01/09 TIFIL DKA

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
Yesterdays condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=60593


Yesterday night after we talked I set my alarm for 4.00 am to see whats going on, her bg was 114, I slept and set my alarm clock to 6.30 am like we talked, and the bg was 268, so I shot her...

Now I didn't understand something, Now that I changed the time, my next shot is at 6.30 pm, am I right?


By the way, tıfıl is feeling great!
She ate boiled turkey in the morning...
She is at the vet now having iv fluids, I am at work.....I think that it's the last day for her fluids...I will ask the vet what he thinks when I go back to take tıfıl...By the way, sometimes fluids don't go so I have to hold her paw, Today I am not there to hold her paw, I hope they will pay an attention for this...
 
ISIL&TIFIL said:
Yesterdays condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=60593

Yesterday night after we talked I set my alarm for 4.00 am to see whats going on, her bg was 114, I slept and set my alarm clock to 6.30 am like we talked, and the bg was 268, so I shot her...

Now I didn't understand something, Now that I changed the time, my next shot is at 6.30 pm, am I right?

By the way, tıfıl is feeling great!
She ate boiled turkey in the morning...

Yes, your next shot would be 12 hours from your last shot, so that would be 6:30 p.m. if you shot at 6:30 a.m. In yesterday's condo, you mentioned that:

ISIL&TIFIL said:
...after two days I will be at home at 7pm so I must change the time to 7 by stalling. And on fridays I come home at 8 pm, so I must stall to that time until then...

Instead of "stalling" you might consider just moving Tifil's shot time forward 15 minutes per cycle. For example, If you are not home until 7pm Tuesday and then 8pm Friday you could do s/thg like this:

Monday pm shot: 6.30 pm (+12 hrs)
Tues am shot: 6:45 pm (+12.15 hrs)
Tues pm: 7pm (+12.15)
Wed am: 7am (+12)
Wed pm: 7:15pm (+12.15)
Thurs am: 7:30am (+12.15)
Thur pm: 7:30pm (+12)
Fri am: 7:45am (+12.15)
Fri pm: 8pm (+12.15)

You can adjust this however you need to but my point is that you are only shooting 15 minutes late for some of these cycles rather than an entire 1.5 hours late on Friday & you still have some 12hr cycles in between. It might be s/thg to think about, or maybe s/one else will come along w/a better suggestion.

You are getting some good data here and you can see what her body is doing when it goes low or gets a late shot which may help you become more comfortable w/shooting the lower #s.

Have you been able to check her ketones? Did the vet say anything more about bringing up her potassium level?

Can you add to your SS the times from her last shot (i.e., 72 @ +14.5 (if that's when it was), 114 @ whatever & the 268 at whatever time you shot) so that others who may not have seen your condo yesterday can see how long it was between those BGs and the shot?

I am so glad Tifil is eating on her own and feeling better! You have done so great w/her and fought so hard for w/her!
 
Hi Isil,
Good suggestions from Desi.
We are very glad to hear that Tifil is improving. You have done such a great job caring for her and getting the correct treatment for her. Have a good day/evening. Thinking of you and continuing to send healing vines to Tifil.

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Morning - I am so glad that Tifil is improving. You really have done so well in caring for her, and making sure she gets good care.

Good luck wit the time adjustments - Desi's suggestions are good ones.
 
Hi guys .. so glad that tifil is feeling better! Maybe you could call the vet and remind them about her paw? You did such a great job with tifil! Have a great day!
 
Isil:

I'm so glad to hear Tifil did well during the night and that she is eating. I truly admire your fight for her....without your persistence, she would not be doing this well.

I think it's important to review last night....considering her DKA and her need for insulin, it probably would have been best to have shot the 77 you got at +12 last night. Then you would have been
able to feed her to get her numbers up and wouldn't have had to stall. And then she wouldn't be higher today. It's definitely something for us to think about as we move forward on her recovery and in the future.

It's also important that you understand that she might be DKA-prone and that you will most likely need to learn to shoot low to keep insulin in her. Ketones can come back very quickly and so we want to try and keep that
from happening again.

I hope you got some rest! I'm sure you are emotionally and physically exhausted. Sending you hugs.
 
Isil, you're doing a great job. Those greens you're seeing tonight are healing numbers.
Is she eating better, today?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top