01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose, +6 156, +9 354, PMPS 323

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Chaos

Member Since 2010
Good morning, all! ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O)

Chaos is low again this AM so I'm going to get some coffee in me and re-test. I was hoping this would't happen since I'm a little obsessive about keeping schedule, but what can I do?
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos +12 109, +12.5 100, stalling

That's more of a surf than a drop.

You have 2 choices... You can continue to stall and then readjust your PM shot time. Or, you could shoot a reduced dose. The latter is an option if you have plenty of strips and HC food in the house. You may not need the supplies but it's essential to be prepared.
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos +12 109, +12.5 100, stalling

We are already an hour behind this AM and the little furbabies are getting restless for breakfast. One more test, and if it's still so low, he'll get 0.25u and breakfast, followed by plenty of checks today. I have loads of strips and HC food he will eat if he needs it. I'm bummed- he had such a great day yesterday and now he's all unpredictable again. :sad:
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos +12 109, +12.5 100, +13 93 ????

You are testing and seeing how he reacts so any data you get is great for the future. And you are home to monitor. Things are good :mrgreen: I'm lucky I work from home also. I found out my high carb food was NOT high carb food though so glad we found out before a hypo.
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos +12 109, +12.5 100, +13 93 ????

Crap. Down to 93. I'm confused! Could he be still surfing off yesterday's PM dose? I know this is useful data gathering, and I'm taking advantage of my being unemployed at the moment which means I can monitor but I'm afraid to give him any insulin with the numbers still dropping. Going to go with a skinny 0.25 as suggested, plus breakfast, as I have plenty of strips, lancets, and HC food. Will check him again very soon to see what's going on. In the meantime, more coffee!!!!
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos +12 109, +12.5 100, +13 93 ????

the wise ones will weigh in more, scary numbers until you get used to them...but you're doing great, and so is chaos!
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos +12.5 100, AMPS 93, token dose, +1 85??? ?

Still going down after a skinny 0.25u and food, but not dangerously low and not super fast... looks like it's gonna be a rough day for Chaos's ears....He's off looking for his invisibility cloak right now.
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos +12.5 100, AMPS 93, token dose, +1 85??? ?

Good job, Violet. Just make sure you test regularly, especially for the first half of the cycle. Those drops are not steep. In fact, they are basically the same number. You will be able to get some good data today!!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos +12.5 100, AMPS 93, token dose, +1 85??? ?

You're doing great. One thing to factor in that I keep in the back of my brain is that there is anywhere from 10 - 20% variance in the numbers due to your meter. You could have tested that 100 again and again and again and you might get numbers anywhere from 80 to 120. So, that 93 is really Chaos surfing. I do tend to look at the +1 and if it's dropping, decide whether I'll test in 30 min. or an hour.

What you don't know is where Chaos' numbers were last night. This is why we encourage getting at minimum, a before bed test every night. You don't know when last night Chaos' numbers dropped from the yellows into the blues (or even greens).
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos AMPS 93, token dose, +1 85 +2 64??? ????

Now we've got 64. Surfing, surfing.. I know I should have gotten a check in there before bed last night..*hangs head in shame* Ever have one of those days where you just sort of fall over at the end?

I'll keep testing. Hope he stays in safe range- I'm sorta nervous now. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos AMPS 93, token dose, +1 85 +2 64??? ????

You might consider giving him a little MC food at this point. You don't want him dropping much further. Give some food and Test again at +2.5.
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos AMPS 93, token dose, +1 85 +2 64 +3 46!???

I gave him some MC/HC food (see question below) and tested, got 46, am feeding more. There's never a problem getting Chaos to eat, especially after a test, so I'm going to check again in a little bit. Hopefully the food will raise his numbers soon.

I've looked around and read a lot, but haven't found how you define LC, MC, and HC. What percentages go with which category? For example, is 25% considered MC or HC?
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos AMPS 93, token dose, +1 85 +2 64 +3 46!???

Hi guys! You guys are doing great .. can't believe how nice chaos's numbers are looking lately .. keep up the good work guys .. have a great day!
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos token dose, +1 85 +2 64 +2.5 46! ??

I don't have any advice on the food... looking forward to the answer! Just wanted to give you a good morning bump and a "wow!" The change in diet is really working wonders for Chaos! I've only been at this for a month and I know how stressfuul the greens are... you're doing great! Keep up the good work!
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos token dose, +1 85 +2 64 +2.5 46! ??

You are doing great--Just remember the carbs are in the Gravy of the mc, & Hc foods--
here are our food charts--look up the wet canned foods, old & new lists for best carb info!!
You are doing so well!!
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html


Moonie likes the fancy feast SLICED chicken feast in gravy--It's HC 16-81%--it's the only hc food she'll eat! Hope you find some good ones!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos token dose, +1 85 +2 64 +2.5 46! ??

SWEET!! Binks loves the gravies...he gets whiskas & friskies...anything with gravy suits him for HC
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos token dose, +1 85 +2 64 +2.5 46! ??

After some food and time, I have 44. Low numbers = scared bean, but Chaos doesn't seem out of sorts or anything.

Right now for HC I have kibble, it's Authority sensitive solutions and is I'm hoping it's comparable to the other Authority dry foods as far as carbs go. The problem with the food charts is that I have some foods that are not on there, and some of the brands have new flavors/formulas that aren't on the chart yet. I am on an extremely tight budget so I have to use what I've got at the moment. His new usual diet is Authority's chicken, beef, and turkey which are all 8% or below..going to throw in some Friskies and FF varieties I picked up yesterday just to see what he likes.
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose, +1 85 +2 64 +2.5 46, +3 44 ??

