Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS 333 Dosing question how often to ck
hi Cheryl
you could plan for a curve, which is about every 2 hours, follow this link,
New to the Group scroll down to the typical curve chart, (I've added it here in my post too) and that doesn't mean test every hour, it is simply a guideline of what you could see in a typical cycle.
As you collect more data, you will see your
own nadir for Whiskers, ECID (every cat is different) this info will be key to the dosing suggestions given to you. Keep in mind, nadir can change, the data will show you that, but not just
one curve, here and there, spotchecks when ever you can will help a lot.
Do keep in mind also, as previously mentioned by Sienne and Libby yesterday, ABS can lower BG's.
A UTI and an ear infection will both have the effect of raising BG levels. I'm not comfortable suggesting a dose increase without some mid-cycle checks. It's quite possible that Whiskers is hitting lower numbers in the middle of the cycle and what you are seeing are the bounces at pre-shot times. IMHO, raising the dose by 0.5u with limited testing could be a set up for trouble. If you are going to raise the dose, I wouldn't raise by more than 0.25u and then only if you can commit to getting multiple spot checks.
Sienne, Gabby, & Gizmo (& George, GA)
I would be inclined to go up to 1.75 *if* you can monitor like crazy this weekend. Whiskers has seen some fast drops and a fair amount of blue on this dose, and I think it is possible that there has been some green that you haven't caught. Overall, it looks like she has room for a small increase.
Here are some cautions to keep in mind. These are the reasons I think you should monitor like crazy, and the reasons I think going all the way up to 2u might be too much.
1. Whiskers has seen some fast drops on this dose. Some of those drops could have gone to green, especially at night.
2. If Whiskers has an infection and the AB starts kicking in, the numbers could drop quickly.
3. You don't have any tests after +3 for the past several days.
Libby and Lucy (and foster kitty Jazzy)
Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
How to do a Curve
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
Carryover - insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlap - the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect
Insulin Depot - (aka "storage shed" in Lantus Land) "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body
hope that helps, and good luck curving! :razz: