01/10 Fortune AMPS 155 +2 153 +4 161 +6 184 +8 263 +10 282 PMPS 273

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by RachelG, Jan 10, 2021.

  1. RachelG

    RachelG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-08-21-new-member-kitty-struggling-to-regulate.241217/

    Hi there,

    We are new to the forum, and came over from the Feline Health Board. I linked to where that convo is with a lot of the baseline info.

    We are trying to get more on a 12/12 schedule – turns out we weren’t as strict with it as we thought we were. Today we did our first curve (poor Fortune’s ears are pretty raw since we didn’t always draw blood the first time). We made the call to increase by .5 IU on the PM shot based on the high numbers, since he never came down during the day. Would .5 be too low of an increase, especially since we had already increased to 2 IU just the night before?

    Based on what @Critter Mom told us, that could be causing “bouncing.” Just not sure how to best manage next steps.

    **Note – we were adding in 1/3 cup of LC Tiki Born dry food to help supplement calories, but stopped today. Fortune does get freeze dried treats to bribe for the BG test. **

    Thank you!

    Fortune’s Humans (Eugene & Rachel)
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Hello and welcome to the LBL forum.

    Has anyone mentioned using a dab of Neosporin with pain relief on Fortune's ears? Just a dab after a poke or at least the end of the day can help with healing. This post has a few more tips that might help: Hometesting Links and Shooting Tips And a tip on testing, once he's started heading up during the cycle, you can ease off on the tests as partway through the cycle the insulin will be starting to wear off and he won't be heading down any more.

    As for dosing, we change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat, not the highs. Those highs are just from bounces which will go away eventually as he gets used to better numbers. Right now his body is used to higher numbers. You said he never came down during the day, but he did start the day with some pretty numbers. I rather suspect he might have gone lower at some point last night and today was the start of that bounce. We do strongly recommend getting a test during the night time cycle too if you can. Even one before bed if it's at least +2 or +3 is a good idea to tell you if he's going lower.

    Since your post on Feline Health said you've been doing 1 unit in the AM and 2 units in the PM (due to miscommunication), you would probably split the difference with 1.5 units for now to see how he'll do on it. For now, it'll be best if you stick to the same dose a while to build up the depot. Unless of course he earns a reduction.

    If you want to learn more about small cell lymphoma in cats, there is a good groups.io group about it. It's a different style forum, but they do have an internal medicine vet who drops in occasionally who specialized in treating it in cats. They can help you with proper dosing/medications for nausea too, a common issue for cats on chemo.
     
    RachelG and Diane Tyler's Mom like this.
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @RachelG Hi Rachel I see you entered Fortune's BG for today, don't forget to
    post a new thread for today and the previous thread
    Good luck with Fortune :bighug::cat:
     
    RachelG likes this.

Share This Page