01/12 Whiskey PMPS 175 made a mistake and shot full dose (0.75)

stannarp

Member Since 2021
OK, so I messed up (I can think of a better word, but not on an open forum).

Whiskey's PMPS was 175 and I misread the protocol and made and shot her full dose (0.75) instead of a 10-20% token.

She has eaten since, and I have left her usual low carb available for her to free feed.

At the moment she is looking fine, but grumpy because I keep checking her.

Should I test in 1 or 2 hours from shor? And at what intervals after and for how long to monitor for hypo?
 
Get a +2 since he is grumpy about tests. Hopefully the skipped shot this morning would have depleted the depot and combined with a bounce, he might just head higher.
 
Feed her a little more now please. A little middle carb, 10-12% Also please keep your subject updated as you test. Thanks.
 
I see that. It’s a lot lower than the +2. Test again in an hour.
OK, she's way too agitated for me to test now. I've given her some high carb (gravy food) which she ate and will have to keep an eye on her.

If she calms down again I'll try to test her, but once an hour for 3 hours has been too much for her level of tolerance.
 
Feed her a little more now please. A little middle carb, 10-12% Also please keep your subject updated as you test. Thanks.
Sorry, I just saw your reply now. Will keep the subject updated. But she's seriously agitated now, and testing is going to be impossible until she calms down.

As above, I've resorted to giving her high carb as I have no way of telling where she is at.
 
Sorry, I just saw your reply now. Will keep the subject updated. But she's seriously agitated now, and testing is going to be impossible until she calms down.

As above, I've resorted to giving her high carb as I have no way of telling where she is at.
That’s a good plan as she’s already earned a reduction.
 
That’s a good plan as she’s already earned a reduction.
She still seems to be OK. I'll keep an eye on her overnight (in SA it is 22h30) and report if I see hypo behavior.

Will keep the gravy food available for her though in timed doses and report her numbers in the morning when we are both calmer.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:With the food she has gotten she will be fine and likely be very high in the morning so don’t worry If that happens.
 
OK, so I've figured out why she was so agitated last night.

Looks as if she has an infection in her ear, the same one I was trying to prick, not from the testing I think, it is inside the ear.

Right now both ears are off limits, so I'm not able to test. I've given her an absolute token shot this morning (10% of 0.75) and have a vet appointment to check her ears this afternoon.

My poor girl
 
The infection might be causing the bg to spike so it’s good that you caught it. Has she had them before? I ask because the medication used by many vets contain steroids which for some cats can cause them to become diabetic. Let us know what your vet says and how it will be treated. :bighug:
 
The infection might be causing the bg to spike so it’s good that you caught it. Has she had them before? I ask because the medication used by many vets contain steroids which for some cats can cause them to become diabetic. Let us know what your vet says and how it will be treated. :bighug:
Hi there, it is hard to tell.

She has a difficult history.

She was abandoned at an animal shelter, literally dumped and left with no medical history.

When I finally picked her up after adoption, she'd been there about 3 weeks and was as thin as when I applied for her after she'd only been there 1 week.

She was wasted to 3kg (she's not a small cat).

Took her for a vet check up and they noted the ear mites, we treated it with Revolution (then discovered her system hates the stuff when I did the next ear mite treatmenta month later).

That is when the diabetes was picked up.

I'm not sure whether the ear mites were treated before, or what with.

I declined the steroid option today, I'll be cleaning with Epiotic and some ear drops. They also gave her an antibiotic jab as she also has a bacterial and a fungal infection in her ear.

Needless to say the ears are not being messed with today, so no testing unfortunately
 
Thank you for rescuing her! She’s lucky you found her. If the treatment you selected doesn’t work, don’t hesitate to use the steroids as when the infection is gone the effects on her bg might be gone too. I hope they aren’t needed but if they are it can be dealt with by giving the right amount of insulin.
Some people test the bg using the paw. I never tried that because I found none of my cats were fond of having their paws messed with when clipping nails for example but that is an option.
 
Thanks for this, I'll definitely consider that option!

Unfortunately the feet testing is a "hell no" from our Madame Hissy.

I'll be testing this morning before shooting, but possibly not this evening as it will be pretty close to when I have done her ear cleaning for the day, and her tolerance level only allows so much.
 
Sounds like she has tortietude! My tortie was a love bug without any attitude but I’ve read that many do. Good luck with the ear cleaning and test. :bighug:
Whisky is beautiful!
 
Back
Top