01/17 Socrates AMPS 235,+2 217,+6 222,+10 341,PMPS 379

Ilianna and Socrates

Member Since 2020
Hello again! I decided to do a curve today,didn't really manage to though...Anyway,I have some extra measurments of a nice cycle.He is on 0.5 units of Lantus and I wanted to increase to 0.75 next week ,but I am not sure because of today...I also ordered methyl B12 caps because his neuropathy is progressing.
Another matter...Since he stopped eating Purina DM pate and switched to another type of wet food ( super premium quality ) he has diarrhea and his feces smell like hell.It is unbearable,but he seems to really enjoy this new food...I thought about buying FORTE FLORA probiotics and maybe give him a little metronidazole...
Any suggestions?
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
@Marje and Gracie
 
Last edited:
Someone suggested raw for Luci - same problem - oh so stinky poos! About to drive me out of the house!! It seems to have helped a great deal - at least I don't have to wear an chemical hazmat mask whenever I scoop the LB...not perfect yet, because we are still transitioning...but better...and Luci loves the raw chicken, turkey and gizzards (so far that's what's been on the menu)...
 
Someone suggested raw for Luci - same problem - oh so stinky poos! About to drive me out of the house!! It seems to have helped a great deal - at least I don't have to wear an chemical hazmat mask whenever I scoop the LB...not perfect yet, because we are still transitioning...but better...and Luci loves the raw chicken, turkey and gizzards (so far that's what's been on the menu)...
That's exactly what I was thinking...I have found a company which sells high quqlity raw food for cats with chicken and hearts etc ,but I don't know how to make the transition...
 
We're feeding her Fancy Feast, etc along with the raw...I just buy it at the store - I use a food processor to grind up the gizzards since Luci doesn't have enough teeth to chew that one - she likes ground turkey...the chicken I just chop by hand. You can buy organic from the grocery store and order some EZ Complete on line - I'm still waiting for that to arrive...https://www.foodfurlife.com
 
Acording to the SLGS protocol,tomorrow I must increase to 0.75.Am I right? I have an automatic feeder and feed at +3 and + 6,because I am not at home until +8
 
Yes, you would increase to 0.75 units tomorrow. Can you get a test tonight before going to bed? Many cats go lower at night, so it's good to get those spot checks at night.

A probiotic may be a good idea. Fortiflora is not the best one, it only contains one strain of flora. There are many human probiotics that are good. Unfortunately I'm not sure which ones you have available go you. A probiotic can also help on the transition to raw. Start slowly with a tsp of raw with the regular food, then gradually add more. Some cats will eat it mixed in with their regular food. For some cats is best on the side, so they can get used to the smell. My Neko just dove right in and transitioned over two days. My other cat at the time took a couple weeks.
 
Back
Top