01/14 Vyktor +10 367 PMS +4 169 +6 106 +8 119 +10 187

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Recap:
Dose increase PMS 01/12
AMPS: 337
+8 : 385
PMPS: 405
+3 : 344
+7 :329

So no action last night, maybe he knows he is going to the vet today!

Dyana - thanks for the reminder but after the Metacam shot when I came home and did my research I rang the vet and got the NO METACAM note put on Vyktor's file straight away, I said to make it huge and unmissable! I also sent them the link to metacamkills.com. The vet nurse tried to tell me it's only not good if kitty has kidney issues already so I told her to check out the website. Seeing the same vet today so it will be interesting to see if he has anything to say about it. I will be impressed if they've bothered to check out the website.

I also contacted everyone I know with a cat and suggested they have the same note added to their files. One was actually just thinking about putting her cat on Metacam so that was a good catch! Isn't it disgraceful that the vets aren't the ones telling the clients no we shouldn't give that to your cat :evil:

Off to the vet now, will report in and visit some condos on our return. Hope no other kitties are following Vyktor's stinky pinky lead today, although I guess I should be grateful it's not red!

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=60996
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor AMPS 302

Vyktors Mum said:
Off to the vet now, will report in and visit some condos on our return. Hope no other kitties are following Vyktor's stinky pinky lead today, although I guess I should be grateful it's not red!
It's almost yellow :smile: ! I hope you have a good day, and sending good vet visit vines your way.
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor AMPS 302

Hi Vyktor and Serryn,
I've been meaning to drop by your condo for quite a while now, but I'm finally getting here. Belated Welcome to LL!!! Good for you to sound the alarm on Metacam. It really is amazing that in the face of all the evidence vets still want to use it.

Good luck with your new dose. I think you're seeing New Dose Wonkiness (NDW) right now. I sympathize with trying to measure that 1.75-unit dose. I think the .75 or .25 doses are the most difficult, even with the syringes that have half-unit marks.

Have a good day (evening? morning? night?)

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor AMPS 302 +4 308

Vyktor was in fine form at the vets much growling and hissing and even a bite for me.

Vet said his mouth is looking much better but wants to wait to do his dental until his BG is better regulated (between 216 and 270). That is unless his mouth gets bad again in which case we will just do it. In any event he wants to get it done in the next month or two.

On the plus side I asked all my questions about how they do their dentals based on the Chicago Cat Hospital protocol and they tick all the boxes except for using booties, however he is happy for me to take some booties in and they will use them.

Vet suggested I increase dose tonight if I don't see any action today. He said normally he wouldn't recommend that but because I am home testing he feels I can be more aggressive. I know that under the QLD protocol we would be waiting three days but I am tempted because Vyktor's BG has been high for a long time now and I don't think we are anywhere near where we need to start treading carefully yet - views anyone?

Forgot to ask him if he'd checked out the metacam kills website, will try and remember to do that next time.
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor AMPS 302 +4 308 vet wants to increase tonig

Sorry I don't have any advice right now about your dose question, but I wanted to let you know how much I admire the way you are dealing with your vet! I did not know about booties during a dental so I have to go check out the Chicago Cat Hospital protocol now. Good luck with his new dose.
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor AMPS 302 +4 308 vet wants to increase tonig

From the Tilly protocol:

However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.

IMHO, I'd increase tonight since he's had four cycles (two days) at 1.75u but I might be a little conservative in increasing him by .25u instead of .5u. I mainly say that because he's had some nadirs below 300 on 1.5u.
What do you think?
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor AMPS 302 +4 308 vet wants to increase tonig

Hi! I do not usually give advice but I like Marje's suggestion. I think Vyktor definitely needs more insulin but i would go up only .25 for the same reason, he was down in a nice blue range on 1.5 u. Wishing you all the best with this. He will get there. I have been dealing with similar issues with Morgaine from using the Freestyle, as you know, to slowly increasing her insulin. and, I thought she was regulated for months before i knew the reality of the FS.
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor flat pink again up by 0.25 or 0.5?

Okay up we go. I seem to have missed the bit about 2-3 days and had the 3 day bit stuck in my head :oops:
I'd also missed the 0.5 bit and had 0.25 in hy head anyway :oops: :oops:

It is weird how he seemed to be getting somewhere with the lower doses and now nothing but from everything I read on this board the only truely weird thing would be if nothing was weird :lol:

Vyktor's Mr L seems determined that stinky pink is the appropriate place to be, not sure if it needs training school or beating into submission so I am wondering now whether 0.5 might be the way to go. Now that I've just reread the QLD protocol guide (which is sitting right next to my computer I just thought I was clear on what it said by now :oops: ) it also says that 0.5 is the appropriate increase in the starting phase for cats that are prone to ketones that remain greater than 300 after 24-48 hours. Vyktor has had DKA so I'm guessing that qualifies him as prone to ketones and we're getting up to (if not already there) 48 hours without going below 300, certainly he hasn't done so in the last 24hrs.
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor flat pink again up by 0.25 or 0.5?

I would say it is your call as long as you can keep a really really close eye on him. I understand your concerns about DKA; I was just being more conservative because he has gotten lower on this dose.

I know you know him and will keep an eye on him.
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor flat pink again up by 0.25 or 0.5?

When Gabby was diagnosed, she was in DKA. She's not had ketones since. I think some cats are more prone to developing ketones than others.

Generally, we hold a dose for 3 days. We use a slightly modified version of the Tight Regulation Protocol:
"General" Guidelines:

  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose:

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
It's fine to use the original version.
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor flat pink again up by 0.25 or 0.5?

The patience pants deserted me and I've gone the 0.5 nailbite_smile
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor flat pink again - up by 0.5

Good luck with the dosecrease! Yep, it would be really weird if things weren't weird...that's the one part of FD that takes a whole lotta getting used to.

Have a great day (or is it evening there now??)!!!

~Amy
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor flat pink again - up by 0.5

Night time now but not sure I'll be getting any sleep.

No NDW on this occasion - wondering if I should be doing anything other than monitoring at this stage?

New dose 2.25 up from 1.75 after days of fairly solid flat pink.

AM +10: 367
Didn't take a PMPS (knew it was only going up and didn't want to see the red - bad bean bad)
+2: 272
+4: 169

Nadir generally falls between +5 and +8
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor - no NDW dropping pretty quick...

I would get another test at +5 or +6. If you didn't get a PMPS, you don't have a way to know how fast Vyktor is dropping. You can feed a little bit of low carb to (hopefully) encourage a surf.

Also, can you please put your test results in Vyktor's subject line? It let's us know when you've updated.
 
Re: 01/14 Vyktor +10 367 PMS +2 272 + 4 169

Vyktor's following your advice - he just made a visit to the food bowl!
 
Sometimes they surprise us by getting a dip at PMPS and that would have let us know if he had a dip or if he was dropping.

Nice to see him in blue!!!
 
gorgeous blues, Vyktor!!!!!!!

adf9334faa9775ba...f9a3ae7-2fc9397.jpeg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top