Michaela & Luna
Member Since 2021
Hi,
We are on Day 5 of 0.5 units of Lantus twice daily. This afternoon she was being a total food gremlin and I suspected something was up - she was at BG 58 on an alphatrak. Gave her some medium carb kibble and a little fancy feast, called the vet, and monitored her and she went back up.
Her shot time is in 1 hour and the vet says with a reading of 158 1 hour pre-shot we should skip tonight's dose. Can I have a second opinion on that? When we have completely skipped doses she goes sky high by the next shot time. Should we give her just a tiny bit, like less than .25?
Thanks for all your expertise! It's been tricky to dial in Luna's proper dosing.
(note if you look at the spreadsheet, yesterday morning I gave the shot instead of my husband and I think I might have messed up, looking at her numbers. Seems to be things are less regulated when I give the shots so we just try to have him do it as much as possible and I'm watching and learning to get better at it)
We are on Day 5 of 0.5 units of Lantus twice daily. This afternoon she was being a total food gremlin and I suspected something was up - she was at BG 58 on an alphatrak. Gave her some medium carb kibble and a little fancy feast, called the vet, and monitored her and she went back up.
Her shot time is in 1 hour and the vet says with a reading of 158 1 hour pre-shot we should skip tonight's dose. Can I have a second opinion on that? When we have completely skipped doses she goes sky high by the next shot time. Should we give her just a tiny bit, like less than .25?
Thanks for all your expertise! It's been tricky to dial in Luna's proper dosing.
(note if you look at the spreadsheet, yesterday morning I gave the shot instead of my husband and I think I might have messed up, looking at her numbers. Seems to be things are less regulated when I give the shots so we just try to have him do it as much as possible and I'm watching and learning to get better at it)