01/12 Charlie AMPS 74 +1(68)

That’s what I would do. I had Tommy stall to see if Charlie was going to take a big jump up and then we might have gone with .50. His dose has been cut very quickly. Happily he seems to like .25 for now. Let’s see if it continue he wants less, or possibly more.

Ok Thank you. I will be home for the next few days. So I will give him a shot if he is over 50 and see how that goes. I will keep his spreadsheet updated everyday.
Thank you for all your help:bighug:
 
Glad to help. If you have questions continue to tag us. I will be watching. Good luck. I think he has a good chance of becoming diet controlled. We will see once the higher depot is out of his system.
 
Glad to help. If you have questions continue to tag us. I will be watching. Good luck. I think he has a good chance of becoming diet controlled. We will see once the higher depot is out of his system.

That sounds great. I have my fingers and toes crossed that he will be diet controlled!
I truly am greatful for all the help. If it wasn't for everyone who helped me and explained what needed to be done Charlie could have become very sick. So glad I took the advice of everyone here and test often and before I shoot, my vet told me I didn't have to and she would do it once a month. If I didn't and continue to give him Lantus X2 a day with out checking it could have been really bad.
 
That sounds great. I have my fingers and toes crossed that he will be diet controlled!
I truly am greatful for all the help. If it wasn't for everyone who helped me and explained what needed to be done Charlie could have become very sick. So glad I took the advice of everyone here and test often and before I shoot, my vet told me I didn't have to and she would do it once a month. If I didn't and continue to give him Lantus X2 a day with out checking it could have been really bad.

Yes, vets push high carb prescription food and then ask you to give insulin and don't even encourage home testing. Worse still, they increase doses by whole units without enough BG data.

Poppy is another example of a kitty on prescription food and 2 units :eek: of insulin who seems to be going OTJ after we asked her CG, Monica, to get off the prescription food. I think she also came here from our FB group...
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...Un_DWBmrg6oFyz2lq6xcghkCis/edit#gid=563965182
 
Yes, vets push high carb prescription food and then ask you to give insulin and don't even encourage home testing. Worse still, they increase doses by whole units without enough BG data.

Poppy is another example of a kitty on prescription food and 2 units :eek: of insulin who seems to be going OTJ after we asked her CG, Monica, to get off the prescription food. I think she also came here from our FB group...
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...Un_DWBmrg6oFyz2lq6xcghkCis/edit#gid=563965182

Thank you for that. I would never thought to question my vet if it wasn't for this group and Charlie might have gotten so low we could have lost him. :( So glad I did some research and found you guys. It literally saved Charlie!:cat:
 
I see you were able to shoot .25 this morning. He’s looking really good on it so far. Start a new thread when you come on line today.
 
Back
Top