01/12 Sputnik PMPS 220

With SLGS it is important to note that if you get a blood glucose test under 90 you should reduce the dose immediately. You did have under 90 on am cycle of December 24th, but did not reduce for the evening shot. I would like to encourage you to also try and get more frequent tests at night. I believe this has likely been mentioned before, but to me, those spot checks are worth their weight in gold :). We have had more than a few cats who like to go lower at night, then bounce in the day. When my cat was on Lantus, there were many cycles over the years where had I not tested at night I would have missed a lower number, actually earned a reduction. Had I based my dose decisions based on the next day’s cycle, I would have increased. I would particularly watch for cycles where you see Sputnik hitting a high number, then looks like he is dropping all day into preshot. See for example December 27th. I wonder if there were some greens you missed that evening.

Based on the last several days of what we do see, you are catching nadirs under 150, which would currently mean to hold the dose. Looks like you picked a bad day to try and run a curve, Sputnik was likely bouncing from the lower numbers the day before.

Here are the dosing methods that we follow on this forum, just scroll down to see SLGS.
 
Hi Folks, thanks for the tips. I've added a 2024 tab to Sputnik's spreadsheet to keep the '23 and '24 mg/dL entries discrete - the mmol/L tab is continuous. We've also updated this thread title to match the guidelines. Admin: please delete our duplicate thread started today with the non-conforming title. I've also added his current food to the top of the '24 spreadsheet (Fancy Feast pâté).

We've done a few later in the evening bg tests on him in the recent past, but we dose him at 9:30 am/pm and are often not up much past the first few PM+'s.
 
Would there be an opportunity to move your shot times earlier or are you tied to your current schedule? That might allow you to sneak in even a +2 which can often be a good indication of how the cycle will go. Just a thought.
Ok, we’re going to move the shot times, so we can get a +2 reading on the PM shot every night. I think I read that moving 15 minutes at a time is best. Is this correct?
 
Good stuff! You can do 15 minutes early each cycle, or 30 minutes early once a day until you get down to the new shot times.
Ok, we have now shifted shot times so we can do a +2 on the evening shot.

We followed your advice and kept on 1.5 U and did another curve (looks like a bad day to pick again).

I thought I'd ask for your advice at this point. Thanks in advance!
 
It's not admin's who giving dosing helping on FDMB, but rather experienced people who feel comfortable to do so. Since you are following SLGS, and seeing numbers in the 90-149 range, you would stay with this dose.

A couple housekeeping things. On this forum, we start a new post for every day that we post, with a link to the previous post. That way the posts don't get too long, but we can still go back and see the history if we need to. And when you do have particular questions, it's good to use the "?" prefix on the subject line and add a summary of the question, like "dosing help" on the subject line too, so people glancing at the subjects can know help is needed and what topic. Once the question is answered, you can change the remove the "?" from the subject prefix so people don't need to stop in. This forum is rather busy, and I just want to make sure you don't get missed and do need the help you need.
POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ
 
Back
Top