i might drop back to the 3.25u dose. either way some spot checks would tell us what needs to happen.

think of the spreadsheet like a jigsaw puzzle. the more center pieces in place, the more you can see the picture. with only the corner/edge pieces, you don't know what the picture looks like. preshot tests only give us those edge pieces.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top