01/17/2021 Casper PMPS 325, +2 576

Yuling & Casper (GA)

Member Since 2020
Good morning,

Start a new day and I supposed to continue with 0.5u on 3 cycles, this morning AMPS reads: 123 mg/dl. Do I still proceed with 0.5unit on his morning shot? Thanks!
 
I’m worried about skipping. Carbs from lasts longer than honey which works more quickly but leaves quickly.
 
Don’t skip. I guess you could give .25. Get the higher carb food. Do you have a human meter by any chance.
I’m glad you shot the full dose. Testing and feeding will keep him safe.

The first comments were due to your fear of a hypo.
 
I can get the high carb food, any suggestions?
If available to you, my go-tos are Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers; I can buy them at the grocery store and target easily -

I use:
MC (15%): Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy
MC (15%): Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy
HC (20%): Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy

You may want something even higher carb on hand too...looks like 9Lives Hearty Cuts in gravy are mid to upper 20s for carbs (there are other options too). I use the food chart as a starting point - https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
 
I fed him half of Forza10 diabetic can early in the morning at 6 AM; after the shot, I gave him the rest of the can. He is not showing too much interest in the food, been syringe feed him all the time. If it's not something he wanted, he walks away.
Send my husband off to the store for the high carb food according to the list. I will also list all the food we have and update my signature sheet today.
Based on data, his BG always bounced back higher than AMPS in +1 or +2, finger crossed this morning will be the same for Lantus to take its time to work. Before when his number is quite low, we gave him honey and 3 tbsp of cat milk, followed by a small amount of food, normally that works too. But having high carb food ready is a must, I get it.
Thanks for posting the previous post, will try my best to do that in the future (hard to do it on the phone).
 
Lantus onset is usually between +2 and +3, so Elise would like to help you see what happens after the food bump. It can help to determine what the rest of the cycle may bring.

So far, This is the beginning of a nice looking cycle :cool:
 
Do you want me to test him every single hour?

No. The +2 often lets you know if he might go down a lot. If lower than the preshot it can be an active cycle. We always suggest a +1 and +2 when first trying to find a safe dose. If the +2 is lower than the preshot you need to test more often.
 
Got it!
Tried to test him at +3, didn't get enough drop to read (tried 2 strips), he got really mad at me so I let him go.
We are giving him more food now and he is drinking water. It's the first day I started to test from his ear, it's a lot easier to get a reading on his paws. But pokes on the paw put him in danger of infection... :arghh:
 
I never did the paws for that reason. Plus all my cats I’ve ever had didn’t love me messing with their paws.
 
Pick a time where you have never tested at before after +6 and get one more test if you want more data. Otherwise I think you are good until PMPS.
I will do it again at +7 and report the number. Just wanted to make sure I supply enough data for anyone who comes in to help. I am still learning, truly appreciate everyone's help and patience. :bighug:
 
Nice cycle today so far!

When you have time, you can update your thread title for the day to reflect your day.

something like:
1/17 Casper AMPS 123, +1 114, +2 196, +4 202, +7 196

Typically, once you have had your question answered, you can also remove the ? from the drop down menu. Leave it up, of course, if you have more questions, and you can always put it back up again if you have another question or need help :) Many scan the titles for BG updates and to see where they might offer assistance. I would put it back up for your PM shot, since this is such a nice cycle - very different from some of your others :cool:

Good job today!
 
When you have time, you can update your thread title for the day to reflect your day
Done.
Wow! It's amazing how we couldn't figure out to regulate his BG with the vets but we did well here in 2 days. Casper was doing well this morning until I started poking his ears :D He has been sleeping since noon, we gave him a little bit of food after the +7 test. Now he is back to his bed and relaxes more.
 
I think he was just on too much insulin. That caused bounces and the need to skip shots. He might still need more insulin but let’s see how he does on this dose.
 
:( I am not sure what happened but his number goes up again. He jumped when the needle went in, maybe I didn't get the insulin in? I didn't want to give him another dose... He had some food and water before 9, then the shot. Has been sleeping and resting all day after 1PM today. Tested ketones at 8:50, negative.
 
Did his fur feel wet? Never give a second shot no matter what. Good call. I think either it’s a bounce or he will need the .75. Hold this dose for 6 cycles. I don’t think you need to test until morning. Just feed lc at your usual times.
 
No, the fur wasn't wet and I couldn't smell the insulin. Or it could be... I didn't give him the full 0.5 U dose. The half dose is really hard to I will follow your plan to hold it for 6 cycles. He did had more food today than before.
Have a good night and I will update tomorrow morning!
 
Back
Top