01/17 Vyktor PMPS 109 +1 106 +2 115 +3 124 +4 140

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Recap:
AMPS 362
+6 202
PMPS 313
+4 362
+7 349

Pretty confident we hit the blue zone again yesterday, unfortunately I had to get back to work so didn't get to enter it on his ss.

Thoughts are with Marje today and hoping her DM is on the mend. Also with Lydia and her little fighter Sid, we are all rooting for you Sid and wishing you get better real soon.

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61209
 
Re: 01/17 Vyktor AMPS 295

Vyktor my sweet....no more bouncy!!! Come back down into those lovely blues.

Serryn...you are such a sweetheart. Thank you so much for mentioning my mom and sending her wishes.

Have a wonderful day!!
 
Re: 01/17 Vyktor AMPS 295

Vyktor, we'd like to see some blues later, OK?

Thanks, Serryn, for your comments on the FreeStyleLite. I've decided to abandon it, at least for the present!

Have a good evening (morning?),

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 01/17 Vyktor AMPS 295

Serryn, I hope Vyktor is being a good boy and no squirming when shot time comes around. Hope he comes down today.
 
Re: 01/17 Vyktor AMPS 295 +6 160

Whoo hoo Vyktor acceded to your well wishes and produced blue for us, mama bean is doing her happy dance.

Ann - he is not being given the opportunity to squirm now, he complains but I tell him its his own fault and pin him down. Not having much luck shooting anywhere but the scruff using the pin down method as yet though.
 
Re: 01/17 Vyktor AMPS 295 +6 160 +7 131

Vyktor's numbers are much better than yesterday! Good on ya, mate! :-D Have a great day, Serryn!
 
Re: 01/17 Vyktor AMPS 295 +6 160 +7 131 PMPS 109 shot!?!

Well I think I've earned a beginners BOS award but I'm not sure that the S doesn't stand for stupidity. Looked at the handling low numbers sticky and realised my ss is seriously deficient in the +1 +2 +10 +11 department - will definitely be getting +1 and +2 tonight!
I thought he'd be bouncing tonight so had a drink when I got home but all alcohol is now shelved and we are preparing for potential hypo. Map to the emergency vet ready, syrup and higher carb food out, teeth grinding - oh I guess that one's not necessary but I think it's going to be unavoidable!
I have looked at so many kitties ss and, although ECID, what I see have always seen in those ss when looking at PS numbers above 100 is that missing a shot or stalling did not result in an optimum outcome and that, based on the post shot numbers the full dose should have been given. I did chicken out a little bit and reduced his dose slightly from 2.25 to 2.
Hope I have done the right thing nailbite_smile :roll: nailbite_smile :roll:
 
Re: 01/17 Vyktor AMPS 295 +6 160 +7 131 PMPS 109 shot!?!

You did fine. I probably would have done the same thing, in your shoes.
I would add 2.00 BCS in the units column of your spreadsheet, so it doesn't look like a regular dose reduction.
You'll do fine. You have everything you need, all the supplys, the knowledge, and the FDMB. I'll give you :thumbup and :YMHUG:
 
Re: 01/17 Vyktor AMS+7 131 PMPS 109 shot!? +1 106 +2 115

Ate 55g (1.9oz) of regular food at +1 so the +2 increase may be food related. Have put out a small portion of regular food 30g (1oz) and will continue testing hourly.
 
Re: 01/17 Vyktor AMS+7 131 PMPS 109 shot!? +1 106 +2 115

Morning and congrats on shooting the 109! Go Vyktor and glad he's not squirming out of the shot! :-D
 
Re: 01/17 Vyktor AMPS 295 +6 160 +7 131 PMPS 109 shot!?!

Vyktors Mum said:
I have looked at so many kitties ss and, although ECID, what I see have always seen in those ss when looking at PS numbers above 100 is that missing a shot or stalling did not result in an optimum outcome and that, based on the post shot numbers the full dose should have been given. I did chicken out a little bit and reduced his dose slightly from 2.25 to 2.
Hope I have done the right thing nailbite_smile :roll: nailbite_smile :roll:

I have found the same to be very true with my Atlas and he does throw that late nadir curve at me pretty regularly.

Just the other day I gave a BCS dose as his numbers have been so wonky and I wasn't going to be around to monitor him.

Yes, we want to work toward keeping our cats regulated or off the juice, but on any given day we want them to be safe. A slightly higher cycle likely isn't going to kill them....a low hypo though is a whole other matter.

You actually did fine and now the new information you get can be used going forward in your decision making process about your cat.
 
Re: 01/17 Vyktor AMS+7 131 PMPS 109 shot!? +1 106 +2 115 +3

Still biting nails nailbite_smile , worried he hasn't come up enough to take nadir drop.
 
Re: 01/17 Vyktor AMS+7 131 PMPS 109 shot!? +1 106 +2 115 +3

Remember, shoot low to say low. The drop from 109 will not be as dramatic as from 209. You're doing great.
 
Re: 01/17 Vyktor AMS+7 131 PMPS 109 shot!? +1 106 +2 115 +3

Look at the pretty blue surf!

Since you gave a reduced dose, what should be happening is the "shed" is draining. Keep in mind Lantus is a long acting insulin and often one does not see the result of the immediate shot in the same cycle.

You are doing great! It looks like your dosing is finally getting to the point to downshift out of those higher numbers. The goal with lantus isn't the traditional bell curve...but the flat cycle.

Fluctuations are very common in this phase before BGs start to stabilize under consistent dosing: a typical curve of cat over the first 1.5 months on Lantus can be seen here. http://www.tillydiabetes.net/images/Lantus_Start_Graph.jpg
 
That would be right Vyktor start going up a little instead of the down I expected when I have just pumped myself with coffee!

My nervousness probably seems silly to you experienced people but I am so glad to have some reassurance thank you so much.

I'm thinking now will be a good time to try and get a couple of hours sleep and then get up for a +6 or +7. Will report in if there's a problem.
 
Hi guys .. look at that nice string of blue!! You are doing great, and no, your nervousness does not seem silly to us .. Remember, we came to this board with the same fears and worries as you .. One day you will be holding a "newbies" hand :-D Enjoy your sleep!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top