? 01/14/2021 Sugar AMPS: 56 Very low!

Yes, I would recommend that you skip the shot. Please feed him and continue to test him since the 2.5U depot will affect the first part of the cycle.

ETA: Have you thought about whether you want to follow SLGS or TR? With TR, you would hold the dose, with SLGS you would take a reduction to 2.25 from the PM cycle. Like we discussed, TR would enable you to keep him at dose that helps him see normal healing numbers (50-99 on a human meter).
 
Yes, I would recommend that you skip the shot. Please feed him and continue to test him since the 2.5U depot will affect the first part of the cycle.

Thanks. Any idea why he was so low this morning? When I tested him at +2.5 last night he was above the PMPS (though I fed him FF with gravy).

I did change the schedule a bit because I delayed a shot for about 1 hour. This was 3 days ago when I made my last thread. Then I've been trying to adjust by shoting about 10 min earlier each day. Maybe that's what caused the low number?
 
My best guess is the bounce cleared last night and he kept heading down all night. When did you last feed him last night?
 
Thanks. Any idea why he was so low this morning? When I tested him at +2.5 last night he was above the PMPS (though I fed him FF with gravy).
The reading last night would have been influenced by the FF gravy which is high carb. He needs to be on a low carb diet. Is there a reason you fed him high carb last night? What is his usual diet?

I did change the schedule a bit because I delayed a shot for about 1 hour. This was 3 days ago when I made my last thread. Then I've been trying to adjust by shoting about 10 min earlier each day. Maybe that's what caused the low number?
You can get back on schedule by shooting 15 minutes early every cycle.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/

If you have decided on TR (your SS says TR), could you please update your Signature to add "TR" to it? With TR you would shoot the same dose (2.5U) tonight.
 
Yes, I would recommend that you skip the shot. Please feed him and continue to test him since the 2.5U depot will affect the first part of the cycle.

ETA: Have you thought about whether you want to follow SLGS or TR? With TR, you would hold the dose, with SLGS you would take a reduction to 2.25 from the PM cycle. Like we discussed, TR would enable you to keep him at dose that helps him see normal healing numbers (50-99 on a human meter).

I'll try TR for the time being. So I'll keep the same dose for the night.
 
My best guess is the bounce cleared last night and he kept heading down all night. When did you last feed him last night?

I shot at 11 pm. Fed him about 1:30 a.m (before going to bed). He didn't eat this morning until I tested him.
 
The reading last night would have been influenced by the FF gravy which is high carb. He needs to be on a low carb diet. Is there a reason you fed him high carb last night? What is his usual diet?


You can get back on schedule by shooting 15 minutes early every cycle.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/

If you have decided on TR (your SS says TR), could you please update your Signature to add "TR" to it? With TR you would shoot the same dose (2.5U) tonight.

I feed FF. Problem is we only have one classic pate here in Mexico (salmon). There are still others with less than 10% carb which I feed him regularly (chunky flavors), but sometimes I can't find them and I have to resort to the ones with gravy which are about 12% carb according to Dr. Lisa's list. He won't eat Friskies. And there aren't any other brands of canned food, which sucks.

Thanks. I'll update my signature. It also still says he still eats Friskies, so I'll change that.
 
I feed FF. Problem is we only have one classic pate here in Mexico (salmon). There are still others with less than 10% carb which I feed him regularly (chunky flavors), but sometimes I can't find them and I have to resort to the ones with gravy which are about 12% carb according to Dr. Lisa's list. He won't eat Friskies. And there aren't any other brands of canned food, which sucks.

Thanks. I'll update my signature. It also still says he still eats Friskies, so I'll change that.

I feel your pain. I am in India. Our cat food options are even more pathetic. Try and avoid feeding the FF Gravy.
Do you have higher carbs than the 12%? We need MC (11-15% carbs) and HC (>15% carbs) when the BG goes low and you need to feed them carbs to bring them up.
 
I forget if I asked you if you have an auto feeder? Small meals during the first half of the cycle can help even out the bg.
 
I feel your pain. I am in India. Our cat food options are even more pathetic. Try and avoid feeding the FF Gravy.
Do you have higher carbs than the 12%? We need MC (11-15% carbs) and HC (>15% carbs) when the BG goes low and you need to feed them carbs to bring them up.

Yeah I will try to avoid those as much as I can.

I have some dry food and some pouches with gravy stored. Also some Karo Syrup.
 
I forget if I asked you if you have an auto feeder? Small meals during the first half of the cycle can help even out the bg.

I don't have one, but I'll get one as soon as I can.

Can lack of food make his numbers go low?
 
Yes. When cats start to drop we feed the curve to keep them in a safe range. Is there a reason why you shoot so late?
 
Yes. When cats start to drop we feed the curve to keep them in a safe range. Is there a reason why you shoot so late?

I usually shoot at 10:30, but 3 days ago I delayed the shot 1 hour. I will adjust to the former schedule.
 
I think it’s important to get a +2 and many cats drop lower at night. So for most shooting at 6 or 7 allows for more testing at night when many cats drop lower. You might need to set an alarm for the morning but you can test, feed, shoot and go back to sleep for a couple hours most of the time if you are able. I didn’t feel comfortable going to bed until I knew Max was finished dropping and staying over 60 without food which often was +6 or +7. If Claude will get used to an auto feeder you won’t need to stay up so many hours. I’d get one before you return to work and start getting him used to it during the day. Some cats take right to it but others nee to be guided to it.
 
No, I'm doing home office for now. I sleep late so I wake up late. Do you think I should shoot earlier?

If you can stay up late for 3-4 hours routinely after your shot time, that's fine. For later tests, you can always set an alarm for cycles when he goes low and more tests are needed.
 
I think it’s important to get a +2 and many cats drop lower at night. So for most shooting at 6 or 7 allows for more testing at night when many cats drop lower. You might need to set an alarm for the morning but you can test, feed, shoot and go back to sleep for a couple hours most of the time if you are able. I didn’t feel comfortable going to bed until I knew Max was finished dropping and staying over 60 without food which often was +6 or +7. If Claude will get used to an auto feeder you won’t need to stay up so many hours. I’d get one before you return to work and start getting him used to it during the day. Some cats take right to it but others nee to be guided to it.

I always get a +2 or even +3 at night. If he's in the 200's I usually test again. If he's in the 300's-400's I usually don't test. So last night he was 383 at +2.5 so I was like "no need to test him". Then surprise he's 61 in the morning. I wasn't expecting that. Makes me wonder if he was even lower at one point.

I'll definitely check the auto feeder. When I go back to work I will have to shoot earlier. Would leaving enough food at night also work?
 
If you can stay up late for 3-4 hours routinely after your shot time, that's fine. For later tests, you can always set an alarm for cycles when he goes low and more tests are needed.

I always test at +2. If he's in the 200's I usually test again later. If he's in the 300's I don't test. But I just learned I can't be overconfident about it, lol.
 
Quick question, can I change the schedule since I didn't shoot in the morning? I'm thinking about shooting 30 mins earlier than the usual time.
 
Quick question, can I change the schedule since I didn't shoot in the morning? I'm thinking about shooting 30 mins earlier than the usual time.

I'd say you can - no shot in the morning kinda gives you a chance for a 'restart' so to speak. As long as you can stick to a 12 hour schedule from that point forward. Changing Lantus around a lot makes for unpredictable results. Lantus loves consistency...dose measurements and timing - same precise dose unless reducing or increasing (use calipers if you can) and stick to the same time of day, every day, AM and PM.
 
Back
Top