Tammy Campbell Gallant
Member Since 2020
I did not give Charlie his insulin or feed him. His sugars are going down, 68. Do I skip a dose and feed him or do I wait another hour before I feed him and take his sugars again?
He will continue to go down without food. I would suggest you skip.
Did you change his diet after his diabetes diagnosis?
Yes he was on dry food. He does not get any dry food at all now. ( Just freeze dried chicken as a treat after his shot)
Which dry food? High carb?
I'm wondering is he is going into remission with just the diet change...let's see how this cycle plays out.
Yes it was high carb. He would eat different types of dry food, but I think all were high carb. He would only eat a type of food for a couple of months and then would stop eating it so we had to find another type he would eat. Mostly Whiskers is what he would eat.
The switch to a low carb diet can make a big difference to his BG. He may or may not need some insulin support for a few days. Let us see how it goes for the next few cycles.
Feed him and test him 3 hours after the meal to see if his BG comes down.
Ok Thank you. I fed him and will check his sugars in 3 hours. This is such a roller coaster!
A roller coaster it totally is. Btw, when did you change Charlie's diet to LC wet? Was it after starting Lantus?
Yes he is on Fancy feast paté or friskies paté
When did you switch him from HC dry to LC wet?
With a +1 of 68 I would not expect his BG to go down in 3 hours after eating. We just need to see if he stays under 100 or how high he is at various times in the cycle and at PMPS.
Looking at the ss he very well could be becoming diet controlled.![]()
I didn't give him insulin at all this morning. I just didn't know how to add that number or what it would be called, so I added it as plus one but didn't but a dose amount down because I didn't give him any. I hope that makes sense and I can change it if I know what to change it to.
Looking at the ss he very well could be becoming diet controlled.![]()
Just put NS (No shot) in the Unit column for today.
Elise! Was waiting to get online to see what you think. What do you think about dosing going forward?
I think we need to see what happens as the depot disappears and tge effect of no shot. I’d get a mid cycle test today and then see what the PMPS is tonight. The .75 depot might still be in play.
You went down from .75 quickly because you needed to do that based on SLGS. He may be done or he may need a little more support. If he needs more support how would you feel about switching to TR? You don’t need to answer now. Just think about it.
I have been reading and trying to understand it all since yesterday. I am still trying to understand how exactly how to do TR. I am all for switching as soon as I properly know how.
I just tested his sugars and they are 70.
Looks like we can try a few cycles without insulin, @tiffmaxee ? see how it goes?
So just keep checking his sugars at his reg pre dose times and a few through out the day and evening and see how that goes? No insulin not matter the numbers?
No insulin as long as he remains within the normal range (under 100). If his numbers start trending higher, we may need to restart insulin.
So if his number are say 110 this evening do I give him 0.25 or none and wait to see what his numbers are tomorrow? And at what number do I give him 0.25 if they go up tonight or tomorrow? Sorry for all the questions I just want to make sure I am doing the right thing.
Ask as many questions as you want. If the numbers are above 100 at PMPS, post here and ask for dosing advice. tag @tiffmaxee
If they are just marginally above hundred (say less than 120), I would not give insulin and test again 3 hours after food to see if they come down below 100.
Thank you so much! You have no idea how greatful I am for all your help!

Happy to help.
It will be so wonderful if just the diet change takes care of Charlie's diabetes!![]()


Tammy, when is your PMPS?
Tammy, when is your PMPS?
It’s flat. I would feed him and give .25. Get a test at +1 and +2.
@tiffmaxee They can continue giving him 0.25U for the next few cycles till he drops below 50?
At what number should I not give him insulin?
Lantus is best dosed twice a day. We need to find a dose that you can shoot consistently AM and PM without too may skips. Not yet sure if that is 0.25U or higher/lower. We need to see how he responds to 0.25U over the next few cycles to take a call.
With TR, you can give insulin at any number above 50 - provided you can monitor.

@tiffmaxee They can continue giving him 0.25U for the next few cycles till he drops below 50?