01/16/13 EMMY AMPS=238, +6=29,+9=218, PMPS=328

Status
Not open for further replies.
Carl & Bob said:
And no shot, right?
This is the "bounce" we expected after today's excitement. Now the hard part is having to wear the "patience pants" until the bounce clears.
Carl

No Shot, please help me to be patient, I'm not skilled in that lol
 
Jenny,
I don't hand these out to just anybody....

Welcome to the Brother and Sisterhood of the Traveling Patience Pants!

Carl
 

Attachments

  • patience pants.jpg
    patience pants.jpg
    18.2 KB · Views: 268
Then it worked!

Seriously, I think "humor" is one of the most potent "meds" in the battle vs. Feline Diabetes. It's really easy to get caught up in the minute details, and really easy to worry yourself sick over each number, each cycle, each day. "Big picture" matters more. The only number that makes you go and is the shocking one like 29. The rest of them, not so scary.

You won't find a better place, or a better group of people, to help you and Emmy get through this dance.

Carl
 
Hi Jenny and Emmy what a day you two have had now to wait and see what Miss Emmy does for you over the next couple of days :thumbup cat_pet_icon
 
Is this correct?

Looking at the Guaranteed Analysis (GA) on the label, add up the values for protein, moisture, fat, fiber, and ash (if listed - sometimes it is not). Then subtract those values from 100 - the difference is the wet matter carbs. So, if we have a food with 78% moisture, 11% protein, 5% fat, 2% fiber and 1.5% Ash, the calculation would look like this:

78.00 + 11.00 + 5.00 + 2.00 + 1.50 = 97.50 Subtract that from 100, and the remainder, 2.50, is the WET matter carbs.

However, when comparing the carbohydrate contents of any food, it must be done on a dry matter basis, even with dry food, as dry does contain some small amount of moisture. So, looking at the Guaranteed Analysis on the label once again, subtract the moisture content from 100 - in this case, the difference is 22. Then divide your wet matter carbs by this number. So...

2.50 divided by 22. = 11% carbs on a dry matter basis.

If this is correct what I'm feeding her now is 30% carbs Whiskas trays:Moisture 82%,Protien 8%,Fat 3.5%, Fiber 1%
as apposed to Fancy feast classic chicken pate which if I did it right 6% carbs FF: Protien 11%,Fat 5%, Fiber 1.5%, moisture 78%, Ash3%,Taurine .05%

If this is right and I calculated right that's a big difference.
I'll wear my patient pants for now but wondering if I should switch food to help her along.
I'll wait for imput and continue status quo till morning
 
On Dr. Peirson's site, catinfo.org, she has a food chart that was updated in Sept. It shows, if I remember right, the FF chicken at 4%. Earlier today, I exchanged messages with Sienne and we both looked up the Whiska flavors you mentioned, but we couldn't find them on Dr. P.'s charts, or anywhere else. It could be that Whiskas didn't answer her inquiries for the data she used to put her charts together.
I'm not sure about the formulas you used but if she got 4% for the FF, and you got 6%, there must be a discrepancy somewhere?

I think I'd go with the FF classic chicken since no matter which formula, it looks like it's lower?

Hopefully, someone else has figures for the Whiska flavors?
I can't link you directly to her charts on my tablet, but the link to them is on this page -
http://www.catinfo.org/?link=cannedfoods#Commercial_Food
Carl
 
+9=236

So it's 3AM....aaarrrggg what I won't do for my cat....lol there are defiantly people I wouldn't get up at this hour for :lol:

She won't eat, so I guess she is full, there is 3 more hours till her AMPS I'm sure she won't starve till then but, that will surely bring her BG down even further yayaya. So, see you on tomorrows condo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top