01/14/14 Jerry AMPS 91 +5 100 (QUESTION)

Status
Not open for further replies.

HappyCat

Member Since 2013
Mister Merry Jerry has been a bit frustrating lately. cat(2)_steam
I keep having issues with NADIR readings being higher than preshots. As a recap:
01/05/14 PMPS 85 +5 97
01/06/14 PMPS 95 +5 99
01/07/14 PMPS 96 +6 117
01/08/14 PMPS 98 +5 100
01/10/14 AMPS 105 +5 112 PMPS 87 +5 126
01/11/14 AMPS 97 +5 103
*At this point I had figured him out about his higher NADIRs meriting a reduction based on his SS so the 11th PMPS we did a reduction, for this to happen:
01/11/14 PMPS 106 +6 146
01/12/14 PMPS 85 +5 110
01/14/14 AMPS 91 +5 100

I'm not really sure what's going on here except that this isn't how the Lantus works. I would very greatly appreciate any information on this or kitties heading to remission. He's got this if I can just figure out what it is he's telling me. I had high hopes yesterday when he followed the correct layout of NADIRs being lower than preshots just to do it again. His numbers are gorgeous just in the wrong order. Is this a weird bounce I need to wait out? Another reduction? Tips for OTJ trials right around the corner? Please help! Thanks a ton!
confused_cat
 
Hi Sarah,

I got your message about his inverted curves. The cycles since you reduced to 0.5u aren't really inverted. they're basically flat or with a slight curve. You probably know that meters are allowed a 20% variance by law, so it's hard to say for certain that a number 9 points higher than the preshot is actually higher. i'd just call it flat. flat cycles are good.

Mostly i think Jerry looks pretty good overall. I think i'd hold him a few more cycles and see if the numbers over 120 come down. i'd like to see more green in there, though, so if he doesn't settle in and move the whole range down, i might try to hit a dose in between your current 0.5u and the previous 0.75u.

Does that make sense to you?
 
Thank you for the prompt response. :mrgreen:
I will tell the truth and say it kind of makes sense. This is the first reduction we've taken the safe way but is kind of confusing to me. I'm with you on 9 points not being a huge deal it was just discouraging to see again.
I guess where I'm confused is why would we increase, due to lack of greens and/or to get lower blues? Where that concerns me is was he not ready then and is there a way to know when he is ready without hitting a yucky 23 again? I had tried to gradually shave him down but purrhaps he wasn't ready. If I do need a slight increase how do you recommend marking that? Like a .60 or .65 or >.50 or <.75? And about another 3 days or how long should I wait? Thank you guardian angel. :razz:
 
most people call the in between doses a "skinny" or "fat" of a dose. so you could "fatten" the 0.5u.

with tight regulation it's a pretty constant adjustment of doses as the cat's body changes. i don't think the last reduction was premature - i think it was appropriate. but sometimes cats don't continue in their good numbers when the dose is decreased. Jerry's got a more blue ss the last few cycles than before the reduction, but i wouldn't call it a failed reduction quite yet. sometimes when you reduce the dose when a cat is in good numbers like this, they'll bobble around a few times before they settle back into the green numbers again.

i'd say give it another 3 cycles maybe. if he's staying under 120, then keep the dose the same. if he's trending upward, maybe fatten the 0.5u.

what's your feeding schedule like, sarah?

are you able to get some tests at different times? sometimes if there's a little more variety in the times you test it helps to fill out the picture.
 
Thank you for the additional information that really helped. :mrgreen:
Pm mid testing and snacking is pretty set in stone at +5 unless I move him up to +6. We'll get a bit longer on my hubby's days off but mainly +5 for both mid PM. I do the AM mid tests at +5 since that's when I catch him at his lowest. Snacks vary anywhere from that +5 all the way up to +8 since I was told it may help his pancreas to go later but it varies by my schedule and his level of cuteness and/or patheticness. What other test times should I be considering? Thanks a bunch!
 
Whenever you are able to, you could try to get a couple of additional tests that are at different times. Like for instance one day you could try to get a +2 and a +6 and another day get a +3 and a +7 and another day try for a +4 and a +8. It just fills in some pieces of the whole picture.
 
Whenever you are able to, you could try to get a couple of additional tests that are at different times. Like for instance one day you could try to get a +2 and a +6 and another day get a +3 and a +7 and another day try for a +4 and a +8. It just fills in some pieces of the whole picture.

ETA: Depending upon the numbers of course, when you do the increase, you could start with the extra +2 test, do the regular +5 test, and also get an additional +6 test. Just my thoughts.
 
It took him awhile but I think and hope he's settled back into happier numbers - I've gotten greens again and they're back in the right order. I think he just likes to make me worry! Hoping I won't need to fatten his dose and that he keeps going strong with his progress. Did 1 multiple NADIR test to be sure and have been working on varying the NADIR to keep an eye on him. I feel more confident to change it up if I don't necessarily have to be in fear of a very low reading. I'm very happy to be in tune with him and way proud of his progress.
And there hasn't been a single time I haven't smiled at good numbers or a handsome kitty in a bow tie! :mrgreen:
Thank you for the support!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top