01/10 TIFIL DKA Treatment has finished :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
Hello Everyone,
Sorry for making you wait for so long, yesterday I was exhausted and couldn't come to write but I wrote on my ss for everyone to see..
Tıfıl is feeling great, she is tired thats all...Today was her last day at the vet, the vet told me not to come tomorrow but he wanted me to come on saturday to test tıfıl's potassium values.
Tıfıl's numbers are going very nice, today at amps I started to shoot low numbers and it's going wonderful.

I want to thank eveyone for being next to me and helping me from the start to the end. It was so good not to be alone while dealing with an hard condition. Thank you very very very much for everything....
 

Attachments

  • kalp ve kedi.jpg
    kalp ve kedi.jpg
    39.4 KB · Views: 510
  • kalp.jpg
    kalp.jpg
    51.7 KB · Views: 503
This is wonderful news! Remember, we're always here for you - we're all in this dance together! You did amazing work, fighting for Sweet Tifil - she is one lucky girl to have you on her side!!!

Have a wonderful day - or is it evening over there now? Enjoy!

~Amy
 
Great news that she is feeling better. It's no wonder that she is tired, I bet you are too. Continues vines and prayers the she make a full recovery.
 
Thank you beautiful ladies :)
I promise everyone and myself that I will never neglect to test for ketones, never ever!
It costed me alot, financially and moraly :(

I hope she will never become DKA again :(
It's so hard to see her suffer :(
 
YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY for Tifil!

YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY for Isil!

We will always be here for you. I am very proud of you for shooting the full 3u this morning on Tifil's a.m. BG of 126! Looks like she is surfing it out nicely. Even touched the green! YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!!!!!!!!!

Yes, testing for ketones is very very important, as you have learned w/Tifil now and I learned w/Tawny during her recent illnesses. Both our girls are doing well and that makes me very happy. I now have a Precision Xtra beta blood ketone meter that I also use to keep track of Tawny's ketones with (& Tink's too). There are several other kinds which I am not familiar with, I know others on the board use them. I think Violent uses one for Garland that is a different brand. You might want to think about getting one, and altho the strips are not cheap I got mine on eBay and got 6 or 7 boxes for about the price of what one box costs at the pharmacy. I have found it to be an invaluable tool b/c it tells you where the ketone levels in the blood are Right Now as opposed to where they are in the urine, which may have been sitting in the bladder for several hours and could only be an indication of where you were back then. That's not to say that you should not test the urine for ketones, it is very important, yes you should! I test both sometimes in fact. B/c Tawny is ketone-prone, I like to use the BBK meter as well.

You have done a fantastic job fighting for Tifil, helping her, saving her, & I commend you for that!

Good job, Isil! You keep on goin', girl!

Desi
 
Hello Desi,
Couple of months ago I have searched for a brand that tests for ketone in the blood. There is only one brand Abbott and it's strips are really expensive. Maybe I will buy one next month because this dka story really emptied our pockets. Before I found this vet I was going to my old one and because the treatment started there I had to pay for him too. So I feeded two vets in one week!
But next month maybe I will buy this ketone testing glucometer...

Tıfıl is 145 now and it is +4...The bg levels have inproved after having the iv fluids...Is it necessary to give sq fluids sometimes? I mean does anybody give their diabetic cats sq fluids at home for some reason?

By the way, the vet didn't do anything for the potassium levels :( I am wondering if tıfıl's body going to build the potassium that she needs from the foods that she is eating....
 
I promise everyone and myself that I will never neglect to test for ketones, never ever!
It costed me alot, financially and moraly :(
As Desi noted, if Tifil is prone to developing ketones, it is very important to test regularly. It doesn't matter if you test urinary or blood ketones. You just need to test. It's especially important to test now. Desi saw with Tawny, a cat is especially vulnerable to showing ketones if they've been sick. Testing regularly will, hopefully, prevent another costly episode.

Tıfıl is 145 now and it is +4...The bg levels have inproved after having the iv fluids...Is it necessary to give sq fluids sometimes? I mean does anybody give their diabetic cats sq fluids at home for some reason?

By the way, the vet didn't do anything for the potassium levels :( I am wondering if tıfıl's body going to build the potassium that she needs from the foods that she is eating....
There can be other reasons besides getting IV fluids that explain why Tifil's BG numbers have improved. Some cats do get sub-q fluids but it's for medically necessary reasons. These reasons would include kidney disease, dehydration, etc. You don't want to use fluids as a means of adjusting BG levels or if it's not medically indicated.

Tifil should be getting enough potassium through natural sources, such as food. Unless the labs work that your vet will run shows a lower than normal potassium level, I wouldn't worry about this.
 
Thank you Sienne,
I will wait for saturday to see where the value is ...
I love you LL.....
Kissing and huging each of you....
 
so glad to hear good news! glad you shot low! glad tifil's numbers have come down and stabilized.

you've learned a lot through this, haven't you? great job, isil!

lots of sympathy on the costs of the vets - we all know how that is.
 
86db102e-5b5d-4339-82f9-3fe484f3c637.jpeg

Back to you, Isil... Glad she's feeling better.
Keep us updated, okay? Don't be a stranger ;-)
 
Fantastic news and we are all jumping for joy and sending you many hugs for all the great care you have taken care of your girl. We are so very happy.

Please continue to post and let us help in any way we can. Many hugs to you and Tifil,
 
ISIL&TIFIL said:
Couple of months ago I have searched for a brand that tests for ketone in the blood. There is only one brand Abbott and it's strips are really expensive.

I have an Abbott meter to test for ketone, it seems to be quite good. When you get it don't make the mistake I did and think that the value on the blood meter is the same as the value on the ketodiastix. I got 0.7 on the meter and had a heart attack because that would be more than trace on the ketodiastix but it is not the same thing so don't give yourself a fright! I now know that 3.0 on the meter = trace on the ketodiastix.

So happy to see Tifil is so much better now. You were amazing through this, I was so impressed with how you did not stop until you could find the right person to help and you were not fooled by the idiot vets for a minute. Isil is very lucky to have you.
 
Thank you everyone,
I am so so so lucky to have you by my side...
If you worn't next to me I would never have mannaged to go through this...
Now I will prepare a new condo for tıfıl's numbers...

Vyktors Mum said:
ISIL&TIFIL said:
Couple of months ago I have searched for a brand that tests for ketone in the blood. There is only one brand Abbott and it's strips are really expensive.

I have an Abbott meter to test for ketone, it seems to be quite good. When you get it don't make the mistake I did and think that the value on the blood meter is the same as the value on the ketodiastix. I got 0.7 on the meter and had a heart attack because that would be more than trace on the ketodiastix but it is not the same thing so don't give yourself a fright! I now know that 3.0 on the meter = trace on the ketodiastix.

So happy to see Tifil is so much better now. You were amazing through this, I was so impressed with how you did not stop until you could find the right person to help and you were not fooled by the idiot vets for a minute. Isil is very lucky to have you.


I guess I will buy it next month, thank you for warning. I wouldn't want to live the same shock after this dka story :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top