01/11 Django AMPS=77 Dosing help for AM shot

Amy and Django

Member Since 2020
Django had his first day of good numbers yesterday after a month on Lantus. A few days ago, he had readings in the 40s and I wasn't sure what to do. I got advice to reduce the dose, but also advice to hold until more low numbers presented since he is a long term diabetic on TR. I chose to hold and had a good day yesterday.

Now I'm really not sure what to do this morning... I'm supposed to feed and shoot in 30 minutes and his AMPS is 77.

I appreciate any help!

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-90-dosing-advice-for-pm.237845/#post-2670034
 
Hi Amy - Good morning :bighug: Looks like no one was on to help but saw you gave a slightly reduced dose. The depot from 2.25 will be in play so the small reduction may not do much if Django is on a mission. On TR, we can shoot the full dose for any # >=50 provided we can monitor.

I'd get a few morning tests (+2, +3) to see where the cycle is headed. Django may bounce (or he may not) from those greens last night.

Lastly, next time you have a low number, you can not feed, stall for 20, and then retest to see if the # is rising or falling. This sticky is a good one to have bookmarked and/or printed off - Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers

Hope that helps some - I'm sure others will stop by :bighug:
 
Amy --

With TR and a longer term diabetic kitty, reductions are given if numbers drop below 40 or if your cat has three drops in the 40 - 50 range on 3 separate cycles. You can also reduce if your cat is in normal numbers (50 - 120 on a human meter) for a week.

Ideally, you can shoot the full dose as long as numbers are above 50. A lot depends on whether you are data ready (see the dosing methods sticky for more on being data ready) and feel like you have a good amount of experience with handling lower numbers. If not, work your way down in steps to shooting low numbers. With TR, the goal is "shoot low to stay low." You want to do your best to not skip or reduce the dose since the cycle count starts over any time you make a change in dose.
 
Hi thank you both. I did ready the sticky as I was waiting for answers this morning, but I felt I did not have enough data (+1, +2 and +10, 11) or confidence to shoot the full amount. Plus, I ran out of test strips and had to drive 45min to the nearest open pharmacy so I was doubly nervous! Thank you for your advice - I should not have second-guessed myself. Since I gave him a reduced dose (2 instead of 2.25) do you suggest I stick with 2 or go back to 2.25 this evening? I will continue to test throughout the day - so far at +1 and +3 his numbers are rising.
 
Back
Top