01/17 - Freckles - pmps 184, 211@+1 , 79@+3.5H, 65@+4, 58@+5, 74 @+6, 94@+7, 144@+8, 229@+11

I have a feeling that Freckles has some blue brewing :cool:;) Maybe a later onset today and he's just on the way down ? that's my theory :)

I'm with you at -27C -37 w/ the windchill :eek: yesterday was -44 :eek::eek:

Keep warm Judy! have a great day :coffee::coffee::coffee:
 
Nice slide down into PMPS? You can do it Freckles.
Holy Wendy! Not only do you have a crystal ball, but you are like the cat whisperer. We have 95 @ +3. She's preening herself right now. Appetite is good. She just had a FD chicken treat when I tested her. Anything I should do to encourage coasting?
 
Her regular timed snack is @+5 - but that is 0% C so I'll be sure to grab a test before she gets into that incase I need to up the carbs a bit.

Hi @Wendy&Neko! Came to see the results of your 'cat whispering' talents did you?? You and Freckles in cahoots together??:)
 
Congratulations on your first greens, Freckles! Now just keep on surfing . . . I think I'd feed a small LC snack now since it might be a little early for nadir, but I'm guessing you might have already done so.
 
Congratulations on your first greens, Freckles! Now just keep on surfing . . . I think I'd feed a small LC snack now since it might be a little early for nadir, but I'm guessing you might have already done so.
Thanks Jan. :woot: Whoot! Yay for a first green. I thought it would never show up! Yup. Just gave a "nice light snack". Freckle's is a pretty flat cat but I've been thinking her nadir is about +3 to +5... but let's see what she has in store for tonight!
 
If she drops any more just give her another small snack. The idea is to keep her surfing in mid green numbers....
The libre is useful at times like this.
 
I love that you have the Libre:)
My first impressions of it weren't very good. There was a huge discrepancy - anywhere from 65-180 point difference between the Libre and the Freestyle Lite that we've been using for a long time. It looks like the Libre is discrepant with high numbers but now that Freckles' numbers are lower, it's only out by 2 points.
 
is an understatement. Freckles has stolen toast right out of the toaster, snagged dough, opened cupboards and stole caramel popcorn. We have baby latches on everything that opens. She hasn't yet figured out how to open cans, the fridge door, the stove or the microwave...... yet!!:cat:
Brings back memories of when Sheba was first diagnosed with FD, the vet said to only feed before the shots and at no other times.....I was so ignorant I followed directions to a T. She went into remission after 3 months for 2 1/2 years and I only fed her twice a day all that time. She was always hungry and asking for food and raiding everything in sight.
The second time around I found FDMB and fed her 6 times a day and she was much better.
One of my current kitties, Harry, also loves his food. He is a real gentleman at mealtimes and never eats Clover's food but everything of mine is fair game. I can't leave anything out on the bench and walk away. He takes meat off plates, cookies/scones cooling on a rack, cleans out saucepans....and I feed him 4 times a day. He knows he is being naughty and runs and hides when caught!
 
Brings back memories of when Sheba was first diagnosed with FD, the vet said to only feed before the shots and at no other times.....I was so ignorant I followed directions to a T. She went into remission after 3 months for 2 1/2 years and I only fed her twice a day all that time. She was always hungry and asking for food and raiding everything in sight.
The second time around I found FDMB and fed her 6 times a day and she was much better.
One of my current kitties, Harry, also loves his food. He is a real gentleman at mealtimes and never eats Clover's food but everything of mine is fair game. I can't leave anything out on the bench and walk away. He takes meat off plates, cookies/scones cooling on a rack, cleans out saucepans....and I feed him 4 times a day. He knows he is being naughty and runs and hides when caught!

"Runs and hides?" it's probably more like going undercover with his stash! :p
Aren't they little rascals! They are very good at training their humans to clean up after themselves! Freckles' isn't the only 'great' eater we have around here. Tuxman, will take the whole loaf of bread off of the cupboard and hightail it for the porch before he is busted. His 'loot' doesn't last long as the dogs get wind of his antics very quickly and then they just scarf everything down and poor Tuxman is just left with the ripped up bread bag. It's also because of Tuxman and Freckles that we have the garbage can lid secured with a baby latch as well as bungy cord to the cupboard!!
 
Ok. I will "close" the feed drawer. I had to put the automatic feeder in a dresser drawer because Freckles figured out that if she knocked it off her table then food would fall out....

Freckles usually gets 1/8 of a can in 30 minutes. Don't give this to her tonight? It is 0% carb FF.
 
Ok. I will "close" the feed drawer. I had to put the automatic feeder in a dresser drawer because Freckles figured out that if she knocked it off her table then food would fall out....

Freckles usually gets 1/8 of a can in 30 minutes. Don't give this to her tonight? It is 0% carb FF.
Has she already had what she would normally got, with all the little snacks?
I would hold off a bit longer to see if she can stay in greens a bit longer. If you feed in the second half of the cycle, once they start to go up, you can shorten the duration of the insulin...... although 1/8 can is not much.
 
Has she already had what she would normally got, with all the little snacks?
I would hold off a bit longer to see if she can stay in greens a bit longer. If you feed in the second half of the cycle, once they start to go up, you can shorten the duration of the insulin...... although 1/8 can is not much.
Including the snacks that she's been getting, she's eaten her normal amount for tonight... so I guess I answered by own question... food drawer stays closed and is back open for business in about 6 hours.
 
Libre says she is starting to climb a bit. Not sure if she will be able to hang onto the greens for @+7.

Poor little thing is trying to sleep and I keep scanning her! lol
 
You want a couple rising tests, not influenced by carbs, before calling it a night. So that’s another reason to stop feeding.
 
It’s always a pleasure to see a cat embrace greens the first time. What did Freckles think of them?
 
I'm looking at the TR guidelines
It’s always a pleasure to see a cat embrace greens the first time. What did Freckles think of them?
She was her normal self. Getting in trouble for jumping on the counter, scoping out the dog's dishes, grabbing a catnap, taking a bath and she got extra FD chicken treats because she got tested more tonight. Her appetite was as voracious as ever.
 
I'm looking at the TR guidelines and since Freckles nadirs were <100 hold the dose for 8-10 cycles unless something exciting happens?
 
Back
Top