01/11 Leo AMPS 146

Sonia & Leo

Member Since 2018
Yesterday

Good morning!

After a crazy day yesterday, I decided to reduce Leo’s dose by .25 to let his depot drain a bit.

Technically he did not earn a reduction but my concern is he hovered around 50 for a good 7 hours even though I was feeding him lc, mc and hc. I was also pleading with him to go up since I desperately needed to go out and get test strips and pokies for him and some things for us for the weekend. I ended up going out at around 5 pm and got everything on my list. ;)

He has been on the same consistent dose of 5.51 for 12 cycles and did not go any lower than 60 until yesterday. ???

Anyway, I also wanted to give his poor little ears a break and with the impending weather doom and gloom and the ER being an hour plus away from us (with no traffic and good conditions), I decided not to take any chances this weekend just in case his pancreas chose now, to start kicking in. We can always go back up next week when things are back to normal.

I wish you all a safe, warm and happy weekend!!! No funny stuff kitties, give your beans a break, it’s the weekend!!!
 
Sonia,
Tina and I want Leo to be in top form and keep thinking about that extra water drinking. Tina drinks a lot, and has been for months, but she also gets subq fluid . . . and I was under the impression it was great for her to be getting fluids the "natural" way. I sure wish we didn't have so many concerns with our amazing cats! My vet is tired of all my concerns and wants to wait 6 months between labs. I wish we could do our own blood testing at home - you know, a simple prick of the ear with a CBC readout:)
Give the big fancy boy a big hug!
Hi Jan and Tina!!! I keep meaning to tell you how happy it makes Leo and me that you're both still here with us!!! (I'm sure all your other friends are too!) It figures that as soon as I say Leo's doing such and such, he does the complete opposite. :rolleyes: Even though he hasn't been drinking as much ever since I mentioned it, I'm going to make a vet apt and get an update on his BW. He doesn't seem dehydrated, I tested his whole body for elasticity (he loved it!) and his gums are not tacky and he looks fine but you never know. I agree a home BW test would be amazing!! Wishing you and all your furries a very happy weekend and a gentle scritch on both cheeks to Tina from Leo!!
 
Our kitties are in control, not us! We just sit back & wait ,till they decide what they're going to do today :joyful:
upload_2020-1-11_11-16-46.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-1-11_11-16-46.jpeg
    upload_2020-1-11_11-16-46.jpeg
    12.4 KB · Views: 92
Congrats on the reducie....I totally understand when you have to keep feeding to keep the BG numbers up. I'm glad Leo is safe and all is good.
Did you get the bad weather that was predicted for your area?
 
@Sonia & Leo - weather update, darling. check yr basement. absolutely pouring still. have taken buckets and buckets of water out of the end of the basement where the drain is. pipes frozen or silted. fortunately, that is part of the basement where things waiting to go to the dump/recycle are tossed. Will have to bucket again bec. ground is saturated. can;t tell where water is coming from.
 
@Sonia & Leo - weather update, darling. check yr basement. absolutely pouring still. have taken buckets and buckets of water out of the end of the basement where the drain is. pipes frozen or silted. fortunately, that is part of the basement where things waiting to go to the dump/recycle are tossed. Will have to bucket again bec. ground is saturated. can;t tell where water is coming from.
Oh dear, Kel ! We had ab 5 inches rain here but nothing like you all have gotten up north . Thinking of and praying for you all in the path of this winter mess :bighug: @Red & Rover (GA). Stay safe and dry, Sonia❤️
 
Congrats on the reducie....I totally understand when you have to keep feeding to keep the BG numbers up. I'm glad Leo is safe and all is good.
Did you get the bad weather that was predicted for your area?
Thanks Debra, I know you kwow, it's comforting. :bighug: Nothing really bad weather wise yet...lots of rain which will freeze later! :rolleyes::nailbiting:
 
@Sonia & Leo - weather update, darling. check yr basement. absolutely pouring still. have taken buckets and buckets of water out of the end of the basement where the drain is. pipes frozen or silted. fortunately, that is part of the basement where things waiting to go to the dump/recycle are tossed. Will have to bucket again bec. ground is saturated. can;t tell where water is coming from.
OMG Kel!! I'm so sorry it hit so hard in your area. Thank goodness it was recycle stuf, but still:(...and having to bail out the basement! :eek::( Sending you vines!!!!!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Our place won't flood, the house is built on a slab of cement, so no basement but thanks so much for the heads up on the weather!! :bighug:
 
Back
Top