01/10 Sam Siam pmps 78

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 01/10 Sam Siam amps 101

Hi guys .. This is a nice low blue for sam siam! nearly green :mrgreen: When a kitty is in "regular" numbers for a good bit, their appy will decrease since their body isn't in starvation mode anymore .. I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 01/10 Sam Siam amps 101

When I gave Sam his shot I noticed a tiny drop that didn't go in or leaked out. Not sure why, maybe I pulled syringe to quickly, don't know. Good thing though because at +1 Sam was 69. Gave a few drops of Karo in food. At +1.25 he was 58. Gave 1/2 t Karo in food. At 1.5 he was 68. Left plenty of food out. Late to work but at least I saw his numbers going back up before I left.
 
Re: 01/10 Sam Siam amps 101 DOSE QUESTION

Not quite sure what to do so asking for advice. This morning Sam started diving very quickly after his am shot even though his full dose of insulin didn't go in. At amps he was 101, at +1 he was 69, big drop. At +1.25 58. Gave some Karo in his food and he was heading back up at +1.5 to 68. Had to go to work so left out HC food. Just checked at +10 and he was 106. So, I'm thinking he is at a good spot right now due to the Karo this morning and HC food left down for him. I'm concerned that if I give him the full dose of 1.0 (would be 5th cycle) he will crash again like this morning. Even though he hasn't gone through 6 cycles, due to his heading down to low bg this morning, should I decrease to .75? Worried he will go low again in the morning and I won't be able to monitor like I should. Thanks ahead of time!
 
Re: 01/10 Sam Siam amps 101 DOSE QUESTION

If I had to guess, my hunch is that drop of insulin you saw was from the outside of the syringe.

You might want to see where Sam is at PMPS before making a decision about the dose. That said, there are times when you are giving HC, usually early in the cycle, when numbers have not dropped below 50. When you're working that hard to keep the numbers up, it may make sense to take the reduction. If you opt to reduce, if the reduction doesn't hold, raise the dose back up.
 
Thanks Sienne. I'm thinking that after checking Sam's pmps & if it still isn't up much that maybe I will reduce a bit. I just hate that I have to go to work when I need to stay and monitor, esp since Sam seems to be heading down in his numbers, so I just have to do the best I can. I don't know how y'all do it!! Any other advice or suggestions are welcome. :-|

**Update...Well lil Sammy went from 106 at +10 to 78 at pmps! Coupled with that and what happened this morning, he got a sweet little reduction to .75.
 
Fantastic!!! Sam is doing awesome.

My bets are also on the insulin on his fur coming from the outside of the syringe...very common.

Keep in mind that even shooting a reduced dose, the earlier dose can affect several subsequent cycles so you still need to be testing and making sure
he's at safe numbers.

Ni Ni!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top