Clarissa & Leo
Member Since 2020
Hi all,
We are a bit at a loss here and are wondering what to do. Leo's BG was super good until the end of November, with 1 U of Lantus in the AM and PM. All of a sudden in December the BG values increased and in early January we bought a new ampule of Lantus and increased the dose to 1.5 U. 10 days after the increase in dose, his BG is actually higher. How is this possible? We measured his BG PMPS (421) and decided to give him 2U, 3 h after, the levels are the same. Any advice on what to do?
We have not changed his food: he eats Purina Pro-Plan Diabetes Management wet food (1x85 g in AM and 1x 85 g in PM) and Hill's Prescription Diet Diabetes Weight management (10-15 g twice per day, whenever he wants to eat).
For full disclosure: Leo had a vet appointment last Friday. Apparently there's some gingivitis and inflammation, so he will have an appt for teeth cleaning next next Friday. He also might have has a slight ear infection and we are applying medication. In his appt next Friday, they will also do blood tests to check if all is ok.
Strangely, since his blood sugar is higher, Leo seems to be happier, he plays more and hangs out with us more.
Thank you all for any advice you might have!
Clarissa
We are a bit at a loss here and are wondering what to do. Leo's BG was super good until the end of November, with 1 U of Lantus in the AM and PM. All of a sudden in December the BG values increased and in early January we bought a new ampule of Lantus and increased the dose to 1.5 U. 10 days after the increase in dose, his BG is actually higher. How is this possible? We measured his BG PMPS (421) and decided to give him 2U, 3 h after, the levels are the same. Any advice on what to do?
We have not changed his food: he eats Purina Pro-Plan Diabetes Management wet food (1x85 g in AM and 1x 85 g in PM) and Hill's Prescription Diet Diabetes Weight management (10-15 g twice per day, whenever he wants to eat).
For full disclosure: Leo had a vet appointment last Friday. Apparently there's some gingivitis and inflammation, so he will have an appt for teeth cleaning next next Friday. He also might have has a slight ear infection and we are applying medication. In his appt next Friday, they will also do blood tests to check if all is ok.
Strangely, since his blood sugar is higher, Leo seems to be happier, he plays more and hangs out with us more.
Thank you all for any advice you might have!
Clarissa
