01/14 Ethan PMPS 157 +2 86 +3 164 +4.5 121

Erin Ethan

Member Since 2023
Yesterday's post

Ethan stayed relatively high through the night last night even though he got the same dose as the AM. No fur shot.

His last meal was with his PM shot. I estimated the PMPS +5 value based on his overnight graph- that was his lowest point through the night.
 
Dropping like a stone after the AM shot same as yesterday...should I give him a snack now? Yesterday I gave food at +4.5. The direction arrow on the Libre says he's going to continue to trend down (not straight down... only moderately down)
 
Yes, please feed a tsp of LC food. What do you have in higher carbs? What carb%?

ETA: When time permits, do you think you could add the data for last week to your SS as well?
 
Thanks @Bandit's Mom I just did that (it was probably more like a TBSP) - he's at 101 now at +2.25. I have some %15 shredded Friskies turkey. Also have some Royal Canin kibble if we need to go really high carb (and honey).

Edit - Yes I will try to work back and add all his prior data from before he started TR.
 
Let's see where he is at +2.5 and feed a little 15% if he continues to drop sharply.

How long has he been on 2U? I don't know if you saw this. Added it later to my post:
ETA: When time permits, do you think you could add the data for last week to your SS as well?
 
Thanks! Will do that. He started off in December at 2U. By the end of December we started seeing the same pattern of him dropping hard on the 2U so we backed him down to 1U (this was before I joined the forum, strictly working with my vet). At 1U he kept riding high with no drops at all and some symptoms returned so we put him back to 2U on Thursday this week.
 
Yes! I'll try to get his history entered from all time if I can.

He's at 94 at +2.5. Libre directional arrow is now horizonal -> which means the drop should be stabilizing at least for the next short while (in theory).
 
+3 130. If yesterday is any indication he should hold here for a while before he starts going back up. I'll keep watching him for another hour or so to be sure.
 
Ethan spiked up a bit this afternoon but bobbled around ~150 for the last couple hours. I gave the 2 units in the PM along with a meal- will monitor him closely.
 
I gave Ethan extra LC food already (a few extra tablespoons on top of his regular meal)...should I give a bit of high carb? Wait 10 minutes?

Edit: 95 @ ~+2.25. I am waiting for now. He got a pretty generous portion of LC so hoping that is kicking in now.
 
Last edited:
Does he get food at +1? For cat that tend to dive at onset, some food at +1 might help slow the drop. Don't know if you have seen this sticky:
Using Food to Manipulate the Curve

ETA: Food takes 20 mins to affect the numbers. Also, don't feed him too much at a time. You want him to be hungry enough to eat every hour or 30 mins. So a tsp of food at a time is good enough :-)
 
Thanks @Bandit's Mom!

I haven't been giving him extra food at +1 - this morning I gave food at roughly ~+2 but it was reactionary to the drop, and same with the extra around +2 tonight - purely reactionary to the drop. I will start doing it proactively at +1 to help slow down his drops.

I am working on getting his old data imported into the SS :).

Edit: Up to 164 now at +3
 
Did he go from 86 @+2 to 164 @+3? The Libre can really give wonky readings sometimes. Let's see what he does later in the cycle.

You might want to check out @tessa's mom condos. She is pretty much doing a PhD on the Libre ;)
 
Yes- supposedly! I do find the numbers jump up and down quite a bit. Not sure how much of that is Ethan and how much is the Libre being funky. He's sleeping on the sensor now, of course :facepalm:.

Thanks for the suggestion- I will check out @tessa's mom 's condos!
 
Ethan's sleeping comfortably. 121 and dropping @ +4.25. Should I wake him up to eat? Its almost 12AM EST.

Edit: I am going to leave him for now as he got a good portion of food earlier and the alarm should sound if anything happens through the night.
 
Last edited:
He seems pretty flat and it's later in the cycle so you are good for the night. Sorry I didn't get to this earlier.
You might want to look at a timed autofeeder so you can make food available to him after you go to bed or when you're not at home.
 
Back
Top