Hi Violet,

I'm just peeking in from work. What are you feeding him now? Do you have any higher carb wet food, or any with gravy? If not, you can add a drop of karo to his wet food. Then test again in 15 minutes, please. I'll find some people to keep an eye on you.
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose, +2 64 +2.5 46, +3 44, +3.5 58 ??

After feeding he's at 58. I put some corn syrup on his wet food just to be safe. I know cats cannot taste sweet things, but I'm still not sure if he'll go for it. He's starting to get angry about the constant tests, poor guy. :sad: There is kibble out as well, since that's the highest carb cat food I have in the house. It's completely insane outside, so going anywhere to get anything is sadly not an option. My el Camino would have me in a ditch in no time!
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose, +2 64 +2.5 46, +3 44, +3.5 58 ??

They go for corn syrup, maple syrup, honey, etc. I often will use Karo instead of gravy since the latter can cause a GI upset for Gabby. LC is less than 10% carb, HC is over 15% carb and MC is what's in the middle. We tend to not use kibble for HC since it takes a really, really long time to work and it takes even longer for it to clear a cat's system. Gravy or syrup is in and out much more quickly.

You're doing great. I would tet another test at +4 to make sure the numbers aren't heading back down.

Please take a look at this post on handling low numbers. Like Libby, I'm just sneaking in from work and can't stick around. The note will give you some guidelines.
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose, +2.5 46, +3 44, +3.5 58, +4 64 ??

Ok, we're more or less staying the same now, and there is LC wet food with karo on it if he wants to nibble. I will remedy the food situation as soon as the roads allow and get some MC and HC cans with gravy.

Chaos seems fine, no problems, just annoyed with mama bean and all her pokes. Karma got me back; I accidentally poked myself on the knuckle with a lancet and bled like crazy. Grrr.
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose, +2.5 46, +3 44, +3.5 58, +4 64 ??

Hi Violet...any updates? I see your last test was 64, up a little from the 58. I would still keep testing often, since he could drop again.

The karo in his regular food will work fine...but only feed him about a tsp of food at a time. You don't want him to get full in case you need to keep feeding for a long time.

I know they get tired of the poking, but it's necessary when the numbers are low. You're doing great!
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose, +2.5 46, +3 44, +3.5 58, +4 64 ??

I would try to see how Chaos' numbers are doing without the HC. Ideally, he's surfing and all you may need is LC to keep him in this range.

And, BTW, Chaos earned a dose reduction. Unless he bounces into the pinks, you can reduce his dose to 0.25u tonight. If he does bounce, I would hold the dose for one last cycle and reduce tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose, +3 44, +3.5 58, +4 64, +5 88 ??

He never did eat any of the corn syrup, he just wasn't interested at that point, so he didn't get much in the way of HC food. He's at 88 right now so I'm feeling a bit less tense. Will carry on with the testing. Thanks for all the support and encouragement, everyone. I really appreciate it and soon enough I won't need so much hand-holding.
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose, +3 44, +3.5 58, +4 64, +5 88 ??

Yes, Sienne is correct, sorry if my post was confusing....if he was surfing there in the 60s, there would be no need to add karo.

What I should have said was that it's fine to use karo in his regular food instead of HC food for low numbers. I didn't mean to make it sound like you needed to do that for numbers in the 60s...those are great numbers.

Good hear he is up now! Don't worry about being tense, everyone gets tense when they first start seeing low numbers. As you see how the food helps you control the numbers, you'll get more comfortable with it. :smile:
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose, +3.5 58, +4 64, +5 88, +6 156

well, he's on his way back up now, higher than he's been all day. I think some of the increase is from the food I gave him when he was low, but he's still in the blue so I'm not complaining. I plan on going with a 0.25 dose tonight as Sienne suggested, unless he goes into the pink.
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose, +3.5 58, +4 64, +5 88, +6 156

He could be bouncing from the low numbers too. Thanks for the update!

I agree with Sienne on the reduction, he earned it. You can shoot the old dose one more time if he bounces into the pinks, but then shoot 0.25u tomorrow morning.

It's pretty amazing isn't it? The difference the diet change can make? ;-)
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose, +3.5 58, +4 64, +5 88, +6 156

It really is amazing, and I'm shocked in the change in his numbers and how little insulin Chaos needs when fed properly. I am currently creating PDFs of LC, MC, and HC wet foods in flavors that my cat will eat *and* brands I know I can find in my local stores to take shopping with me. That way I can keep my cat pantry stocked for every eventuality.
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose,+4 64, +5 88, +6 156, +9 354!

Now we're up into the pink..ugly, ugly! So 0.5u this PM and then back to 0.25 in the AM as suggested, that's the plan for now. Chaos is tired of me today, the poor little guy.

I hope everyone is having a good Wednesday- it's one of my favorite nights of the week because Top Chef is on! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 01/12 Chaos 0.25 dose,+4 64, +5 88, +6 156, +9 354!

Looks like you are having a bit of a bounce hope he clears it quickly he sure had some great numbers for you this morning :smile:
 
Yeah, he got up there, but I might have panicked and over-carbed him when he was low this afternoon. Hopefully tomorrow will be much smoother. As long as I don't get an AMPS in the pink, I think we'll do 0.25 in the AM. I'll be up in time to get a +10 or +11, which I think would be smart at this point. I want to see what's going on. I'll stay up as late as I can to get a last reading before sleep.

He's back to jumping on the table and purring for his shot again...probably excited about food. I take the food up two hours before the pre-shot test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top