01/12 Tıfıl PMPS 192, +2 264

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 01/12 Tıfıl AMPS 276, +3 370, +4 342 :(

Hi Isil

Tifil did look so much better in green. I can't help you with those questions but if you edit your post and add the question mark someone will be along that can. How's she been today apart from her numbers?

Serryn
 
Re: 01/12 Tıfıl AMPS 276, +3 370, +4 342 :(

Hopefully, it's a bounce and she'll come down by tonight.

I don't know about changing to Levemir right now. We usually reduce the insulin dose by 25% I think it is, when changing to Levemir, and with ketones just recently being eliminated, and the scare that they might return, I'm not sure that's a good idea, right now.
Let's see what others have to say about dose and changing insulins.

Is she eating fine? I was so happy with your condo and her WCR, last night. Please make sure she eats enough calories.

Come on Tifil, please come down....

By the way, you can make that 276 AMPS yellow in color on your spreadsheet, please.
 
Re: 01/12 Tıfıl AMPS 276, +3 370, +4 342 :(

I am by no means a dosing expert or a type-of-insulin expert, and I have no experience with anything but Lantus. Hopefully those w/better knowledge and more experience will come along w/their input, but for whatever it's worth (or isn't!), here's MHO:

If it were Tawny or Tinkerbell, after a recent serious illness such as Tawny and Tifil have just been thru, I would not consider changing insulin based on the data you have, which looks like about a half a cycle of pink #s. I agree with Dyana that this is hopefully a bounce, and in fact it looks from Tifil's SS like her #s were dropping by +5, so it probably was a bounce.

How is Tifil otherwise? How is she eating? Good job on getting a negative ketone test overnight!
 
Re: 01/12 Tıfıl AMPS 276, +3 370, +4 342 :(

Hi Isil,
I would not consider changing insulins at this point. You are used to Tifil's cycles on Lantus. The Lev. cycle is quite a bit different. I don't think it would be a good idea to throw another variable into Tifil's mix! If I were you, I would start a new pen of Lantus, since your old one is almost empty. It could well be that the insulin is old (beyond the manufacturer's 28-days recommendation). Since Tifil just recovered from DKA, keep an eye on her numbers and keep testing for ketones, make sure she gets enough to eat, and don't do anything drastic (especially don't try "new" things; Lantus and kitties on Lantus need consistency).

Hope you are having a good day and will have an enjoyable evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 01/12 Tıfıl AMPS 276, +3 370, +4 342 :(

Hi guys .. glad you seemed to have gotten an answer about switching insulins .. I hope this is a bounce that tifil clears quickly for you .. I know you guys have been through so much, but you really are doing an awesome job .. hang in there!!
 
Re: 01/12 Tıfıl AMPS 276, +3 370, +4 342 :(

PMPS was 192, I increased the dose to 3.25 without reding the condo...Did I do something bad?
Ok I won't change the insuline,
She is eating and begging for food, but we have a problem, she is not eatinf fancyfeast :( I don't know why :(:(:(:(:(
 
Re: 01/12 Tıfıl PMPS 192

Isil: it looks like you increased her as she is clearing a bounce. Please be sure and get a +1 and +2 and be extra vigilant on monitoring her tonight. We typically do not recommend that you increase when kitty is bouncing and not when they are clearing the bounce. So just hang onto that dose for now but you'll need to monitor more. She may get a reduction on it fairly quickly as she was getting into green on the 3u.

I also agree with not changing insulins at this point. Ella is right that the lev curve is much different. While the "typical" onset is around +4 and nadir between +8 and +12, there is no guarantee that is what she'll do. And when you switch insulins, you are draining the lantus shed and filling the lev shed. If you look at Gracie's SS, you'll see what her numbers looked like when we were switching back in Sept....pinks and yellows. Tifil does not need that now. She's still recovering.

If she continues to do really, really well for a while and numbers come down but you are just seeing alot of bouncing, then you "might" want to do the research to think about switching but you have to be prepared for very different curves. So, for right now, I'd not entertain switching her.
 
Re: 01/12 Tıfıl PMPS 192

I agree that you are seeing bouncing. Tifil really isn't used to low numbers anymore and it will take some time for her body to readjust. I also wouldn't add one more change to things now. Tifil is still in recovery mode and she needs some time to settle down.

She probably didn't need the increase, but it isn't a huge problem. Just be sure to monitor frequently today. You might try getting +10 or +11 tests. That will show you what directon her numbers are heading and give you a little more time to think about any dose adjustments.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top